[MEDIA=twitter]1057578253131661312[/MEDIA]
People can be brutal. “Stop asking sensible questions,that is anti-development”…
Prolly the cost is the stumbling block.
First time seeing a pic of Mungai Kihanya having read him since primary school.
Also, Mungai Kuhanya ndio jina ningeambia madame
Rosslyn Riviera is slightly better but the bloat is real.
If it was built using private funds what is Kihanya’s problem? Have auctioneers come knocking on his door? Somebody has to take risks and engage in developments that will drive economic activity. It is only 2 years, but do buildings only last for 2 years? Instead of thinking ahead, we think backwards. One tenant is one more employer, yet another investor willing to take the risk to invest in what they can see in their vision. 10 years from now, it could be a very different story with the investor laughing all the way to the bank. One need only look at Thika and Juja, 10-15 years ago vs today.
KU cannot continue hiding their heads in the sand. Very soon they will have to make tough decisions on what to convert that mall into.
I was there and the only tenant was Equity bank. And the only reason Equity is surviving is because they have forcibly diverted most of their traffic and operations from their branch inside KU to this one at Unicity.
3 years and no tenants… that’s a record.
On the contrary, the better built Spur Mall at Ruiru has now grabbed itself an anchor tenant in the name of Naivas. This only makes matters worse for Unicity.
I don’t see another supermarket opening, sandwiched between Quickmart and Naivas. Not to mention Carrefour at TRM and Tuskys at Juja Mall.
As an aside, the South Africans at Garden City have swallowed their pride. Game has always looked like a huge warehouse or godown, but last time I went there, I found them reducing the height of their shelves and re-arranging.
Now they are even building a bakery and eatery to adjust to Kenyan tastes.
Without these adjustments, I was giving them 2 years to shut down that ghost branch at Garden City.
they initially pretended to understand the Kenyan consumer, despite sound investment advise
Perhaps they could repurpose that mall into a giant food court with free wifi, comfy sofas everywhere even have a movie theater for KU students?
I was at the Unicity mall last Saturday and I was at pains to see such an investment idle .I only saw a nail art shop Kwa corner and the Equity bank .I had gone there to use the Equity ATM.Currently KU /Unicity is doing an exit from Thika hoping the convenience of branching of will bringing in some traffic.The National Oil petrol station adjacent seems to be doing good so once the exit is done the gamble might pay albeit late.
Regarding Spur their parking might be a problem not sure if they have basement parking other wise itabaki ni traffic Kidogo sana kama Juja City .
This guy was a physics lecturer at Egerton. Alituhangaisha sana na CATs alikuwa anazileta bila notice tukiprotest anasema “By the way the CATs are optional”
KU is a public institution.
Eyes rolled.
Yeah. National oil does decent biz, and it might improve with the new exit.
Spur has a basement parking. Cars are directed there mostly at night when that club on the 5th floor overflows.
But I agree it’s still not enough.
I don’t know if it will get enough traffic to need another parking.
wewe unaishi wapi lakini? Kenyan students can only depend on their parents for their income or worse use their helb funds for upkeep.
Kwani the money the parents and HELB give cannot be spent the way @Purple suggests. She’s being realistic.
There’s a glut in malls on Thika Rd. and they all follow the same tired formula: supermarket anchor, Galitos, Pizza Inn, the usual culprits.
Since KU miscalculated and byilt another mall on campus land, why not make it part if the campus and try to recoup while keeping the money in the family?
You don’t understand this issues, do you? You just had to comment.
the mall still has a huge potential.only that it was built ahead of its time.membley is still growing and there are industries being built a few metres away.northlands ndio inaanza
Sounds good. KU Kuna amphitheatre na cinema hall. During my days huko, these areas were hardly occupied unless there were free events. Hate the KUTT (KU Traveling Theatre) struggled to raise numbers. Kitu watu walidai ni Student and Business centres.
What about KU utilizing it internally. Convert some of the rooms to conference rooms. Graduate schools etc can hire/ rent from within.
Sio mali yako, where private funds are involved, we live in a capitalist economy. That said, you should learn the meaning of the word IF before commenting unnecessarily. Even then, the point remains, it is only 2 years, if you are from the get rich quick crowd, long term investments are beyond your comprehension.