Waithaka wa Jane

Hawa majamaa sapere shiny eye meno brown hutoa wimbo kama mbiri pekee and call themselves mugithi artists where all they do is do covers of other well known mugithi songs and earn from them. Halafu wanaweka YouTube pia and concerts pia. Kule America huwesjaribu perform wimbo ya mtu bila rights kwa concert.
Sasa Waithaka wa Jane has been sued for copyright infringements by JB. This will be an interesting case to see for mugithi artists to come up with their own original tunes…sio kila artist with the same song
Wyre had the decency to give him his rights when he performed the song

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QqcyqXcGHek

Hapa amepiga “copyright”. I have been around mugithi and benga music circles. Such cases are away too common.

Unakuta kijana barobaro all he does kwa kila appearance yake is a rendition of your song hata zake hazijulikani

halafu apewe kazi ya kuuza shamba fake na lesedi developere akule zake.

Ukweli. That’s what they do. But I can forgive them because failure to play songs of particular musicians will annoy the fans.

:D:D:D:D Akiongeza na skiza tune kijana anaona ako na pesa. Anaamua kuitisha ugavana, anaanguka, anasota, depression pap

Njaruo benga musician dont copy each other… they are originators.

This Waithaka guys has a few hits of his own. In particular I like his ‘mihadarati’ song. Pure talent there! Its amazing that all of them; the so called Wa-Jane Brothers, I think 7 of them are all very good Mugithi artists. There is another one called John Wa-Jane very talented as well.

Own compositions Artists worthy of 2 looks are few among this new generation of Kikuyu musicians. I was shocked kuenda show ya Samidoh wakiwa na Gatutura wakapiga classics for over 2 hours. But again I noticed that the revellers loves the oldies way more so maybe ni consumer demand

I’m curious how the copyright law will be applied here.

Luos don’t sing benga music. It’s called Ohangla music. Surprisingly, it’s the Luos who introduced benga music to Kenya which was later picked by Kambas, Kyuks and the Kisii

Very easy. Even copying a single phrase from someone else’s song will have the court on your kneck. Most cases are however settled out of court (money compensation)

Generally people love the oldies. Again, it dependends on the crowd of the day. Older men, who tend to the majority, love the oldies big time.

[ATTACH=full]491186[/ATTACH]

Will build jurisprudence here in Kenya and all those YouTube covers will be pulled down? And what would be a compensation formula that can be applied to other artists?

Some cover it “creatively” that’s where the courts come in

A step in the right direction

The cases are handled on a case by case basis. Some are thrown out but when the evidence is clear, a determination is easy. I know of a case where one music just copied part of the rhythm. He was sued and the court agreed with the plaintiff. However, I must agree that some are extremely difficult to proof and take ages in the court system.

Ngimanene utoe ngoma ya sembe

Mama ya gwakwa iliniimbia