Watu hutoka Mbali. Of St.Jude's Novena and an ice pop business.

I come from a very humble background and grew up in a very strict Catholic family where my family had to attend church every Sunday morning and most mornings at the local Catholic run primary school somewhere on the outskirts of Nairobi.

My dad was a hopeless drunk then and save for our mum holding the family together,im sure me and my siblings would have struggled to make it in life.
My mum taught us from a very tender age to pray the Novena.
It involved kneeling down every evening before dad came back home drank and reciting this prayer 9 times for 9 days in a row.
It was then expected that your prayer would be answered on the ninth day , whatever you had prayed for.

My mom had always led us to believe that we were praying for the healing of our dad from drunkenness,womanising and the general squander of his income which was leaving our family on the verge of lacking basic needs like food and tuition fees.

Things got so bad and I remember me and my older brother deciding that we would do something to ease the financial strain that my mom had to go through every month while dad drunk and wasted all his money on drink and other women!

Me and my bro saw a niche in the ice pop business at our local church!

It wasn’t difficult convincing mum to help us buy the polythene tubes,colour dyes and flavourings that are the main Ingredients in making ice pops.

So end month when she got paid we went to Eabrahims supermarket hapo Kenya power near Gill house and I remember it was a Saturday and we couldn’t wait to get home to make the ice pops, freeze them and test the market that Sunday morning!
At least we had a working fridge!.. kikiki
Anyway; it was all try and error and I remember me and my brother spending most of the evening doing up all the different colours, pouring the mixture into the plastic bags and then using a burning candle to seal them before freezing them hoping that they would be frozen the next day!

My mom appreciated and supported us but I could tell that she was uneasy about what our drunk dad might make of us standing outside the church selling ice pops!
But me and my bro were determined and we even promised mom that if we sold any of the ice pops,she wouldn’t have to worry about getting us bustard and tuition money and so she would concentrate on paying school fees for our eldest siblings who were in High School!

Mum agreed and as we placed the last tubes into the freezer, she reminded us that that very night was the Ninth day of our nine days Novena to ST JUde so shall we gather and pray before we went to bed.

It should have been just another routine bedtime prayer but that night I really prayed that our ice pops would be frozen solid by the time we got up and that by the grace of God through St Jude,. May we at least sell enough to recoup mum’s money that she had invested and entrusted in us.

The plan was that my older brother would attend the First mass and that I would attend the second mass early enough for me to deliver the ice pops in time for him to sell them to the people leaving the first mass.
I would then attend second mass (to meet the rules) and would later join him in selling the rest of the remaining merchandise!

Here is the Miracle bit of this Hekaya.

Out of anticipation, I couldn’t sit through the “matangazo” part and when I rushed out to find out how my brother was doing, he excitedly showed me an almost empty bucket where there had been almost 100 ice pops and so he tasked me with rushing home to bring the rest of the ice pops before the service was over!

I emptied the freezer compartment and rushed back to the church gates just before the crowds dwindled!

That first day only; we made 207 shillings!
Enough to pay for our busfare and tuition fees for the next two weeks plus enough to buy a freezer bucket,colourings, flavours etc for the following week!

This small business continued to sustain me and my older brother’s primary education for almost the next two years and I sincerely believe that it was through the power of St. Jude’s Novena that it was all possible!

Watu hutoka mbali!

Love St.Jude!!

Nice hekaya Bro. I still believe in power of this particular prayer. I think it works.
BTW I hope you haven’t touched the vodka bottle…

207 shillings ???

ka_buda nice hekaya…My parents we’re really poor when i was growing up…i remember praying for a pair of shoes everytime, back then any type would have done. Remember me n my elder bro coming from school nikiwa class 4 and i kuta my mum has just bought for me my first pair of shoes. Zilikuwa some plastic shoes zenye mtu husweat ndani zinaanza kulia potho! potho! as you walk. You couldn’t sit close to the fire with them coz zinastick kwa ngozi.
But look at me now, if there’s something i really buy is shoes…in one of my unused bedrooms all i have are shoes. Kweli watu hutoka mbali

Nice hekaya i think, cjasoma nimeona church + watu hutoka mbali= my conclusion
Mambo ya church peleka facebook

Sikuoni labda uweke mbisha ama iwe ni hekaya

Would love to bt mbisha za kwangu n my family are a no go zone…

nice story…I used to pray that my parents would stop squabbling over some nonsense. and realize just how seriously I was getting my ass kicked everyday in school…took me a year of novenas to understand that no one was listening up there either.
if God wasn’t going to help me, I was going to have to smite someone by myself.

So…I glued one bully’s face to his desk while he slept one afternoon then proceeded to beat the shit out of him with a wooden chair leg while the whole class watched.
he pee’d himself and got a broken arm.
I broke his spirit and got suspended for a month.
I was never robbed, bullied or beaten again
neither Jude nor my parents lifted a finger to help me…so peddle your snake oil elsewhere! !

Maku wewe…move on kam huna la kusema.

Nice hekaya man.

afadhali nyinyi mlikuwa na fridge na baba yako alikuwa na za kuharibu,HUJUI SHIDA NI NINI WEWE

ni ilibidi tueke ka kibanda nje ya plot when I was in class six…Nlikua Natoka shule,nakimbia Hadi home kufungua kibanda ya viazi na ma sweets za kila aina and I wouldn’t eat ata moja Hadi nearly 1900 hours time ya kufunga.this went on for a year and ma had saved enough for a ka small kaduka…my bro who was a mechanic left his job to run the kashop while I concentrated na masomo na MATHE nayeye na job yake …sai its a biiig shop …still reminds her where we came from …ni God

KABUDA NI MTU MUONGO HII NI KELELE AMEUNDA KWA HIO KICHWA YAKE KUBWA

Woishe…!!!this made me kinda sad :frowning: :frowning:
God is there:)

Watu hutoka mbali kweli… An inspirational read below.
http://www.bikozulu.co.ke/from-the-hole/

don’t be myopic. Value ya 100 shillings back then was an equivalent of kitu 1k today.

No use trying to reason with an atheist. All I know Mungu yuko.

Not every dog bark deserves your attention:D