What are the best Kenyan beers for tourists?

I am visiting Kenya from Spain. I was told that Muratina is a traditional Kenyan beer that I could try. I was also told that it’s not commercially available. Why is this? Is it not part of the culture? Or just not as available?

Go to Wakanyama Butchery in dagoretti. Special offer, one glass of muratina for every mugiki oath you pledge

:D:D:D kuwa mpole,bado ni asubuhi

The late Karisa Maitha fought mpaka pombe ya mnazi (palm wine) ikwawa legalized.

I am looking forward to the day our lazy politicians from western will make chang’aa and busaa legal and sell-able in pubs like they do it in UG…

Tuwache

:D:D:DYou know you can’t hide. We can spot you from 10miles away

we love some our cultures so much that we do not commercialize them. its an insult to the ancestors who started them,some were just meant to bring people together during their leisher time, not divide them with greed

but still our young men are dying and loosing their eyesight after consuming the ‘traditional brew’

i understand it only kills ikiongezwa some synthetic chemicals. otherwise if you keep it original iko tu sawa. i really doubt muratina kills

But surely if it was commercially available and well made according to the law there would be no such ill effects.

You have a very interesting response. Do you think traditional beers would succeed if sold commercially in Kenya? Would you buy it?

Buda kwani unaishi Kenya gani? Cham is legal. Its being commercially produced in Nakuru and Kiambu counties… Hata Busaa is legal.
All what you need are the licenses from your county government,the liquor licensing board and the health and building authorities in your county

Where are these drinks available if i may ask? I would love to try them. Are they in pubs? Or sold in shops? Is it a popular drink in these cities?

Wacha bangi wewe, since when has this arrangement been in place…?

Talk to @spear
Muratina - Entertainment - Kenya Talk

Our Muratina is brewed on order a week before consumption. My opinion is that they do a better job if its a small order but for commercial order will be a challenge as it will now need modern machinery, chemicals to preserve stock longer and that means it wouldn’t be brewed organically as it is currently. I would recommend muratina ya Limuru sana but remember eat well before consumption.

Since the promulgation of the katiba… Wacha kuwa nyuma kama matako ya fera sindika

In theory yes, practically no.

Btw mujamaa umesema unakuom Jamhuri when??

@Tarantinoh ngungu cham production in Thika and Nakuru.
Further note that for @30K and 22K respectively Mombasa county will give you a liquor licence and SBP to sell traditional liquor. Check e-citizen Mombasa county SBP licencing regime code 561…
Halafu kuja hapa uniambie mambo ya theory…