According to joluo culture a widow must undergo certain sexual rituals before the burial.
There are no stupid questions, but there are stupid people, times and places to ask them.
Sijatusi mtu.
This is the time to ask these questions since we are seeing the joluo customs unfold on our screens. And FYI those rituals are what made Wambui Otieno refuse to have her husband buried huko luoland. Also non luo women married to luos should be well aware of these customs and rituals coz they must fulfill them when that time comes.
Cultures are not static, so there are customs we Africans need to shed off because they are not only useless but barbaric, and because they demean us. But I cannot speak for them, my opinion is purely academic.
So why are you getting emotional and angry when we analyse luo culture? The luo themselves hapa wamesema muwachane na hao they practice their culture.
I was attacked and called low IQ for asking such questions. Thanks @Lionheart for reminding us that culture is not static
I think you’re being disrespectful of the old lady, given her age, and yours. I really don’t expect educated people to be clinging to such a practice at this stage in history. Wambui Otieno’s case was many years back; it would mean that nothing was learned from it if we were to hear of similar things today.
Those customs and rituals are part of the burial ceremony and the burial would not be complete without them. This has nothing to do with age, status or respect, it is The Culture.
There is no superior or inferior culture, let those who practice their culture do so in peace.
Wewe wamunyoro blogger cheza chini…if your ilk had listened to Uhuru..sasa Martha angekua kwa kiti… strategy yenyu mbovu
Oburu alifikisha kijiji threshold DF
Ako wapi ni fanye hio cleansing