What Is a Middle-Class Income In Yues?

How Much You Need to Earn in Every State

Story by Giulia Carbonaro •6h

MARKETS TODAY

DJI▲ ‎+0.02%‎

INX▲ ‎+0.07%‎

In this picture: Customers shop at a Costco store on August 31, 2023 in Novato, California. According to a report by the Commerce Department, consumer spending rose 0.8% in July beating expectations of 0.7%.

In this picture: Customers shop at a Costco store on August 31, 2023, in Novato, California. According to a report by the Commerce Department, consumer spending rose 0.8% in July beating expectations of 0.7%.© Justin Sullivan/Getty Images

The American middle class, those who are neither rich nor poor, has been shrinking in the past few decades while the number of people at the bottom and the very top of the country’s economic spectrum grew, according to recent studies.

The Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan think tank based in Washington D.C., defines the middle class as those who earn between two-thirds and twice as much as the U.S. median household income. The latest data from the Census Bureau reports that the country’s median household income was $74,580 in 2022, a 2.3 percent slide from 2021 when it was estimated to be $76,330.

For decades, the middle class has been considered the main driver of American economic growth and prosperity. But things have changed in the last half a century.

According to Pew, the middle class has been steadily shrinking since the 1970s, dropping from 61 percent in 1971 to 50 percent in 2021. The rising cost of living since 2020 is likely to have played a role in pushing many outside of the middle class.

On the other hand, the two other extremes of the economic spectrum gained a bigger slice of the American population—meaning that more people were poor, and more people were rich. The number of adults on a lower income grew from 25 percent in 1971 to 29 percent in 2021. Those with an upper income surged from 14 percent in 1971 to 21 percent in 2021.

In the last few years, many Americans have been feeling the pinch from rising prices and interest rates, though inflation has now fallen back to 3.7 percent from a peak of 9.1 percent in June 2022.

So what does it take to be considered part of the middle class today, and who’s in it?

The household income necessary to be considered part of the American middle class varies from state to state, according to calculations made by Consumer Affairs using Pew Research Center’s 2018 data and the U.S Bureau of Labor Statistics’ inflation calculator.

In 2023, the minimum annual income for a family of four to be considered middle class ranged between $51,798 in Alabama and $81,396 in the District of Columbia.

Here’s a full list:

• Alabama: $51,798
  • Alaska: $62,897
  • Arizona: $57,964
  • Arkansas: $51,798
  • California: $69,064
  • Colorado: $69,064
  • Connecticut: $80,163
  • Delaware: $67,830
  • District of Columbia: $81,396
  • Florida: $67,835
  • Georgia: $65,364
  • Hawaii: $82,630
  • Idaho: $62,897
  • Illinois: $67,830
  • Indiana: $62,897
  • Iowa: $61,664
  • Kansas: $65,364
  • Kentucky: $61,664
  • Louisiana: $61,664
  • Maine: $67,830
  • Maryland: $73,997
  • Massachusetts: $76,463
  • Michigan: $64,130
  • Minnesota: $67,830
  • Mississippi: $60,431
  • Missouri: $61,664
  • Montana: $65,364
  • Nebraska: $62,897
  • Nevada: $66,597
  • New Hampshire: $73,997
  • New Jersey: $80,163
  • New Mexico: $64,130
  • New York: $81,396
  • North Carolina: $64,130
  • North Dakota: $62,897
  • Ohio: $61,664
  • Oklahoma: $61,664
  • Oregon: $70,297
  • Pennsylvania: $67.830
  • Rhode Island: $69,064
  • South Carolina: $61,664
  • South Dakota: $61,664
  • Tennessee: $62,897
  • Texas: $66,597
  • Utah: $67,830
  • Vermont: $71,530
  • Virginia: $61,664
  • Washington: $73,997
  • Wisconsin: $64,130
  • West Virginia: $59,197
  • Wyoming: $64,130

Do these figures really matter without context?? $80k is nice income in Kenya but peanuts in Monaco.

