Wakalee Wamefukuzwo Kanisa

Yeah, all savage practices must be banned. Cutting foreskins without anaesthesia and post-surgical care is a primitive and traumatising act of brutality to boys in 2025. Even God hates those who torture others.

Wacha vipii zikatwe ama wewe ni wale ma nurse kwa village unalipisha ma thao mob kukata vipii?

Ulisikia wamekufa?
Nyinyi ndio mlitahiri mbele ya mama na akabaki kuinspect kama mboro imepona?

No, I have my own stand on it. Clinical technology is quite advanced now compared to 2 or 3 decades ago. No need to torture your children taking them through some unnecessarily crude and painful practice–for what?
Some develop complications, and I’m sure you’ve seen/ heard media reports of infections and death from excessive bleeding. That is a surgical procedure, just be a sensible father and budget for your son’s surgery and have it done right and safely by a qualified medic. It doesn’t have to be expensive. Hata kama ni tradition, ulienda shule kufanya nini, kama huelewi traditions have to make sense? In fact if I could I would outlaw that shit as it’s done currently. Anyone with a brain should.

This is wrong.

A peoples culture supercrdes christianity

@Yugni ona? Boys born 12 years ago are already undergoing the procedure in the bush comfortably na hakuna mtu alidedi.

Hutadedi @Yugni . I assure you. You will feel better afterwards
You will also no longer be milling smegma in that whistle

Now that an adult went through the process and he is not harmed, why should he be victimized for things he had no control over?

What I’m reading from the letter is that some elder(s) support(s) the practice, so it’s an attitude problem, not a history one. You should not be judged for things you’ve suffered persoanally, but for wanting to do the same wrongs to others. Note that it talks of “any member in leadership”, so those are decision makers who can potentially tilt the position of the church on the issue.

I have no problem if someone decides to chop off their foreskin without anesthesia, so long as they come out at the end healed. Let’s respect everyone’s cultures. FGM ndio mbaya.

If you are a man and you choose to go for that, fine. But the boys don’t decide, it’s decided for them. I wouldn’t do that to my child.

Personally, if i had power, i would outlaw male genital mutilation inflicted on those under the age of 18 and which is euphemistically called circumcision. If someone wants to get cut, let him make his own decision when he is above 18.
It is a barbaric tradition.

Why is FGM bad but MGM good? If MGM is good, those tribes that practice it should also embrace FGM to achieve equality.

Sharrap. Circumcision is a barbaric practice.

Everyone chooses what they want. Let their cultures decide. FGM is bad because it interferes with a woman’s ability to enjoy sex and makes birth a very painful process that alters their lives badly for good.
Male circumcision doesn’t cause any of that.

Pia wewe unatembea na firimbi?

Male circumcision mutilates a penis and severely curtails a man’s enjoyment of sex. Ask any man who was pressured or shamed into circumcision after they had already become sexually active. Funny how when your sisters and daughters get married to mizungus nobody cares about their circumcision status - they do not circumcise and it is not a public health issue in their countries as it is made to be here. Circumcision is barbaric full stop. Foreskins can be washed.

Keep yours if you want to. It’s a free country last time i checked. No one should shame you for making such a bold decision.

I already had mine chopped off. By that time I had sampled a few vaginas. The before and after was a definite sensory downgrade.

As I said, it’s a medical procedure, and it should be so understood, and carried out in a proper and safe environment. Now, if people want to infuse tradition and ritual into it, they can, on personal choice. There are church groups and other social organisations which do it as a camp event for 2 weeks which involves hiring caregivers and educators, and I think that’s good. As for choice, there are decisions you’ll have to make as a father of boys, and this is one of them. Let it be humane, that’s all. I think avoiding it isn’t a choice, because you leave the child with a burden to carry into adulthood, and he will live in a society which might not see things as you see them. Some wazungus don’t, but I have no idea how they feel about it, or how it affects their relationships with women. Personally, I think it’s a mistake not to cut.
But, there’s still hope for you @Banyamulenge ! Don’t laugh, it’s serious​:laughing:
Take a 3 weeks vacation from people who know you, get an airbnb, go to a good clinic and hire a home nurse to relieve you of that burden. The nurse will be coming to cook, clean (you) and administer medication. No one needs to know. Report results, and the KT family will happily admit you into manhood.