What do you think about the mitumba debate? Can the textile industry create decent jobs or will it be sweat shops?

Do you purchase mitumba?

Am reading comments from my friends (and their friends) from Tharaka Nithi, those above 30years, and they all seem to agree that cotton farming paid their fees. So the value chain is long…its not just about the finished product.

wakenya wanapenda starehe
hawawezi kubali sweatshops

kazi ya mtu mmoja itafanywa na watu wanne. kutakuwa na mtu kazi yake ni kulamba uzi kabla waingize kwa sindano
permanent and penshionable

I am here counting the seconds that will go bye before Raila, assmio and sugoi become the main issue in this your thread!

Manufacturing ndio tunahitaji

https://nation.africa/kenya/business/from-surviving-to-thriving-kmc-pays-sh3bn-to-1-200-farmers-after-kdf-takeover-3844074

A few years ago the Kenya government in collaboration with local EPZ garment factories set up exhibitions at KICC where the garmets destined for sale abroad were made available locally at a somewhat tax-free price…these clothes that mzungus buy at Macy’s and Forever21 then discarded and shipped back to us as mitumba were now available here while still brand new, and at very fair price. This project flopped, badly. I don’t have inside knowledge why it failed but the lesson learnt here is that 99% of Kenyans cannot afford new clothes. We go for mitumba coz of price first, then quality…our pride is not in play here, we are too poor to be proud. Mitumba haziendi popote if the locally made garments are not cheaper than them.

A right step toward industrialization.

In Ethiopia for instance, you hardly see any mtumbas hata na hio poverty. Very strong textile industry for export (hata akina H&M wana industry huko). Most locals buy new clothes, largely imported from Turkey etc

Then lets reduce poverty …thats the disease, don’t just target the symptoms

My wife is from Southern Africa…she saw mtumba for the first time in kenya!
I remember a few years back Rwanda, Burundi, Uganda and Tanzania had proposed a ban on second hand clothes, a decision that was supported by wananchi…i would love to know what became of it.

I think not, mutumba is cheaper and has a variety, aside from tailor made official clothes the rest of my garments are mutumba…from trench coat to maasai belt

There is a lot of anti-biotic resistant superbugs in the West and so don’t be surprised if you get a skin disease from hell from those mutumbas.
On top of that you don’t know what the heck, right wing nuts are smearing in those clothes, a bit of radiation powder,carcinogen fluids,etc

Do we really need a government owned slaughter house?

You got vaccinated right?

It didn’t flop. Actually, they sold everything, and clothes were very cheap. Wale watu walinunua hizo nguo wanasema wanazivaa mpaka saa hii na bado hazijachapa.

It’s a myth that mitumba is cheaper.

really, they sold everything? i bought quite a number of items myself and i can confirm i still wear most of them…i also noticed that the customers who shopped there were a bit well-to-do kind…do you know why it was discontinued?

The last time they had one of those sales was in 2019. It was supposed to return in 2020, but Covid happened and disrupted the supply chains.

Especially inner wear unaskia awhole grown woman exclaim how they prefer mitumba bras juu ati ni comfortable. Kitu haujui imetoka wapi na imevaliwa na which white trash meth addict bazungu. Sad, just sad