If you earn $80,000 and everyone else earns $1 million, you are poor and if everyone else around you earns $1000 you are rich. It’s kind of depressing that to be wealthy everyone else has to be poor relative to you.

Here’s how I view wealth. Wealth is divided in different tiers. Local, and global.

Local (Kenya) : $1M net worth and $30,000 monthly income (mixture of passive and active income). After this having more wealth will not improve your lifestyle significantly within Kenyan borders.

Global (Anywhere) : $30M net worth and $500,000 monthly income (mixture of passive and active income). After this having more money will not improve your lifestyle significantly. You would have to spend like $20M to have a 1% increase in lifestyle e.g moving from chartering to owning a jet.

Pilsner boy never disappoints

Mambo ya Monaco imetokea wapi mjinga wewe… context is provided and it is “in the US”. Not in Kenya, not in Monaco, not in the backseat of the Toyota Wish belonging to the wababaz who buy you pilsner

Hio minimum income US $51,798 per yr = Ksh 7.8m = Ksh 650,000 per month.

In Kenya, middle class is anyone who spends Ksh 25,000 per month.

An income of $30k a month is rich in any location in the world. Even private planes, choppers and yachts will be within reach through renting (which is the smart way to consume such luxuries)

Do you have a clue how expensive it is to fly private?? Governors worth millions of dollars hu-fly first class na business class. Ever wondered why?? You can’t fly private jets regularly with $30k/month income. It is peanuts compared to the cost of private travel regularly. For example, a short round trip to Dubai from Nairobi will set you back about $100,000. How can a person earning $30k/month afford that REGULARLY?? The numbers get crazier as you venture farther abroad. A trip to New York on a private jet will cost multiple hundreds of thousands of dollars.

$30k/month is by no means a small income. It is in fact large enough to do 95% of the things a billionaire can do. But flying private regularly isn’t one of those things.

Any filthy rich person will tell you that their main financial pain point is flying private regularly and for long distances because most can’t.

The dude has a pre-determined response. Just acknowledge him for his effort. :laughing:

Hizi figures man sijawahi chapa nazo hesabu…wueh!!!

Done.

Hesabu ni bure. Kupata pesa ndio kazi :rofl:

If you are going to spend 40+ years of your life looking for money, you might as well learn what it can and cannot do. Ignorance is not bliss my friend.

Hebu jiulize why a 2-term governor worth millions of USD, and obviously earning more than $30k/month would flex on IG with in a first class cabin?? This guy is filthy rich but still not rich enough to fly around the world in a private jet without feeling the pinch. Hapa Kenya probably less than 100 people can afford to do that.

Private jets are about $3k per hour msee. Very feasible for someone earning $30k to use them for vacations hapa na pale. Same with a chopper, it’s about 400k to rent one from guys like Lesus. You have this comical view of wealth, I’m pretty certain you’ve never even sniffed real money in your entire life.

The post is clear. It’s about America and this information is accurate. Wewe make your own post about Monaco or Kenya or whatever.

Clearly you are not informed on the subject. A private jet costing $3k/hour is a short range small jet that is very old.

Secondly, you can’t justify spending $3k/hour regularly at $30k/month salary unless you are financially irresponsible. Just one hour and 10% of your monthly income is gone.

So, you are limited to 1 hour flights and even then you can’t go regularly with that level of income.

Hakuna private jet itakupeleka Dubai from NBO at $3k/hour so stop dreaming. Hizo za $3k an hour labda za kuenda Mombasa from Nairobi and maybe East Africa max.

Huyo mtu wa $30k/month can only afford hiyo ya $3k once a month for 2 hours and even then that’s a whooping 20% of his income. You won’t fly abroad on a private jet with $30k/month income so wacha ndoto. If it was that cheap CS’s and governors would never fly commercial.

She’s a Multinational Corporation…NOT a middle class. :laughing: