Weston hotel on aviation land - KCAA

https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2018/08/15/ruto-built-weston-on-aviation-land-kcaa_c1802559

The Kenya Civil Aviation Authority has declared publicly for the first time that it owns the plot occupied by Deputy President William Ruto’s Weston Hotel.

KCAA executive director Gilbert Kibe yesterday said the plot on Langata Road in Nairobi is among hundreds of parcels that it wants to reclaim.

“All I can tell you is that we are trying our best to repossess our land. We are in court with several cases and the rest is with National Land Commission. Yes, Weston Hotel is part of the land but the case is with NLC,” Kibe told the Star.

Kibe was responding to a campaign started on Monday by economist David Ndii who tweeted asking President Uhuru Kenyatta to demolish the hotel. He attached an exclusive story from the Star in June 2015 detailing how Ruto acquired the land.

"[Uhuru], this is public land. One more friend you need to lose. And once you are done with him, turn yourself in,” Ndii said in a tweet tagged to the DP that went viral on social media.

The 0.773ha plot L.R. No. 209/14372 is opposite Wilson Airport on Langata Road and was formerly the site of the KCAA central stores.

David Mugonyi, the DP’s communication secretary, declined to comment.

In June 2015 Ruto admitted that he had interests in the hotel on Citizen TV’s The Big Question programme.

The Survey Plan Folio Number 198 and Register Number 169 was registered on January 31, 1990, and showed that the land belonged to the Directorate of Civil Aviation.

Yesterday, Nairobi Governor Mike Sonko said all structures on riparian or public land will be demolished, while ticking off Kiambu Governor Ferdinand Waititu who wants rivers rerouted to save buildings.

“My good friend and colleague should concentrate on his county. He should know we don’t mix friendship with work. Even Weston, my Buruburu Casurina coco beach plot, Taj Mall and many other buildings shall not be spared if found to be on riparian or public land,” Sonko wrote on Facebook.

The Auditor General’s report for the year ending June 30, 2016, showed that the Public Investment Committee had referred the Weston transfer to the National Land Commission for investigation with a view to restitution.

The acting chairperson of the National Land Commission, Abigael Mbagaya, yesterday told the Star that they no longer have powers to conclude such cases.

“The case came to us. However, our mandate to review grants expired on May 2, 2017. We went to Parliament to seek an extension but they haven’t done that so there is nothing we can do at the moment,” she said.

“We can’t revoke titles any other way or continue the process without the supportive law,” she added.

Section 14 of the NLC Act allowed the commission to probe grants and transfers of public land but only for five years from May 2, 2012.

Therefore, the NLC lost its powers to conclude land disputes last year and can no longer receive fresh complaints.

Court and government documents show that senior government officials tried to block the transfer of the Weston plot.

Francis Muthaura, then the PS in the Transport ministry, wrote on August 22, 2001, to Lands PS Nehemiah Ng’eno, asking him to issue a title deed in favour of the Directorate of Civil Aviation after a Ms Kikubi had applied to be allocated the land.

“In order to safeguard ownership of the government plot, which seems to attract the attention of property developers, I request that your office issue a title in favour of DCA,” Muthaura said in his letter Ref No MTC/CONF/6.111/(55).

Despite Muthaura’s plea, the land was allocated to Priority Limited, a company associated with Ruto, on August 30, 2002, a few months before Kanu lost the presidential election and while Ruto was Home Affairs minister.

Priority Limited registered the land on September 5, 2002, when Ruto ally and former Baringo Central MP Sammy Mwaita was Commissioner of Lands.

In January 2003, the new Transport PS, Sammy Kyungu, wrote to Lands PS Francis Baya, noting that public land had been fenced off by a private developer.

On June 13, 2007, Priority Limited transferred the land to Weston Hotels Limited and Monene Investment. A title was issued to Weston Hotels, which used it to acquire a Sh485 million loan from KCB on June 13, 2014.

In 2009 company returns filed by Weston Hotels listed William Ruto and Rael Kimeto as the directors of the company.

In 2010 the annual returns of Weston Hotels showed that the ownership had changed to Matiny Limited, Rael Kimeto, Merica Holdings Limited and Eric Kipkoech Ng’eno.

Rael Kimeto, believed to be Ruto’s wife, owned 25 per cent of the shares, while his daughter Charlene Chelagat owned 25 per cent.

In 2014 Patrick Osero, a close associate of the DP, claimed that the hotel belonged to him, to deflect public criticism of the land transfer.

Hakuna cha kubagua, mwisi ni mwisi tu.

Instead of demolishing Weston, Casaurina etc government should just reclaim the land and property within the fence and put it up for intended use. Why demolish when you can put building to good use.

Raparian land though yote has ro be reclaimed. Zote bomoa.

Watu hawatakula mali yao kwa amani sasa ,naona maasai waki reclaim Nairobi mahali tumefika.

Sonko should reclaim this public land as he’s doing with the rest with no hesitation and after that he should head to Easton apartments on Jogoo rd built on grabbed railways land.

I thought they were reclaimed by Government and now house Cops?

People are going to create a lot of new enemies. A few heads might roll. Unfortunately, due to the sheer number of people that Sonko and others etc has pissed off, it will be hard to pinpoint who fucks him up. At some point cartels will fight back.

This has nothing to do with cartels.
These are individuals you can pin point whose investments are being targeted.
Let’s not misuse the word cartels.

With a different regime… Pia akina KENYARRA… MOI and BIWOT families wata anikwa vivi hivi…

When I say cartels, I mean exactly that. Individuals don’t grab public land single handedly. It is a process that involves the private developer and corrupt officials. Together, they form cartels and profit from it. I remember Sonko stating that one developer had grabbed at least 3 plots earmarked for reclamation, in different parts of Nairobi.

Weston land was to house KCAA offices and other companies for Wilson Airport. The airport wants to expand its space so it can handle more aircrafts which is why it needs its land back.

Why are they being pin pointed,are they hated or something.

Ukweli. And it would take the Kenyatta’s ages to offload their land. Decades actually. So lazima watakamatiwa chini at some point.

No problem hating and pinpointing a grabber or looter then repossessing the stolen public land

It seems people have a problem with that

Hii ya Weston Ruto alijiseti mbaya sana, at some point he will lose that hotel, it is incredible that records still exist proving the hotel sits on public land, you would expect those files to have vanished long time ago

It’s easier to take action on known individuals and their property than claiming it’s shadowy cartels.
When you bring in the word cartel, you bring in doubts and uncertainty.

To put a psychological scar on greedy guys head

Kitu sijaelewa kwa hii maneno yote ni vile a developer will have confidence of erecting a mall/building on a riparian/public land just because they got a clearance letters/certificates from the relevant bodies.In Kenya.
Doesn’t the developer have it back in his mind that he/she is not doing the right thing.Impunity is what drives them to do that…If people sit back and look at all these issues critically,some of us will even offer even more resources to help bring down any structure built on the wrong place.

In Nakuru there is a place called Ngata.Ngata was a KARI(changed to KARLO) farm which was then taken by Moi and his cronies divided to people from certain community who have later sold to other people.Ngata is big,people have built big modern houses there.What would happen if KARLO decided to reclaim its land.

Goverment will not run away from the blame but lot of people are also going to be hurt if sanity has to be regained.

Italeta tumbo joto but of course sacrifices have to be made