The National Police Service has excluded degree holders from its latest recruitment drive that starts tomorrow and where it targets to hire 5,000 new constables. They will only take D+
Those with higher grades will resign for greener pastures.
To maintain order in police work, you need people who see it as the job that saved them. Not people who have minds to earn from Google ad sense part time.
Degree holders have already been taken in as police cadets. Kwani wanataka kula hadi nafasi ya D-. Hawa sasa ni wale watatumwa hapa frontline Kapedo … na tunajua uni pple hawawezi hio maneno.
What is the correlation between a university education and inability to do police work?
Not before completing 10 years, otherwise they will be surcharged 1.2 million, the police spokesman said
A theory: Most degree holders would most likely act rationally because they have high cognitive capacities compared to those without and rationalism in maintaining law and order in a third world country is not preferred. Violence is usually preferred because of the low quality of the population and hence people who can do such are the D-
That is true, a buddy of mine joined the police in 2012, he scored a B- and has a degree in communication, he did it as a desperate move since no jobs were coming through and was hopeful he would grow in rank since at that time there was no cadet system in the unit… 10 years later the guy is still stuck on foot patrol. He has tried to get to the communication unit to no avail. Jamaa amechoka na corruption and violence that he has to take part in.
Fr you can get exhausted from the things you are forced to do.
Ocpd alipata D plain halafu umletee constable Omondi with a Degree in political science. Haiwezekani.
I pity him, he must feel stuck in a rut, that one should be placed in suicide watch list. I know how it feels to feel like he is lumped with imbeciles in the same place
Police spokeman Owino once said that the degree holders wako na maringo sana. Always asking for promotion and higher pay because they feel entitled. They also disrespect their D+ seniors. The lesser they are the better for efficiency.
Constabulary is reserved for folks with C and below. Folks with C+ or any other higher education/or training in relevant fields as required are taken in as police cadets and become officer’s upon completion of training. Constables are the lowest ranks in the police. An highly educated person would not be too keen manning a road block somewhere in NE or engaging rustler’s in a firefight. You get the gist.
Manning roadblocks and engaging in firefights should be the work of paramilitary police. However, our problems with the police are because of the colonial legacy. It has little to do with grades.
True. Shida ni our paramilitary units are highly trained and would be a waste of resources to have them man roadblocks. They however take the lead in firefight engagements… periodically esp in the case of rustler’s. Almost all specialized paramilitary units receive direct or indirect training (train the trainers) from US/UK mostly and are equiped by the same. Nairobi is weary of loosing this folks to a bunch of maraudering rustlers. They have the capacity, capability and are highly mobile but spend their days at their camps out at the valley pumping out (wako na fully equipped make shift gym huko) and shooting targets. Unless directly engaged or receive orders from Nairobi … they give fuk all. We don’t bother them, they don’t bother us. We have a good working relationship.
Those with degrees can apply for police cadets
Yeah. I think it’s done already tho’. No?
Accident alert…
Kama uko na degree usijaribu kuenda recruitment exercise. Inasemekana watu wa degree wanasumbua wakiitisha mishahara kubwa.
Lazima ukuwe loaded in the pocket. Not less than 600k kwa bahasha. Na hata unaweza peana na ikuliwe bure.
Not forgetting the other compulsory requirements to be physically fit. By the way IG alisema ati makurutu wengi hukufia Kiganjo but it’s not announced.
Alafu SAA hii inasemekana you can’t leave the job before ten years are over. Otherwise you pay 1.2m shillings Kwa gava.
Btw rustler izi police cadets hua announced when? I have always heard of hii ya makurutu but for what is equivalent to military commissioned officers recruitment ya polisi nefa efa