what is Nairobi's GDP?

zilianza at 30% of kenya’s gdp but every new person comes anaongeza chumvi. sasa imefika 60% ya kidero which is laughable. it’s like the kibera slum population that was exaggerated over the years mpaka ikafika million yaani a third of nairobi lol.

nairobi is maximum 40% of kenya’s economy but my estimate is it is somewhere around 25-30% if you are looking at nairobi proper excluding metropolitan area. hizi estimate zingine za kiajabu ajabu are just impossible.

If we can get how much electricity/fuel is consumed in Nairobi vs the entire country, then we can get a rough estimate

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Nairobi-consumes-half-of-Kenya-Power-s-energy-supply/539552-2063100-r4aflmz/index.html

[SIZE=6]Nairobi consumes half of Kenya Power’s energy supply[/SIZE]
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/image/view/-/539608/data/43/-/64ve6lz/-/ico_plus.png[PRINT](‘http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Nairobi-consumes-half-of-Kenya-Power-s-energy-supply/539552-2063100-view-printVersion-jhlexl/index.html’)RATING

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/image/view/-/2063218/medRes/280343/-/maxw/600/-/11wv68y/-/power.jpg
A power transmission sub-station. New data released by Kenya Power shows that Nairobi consumed 3,507 Gigawatt Hours (GWh) last year, being 56.2 per cent of the total power consumption compared to 55.8 per cent in the previous year. Photo/FILE

By GEORGE NGIGI

Posted Wednesday, November 6 2013 at 19:23
IN SUMMARY

[li]New data released by Kenya Power shows that Nairobi consumed 3,507 Gigawatt Hours (GWh) last year, being 56.2 per cent of the total power consumption compared to 55.8 per cent in the previous year.[/li][li]Analysts say uneven growth in consumption of electricity, especially in times of economic expansion, means the benefits of such growth is accruing to only a segment of the population.[/li][li]The number of Kenya Power customers in Nairobi crossed the one million mark to stand at 1,042,216 while the other three regions (Mount Kenya, Coast and Western) have a total number of 835,202 customers.[/li][/ul]

Nairobi accounted for more than half of Kenya Power’s electricity sales last year, reflecting the capital city’s economic dominance over the rest of the country.

SHARE THIS STORY

State to light schools ahead of laptops launch

The number of Kenya Power customers in Nairobi crossed the one million mark to stand at 1,042,216 while the other three regions (Mount Kenya, Coast and Western) have a total number of 835,202 customers.

Kenya Power has divided the country in four regions being Nairobi, Mount Kenya, Coast and Western.

Mt Kenya region is the least consumer having used up 539 GWh. This is lower than the consumption in Coast, which has less consumers, indicating more consumption per capita at the Coast.

Some industries have started setting up their own power plants to substitute Kenya Power’s supply lines which are sometimes unreliable. ARM Cement, Sasini tea and Mumias Sugar Company are some of those that are producing or setting up their own energy units.

SHARE THIS STORY

inShare

The Kenya Power data also revealed Nairobi’s dominant use of street lighting, with consumption relating to streets lights being 15GWh, which is two thirds of the total country usage.

There you go, hapa kuna msee ana work Petroleum institute of E.A atupatie za diesel

intersting ingawa i would want to see what they define as nairobi region. i once saw a cement company that said 50% of cement consumed in kenya is consumed in nairobi and surrounding regions.

lakini sitima can be a misleading indicator in a country with low electrification considering 60% of wakenya wako gizani. what about the fact that agriculture is 30% of gdp? na hiyo haitaki as much stima except agroprocessing which is counted under manufacturing. halafu kuna sectors zingine kama transport hazikuli much electricity.

very true hapo kwa agric don’t know how it can be factored in because stima na fuel we can find a middle ground for estimation purposes tu. Even I think 56% of GDP can be too far fetched for Nairobi alone if we base that on Electricity

halafu tusisahau tourism

We can try to calculate a rough estimate of that using the National GDP per capita. As of 2015, Kenya’s GDP per capita was around $1200.

Nairobi’s population is about 4.5m peasants and mbirrionaires.

Multiplying the GDP per capita by the population brings $5.4b

So the GDP of Nairobi might be roughly 4-6 billion dollars.

( but that does not tell the whole story coz we know Nairobi is the center of economic activities in Kenya)

According to this link, Nairobi’s contribution to Kenya’s GDP as per World Bank is 12.5%

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Nairobi-ranked-8th-on-World-Bank-list-of-rich--poor-counties--/539546-2951310-gw6tccz/index.html

You can’t use this approach, people in Nairobi are averagely better off than guys in the villages, that why waalimu, cops, and other civil servants are a big deal there, kuja Nairobi hawaskiki

this is the minimum it can be but as you say, nairobians are richer than the rest of the country.

i was looking at the income of the top 10% and according to world bank, the top 10% richest kenyans receive 38% of kenya’s national income. http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/SI.DST.10TH.10

population of metropolitan nairobi is about 10% of Kenya so i would guess there is no way metropolitan nairobi’s gdp can be more than 38% of kenya’s gdp. 38% of kenya’s gdp would be nairobi’s gdp if we assumed all of the richest 10% of kenyans lived in metropolitan nairobi.

that’s why i am going with 25-30% of national gdp because there are rich people in other parts of the country even though majority are in nairobi.

this report was highly suspect because they made some suspicious claims like kwale being the 5th richest county in kenya which is just impossible. ni vile tu ni worldbank ndiyo watu walikubali but if anyone else came up with that kind of report, i think they would have been condemned.

pia sioni vile gdp ya nairobi inaweza kuwa china ya 25% of national gdp when you consider the value of manufacturing, real estate, construction, transport, education, financial services etc that is generated in the city.

Actually the biggest contributor to GDP is Agriculture, at 30% followed by manufacturing at 10%, then Transport and Real Estate follow in that order. High output Agriculture happens outside Nairobi.
So we can say that 30% of GDP is not contributed from Nairobi.
Transport itself is not centered in Nairobi too, in fact the movement of goods happens mainly on the corridor btwn MSA and Malaba, with many towns and counties contributing towards it.

The only place where Nairobi seems to outdo other areas is Real Estate, Financial Services and other Service Industries… of which their combined value to GDP does not exceed 20%.

Titanium and coal in Kwale is a big deal them being the 5th richest county is plausible