Watu wa HR

Watu wa HR + Recruiters. how much can one bullshit on a CV without being caught, do you follow up on the references and previous workplaces? Wadau, how many of you have lied on your CVs and how did itbgo? I’m helping my younger bro write a CV, he doesn’t have much experience so I want to sexy it up a little bit, how far should I go…?

Ata akipass interview, ataNASWA tu akianza kazi juu hakuna kitu anarada. ama unadhani probation ni ya kazi gani?

man, don’t. let your brother write his own cv once you show him what should go where. you’ll not be there to answer questions on things that came from your head in a moment of adventurism and sexing up a cv. the best you can do is to help him clear out typos and straighten grammar. one of the key things we look for when we interview is honesty and i have seen a pretty number of people with good papers but lose because of a small lie on a cv…

11 Likes

Not advisable, whenever I am in the interviewing panels I usually ask you questions based on your CV.

Kama hana experience wacha kuitunga ata NASwA tuu

Hahaha…word of the week Naswa!

References and previous employers should not be given much weight, compared to 3-6 months’ probation. Probation will almost always reveal somebody compared to a 30 minute interview and a sexed up CV.

We have also seen pointless references eg best friends, relatives etc. Even if your references are legit, they’ll be inclined to sugarcoat things or gloss over some of your critical flaws, so I do find contacting references and basing a decision on them to be an exercise in futility.

For former employers, studies have shown that more than half of the time, a former employer will say negative things about you when contacted, even when you were safi kama @pamba . The kind of negative things that can sway a hiring decision but not serious enough to get them sued, if a total fabrication eg. claiming that you stole. This is usually the case coz the former employer might have caught mafeelings that you left them high and dry in pursuit of greener pastures or it could be the simple green eyed monster even if they don’t particularly miss you. However, former employers should still be contacted, as good due diligence during the recruitment, but this is all they should be asked ONLY:

1. Date of joining
  2. Date of leaving
  3. Position as at date of leaving
  4. Reason for leaving.

Conclusion: Don’t cook your CV. Utanaswa tu eventually. And aim to shine in your probation. It trumps any CV, interview and reference check.

Am not in HR but let me advice you. The key word is BE HONEST.

Am not in HR nor a Recruiter, but I am a referee to a number of people (Mostly women) and I have been called/emailed more than once to give a word on them. Of course I lied to cover my girls, coz honestly girls suck at the workplace.

:eek:sounds like “i went out with my girls last night” …might put ur sexuality in doubt

:D:D:D:D @Bingi am straight like a pole, anyho, let me rephrase for you, “…to cover my hoes”

:D:D…way better

Kwani it was a karumaindu kind of an interview?

let the guy be himself. kama hana experience ni sawa. there are so many entry level or internship positions he can get work experience from to build his CV.

You mean literally right? :D:D