WEEKEND SOFTWARE PROJECT SHOWOFF

Two weeks ago my younger brother visited and when it was time for him to leave I had to book him a bus via the Easy Coach app on playstore. The next day we just headed to their offices and they took it from there. Being a dev, I loved the idea behind their app, abstract the tedious not to mention time consuming process of acquiring tickets manually. The only drawback is that it limits access to only smartphone users.
This week I decided to build a similar solution but targeting both featured phone(kabambe) and smartphone users. Also I intended to make it offline so as to be lenient on users without regular data or WiFi. Thus I built a USSD application to allow users access the following services:
[ul]
[li]Users can query all buses in the system[/li][li]Users can book a bus[/li][li]Users can check the status of their booking ticket[/li][li]Users can cancel their ticket[/li][li]Users can report complaints[/li][/ul]
My primary stack is Python and JavaScript but since this was gonna be more logic than UI, Python sufficed. The USSD integration was made possible thanks to Africa’sTalking and their amazing developer docs and APIs.
Here is a snippet of the code housing the business logic of the app:

[ATTACH=full]378666[/ATTACH]

And here are pics of how the app responds when a code, say *384# is called.
[ATTACH=full]378667[/ATTACH]
Selecting option to book a bus:
[ATTACH=full]378668[/ATTACH]
Then we get back details including the time our bus leaves:
[ATTACH=full]378670[/ATTACH]
Other options work as well and I think this is a great project that identifies a real problem out here and attempts to solve it. I will keep developing the code and add a few features here and there and even add text message notifications and integrate LipaNaMpesa. I will also invite contributors who will fork the repo and get their hands dirty with code.
I wrote an article about this project on The Practical Dev and you can read it here if you want.