What if

South Korea fishing vessel ‘hijacked’ off Somalia

A South Korean fishing vessel was apparently hijacked in waters off Somalia on Saturday, a defence ministry official said.

"The boat sent a message that she was being approached by some unidentified vessels, the South Korean official said.

Contact with the fishing boat was then lost, he said.

South Korea’s naval anti-piracy unit, which was on routine patrol off Somalia, was urgently dispatched to the site, the official added.

The fishing vessel was carrying an unknown number of crew members, including South Koreans and foreigners, he said.

Somali pirates hijacked an Iranian fishing boat with a crew of up to 20 on Tuesday.

I wonder the reaction of north korea if it was their vessel which was hijacked.
Huto tu pirates hatungewahi thubutu huo mchezo tena

Lakini hizi fishing vessels huwa na permission ya fishing in somalia waters kweli? Wacha pirates watoze hawa watu the tax they’ve been avoiding

12 Likes

Kwanza hizo fishing boats ndio zilisababisha piracy ikaanza juu walikua wana-fish tu fwaaa na ku-dump all manner of industrial waste there. Wasomali wakaanza ku-patrol kuwadiscourage, hapo ndio wakagundua kumbe piracy ina mbesha ata kushinda hiyo fishing.

Those are the real pirates.

were they fishing in somali waters or off somali waters?

They were not in Somalia’s territorial waters, they were in international waters ,And I quote “hijacked in waters off Somalia on Saturday

Same location they have nabbed multiple ships including an oil tanker

EEZ extends 200 nautical miles (370km) off the shore, I doubt hawa pirates have vessels that can go hunt that far out

We can only be sure if we know at what distance off the coast the ship was hijacked.

Of course they were in Somalia’s water.
Do you expect them to report that?

They launch attacks from other ships they previously hijacked.