@Village Elders: I Think Have an Alcohol Problem...............

For the longest time I have enjoyed my WHITE CUPS.

I started drinking when I finshed Form Six, back in the day, as I waited to join UoN. Back then, we used to wait for an year, and we were too idle.

Anyway, since then, I must have drank thousands of litres of beer - first, Tusker Export, then Tusker Mukorino, then plain Tusker, then White CUPS.

Occassionally, I do Summit, but its quality is not consistent.

What I am saying is that I am a beer guy - nothing higher than 4.2% - and I only need about 4-8 beers to get drunk, which basically means that my body has not yet developed tolerance.

MY PROBLEM IS, NOWADAYS, ONCE I GET INTO A BAR I CAN’T LEAVE UNTIL I DRINK LIKE 8-16 BEERS. That’s more than enough to get me drunk, way above my limit!

Yaani, I can stay for days without drinking and feel no ‘thirst’ BUT when I get into the bar I simply lose control - I drink (binge) like there’s no tomorrow and do stupid things like bar hopping (at my age!). I use more on taxis than on the alcohol, and become too too generous to strangers and random acquaintances. Basically, I end up wasting my hard-earned cash.

The following morning I feel like shit, especially when I realise that I wasted something like 5K. mostly probably lost to crooked cab drivers and waiters. That’s the kind of money I could use to pamper those close to me, and I feel so selfish…Truth be said, the binging is starting to affect things.

I would like to be able to walk into a bar and drink four beers max and go home.

I know willpower is what it takes, but are there tricks you yourself have used to control your drinking?

Share them with me…tafasari.

Next time you go drinking,drink 8. Then next time saba,then sita,maintain the trend hadi urudi 4,which you will now limit youself to drinking indoors. Za indoors ukinunua mob usipitishe six pack. Then settle at two

Alafu hii hekaya ulisemaje?
[ATTACH=full]31090[/ATTACH]

MIJINGA , KUNYWA GILBEYS NUSU NEAT

sisi ukunywa beer kama 12 on one sitting na hatusumbui

5k nikidogo , I feel the same guilt lakini as long as I had fun that’s what counts. *whitecap, last warning guka.

Tusker Mukurino ni gani?
The fact that you have realised you need help, is a step ahead. Get a project or a target and save for it. Discipline here is key

If you really want to quit, you will.
Everything takes time and patience.
You have to want to quit. We can’t want and will it for you.

With due respect hii njia iliniwesa. Life is too short to carry mathematics inside your head and especially in a pub. To control my drink,I went cold turkey for one month. By second week I started wondering why even people waste so many hours in pubs. After one month I had lost the interest but decided to celebrate that milestone. The taste Yaaackkk…couldn’t go even more than two tuskers. From then I took three last Friday meeting ya my group due the heavy meal. Then went home as if nothing happened. If it was before,ningepitia local base nikunywe nikijifariji eti Mimi Ni investor na nimetoka meeting. Hapa nilichapa pombe ten nil.

Mungiki mzee,kunywa muratina kama bei ya beer imekushinda

Take only enough money to a pub. Say, max 2k. Leave ur credit cards home too.

I only take 4 to 5 beers but every time the night ends up with me spending close to 10k. Jana was even worse, I wasn’t even interested in drinking but this friend of mine invited me to his brothel in a leafy surburb and I ended up wasting a lot of money.

Serre Kalk mirrionea! Last Friday (the last day I drank), I spent 4,800/= at Nwest and Reminsce, Wilson.

Hiyo pesa inaniuma mpaka sasa ju najua half went with the waiters - the price of a beer was kedo 200. So even if I took 10 beers (memory gets lost…)

And 5K two or three times a week…wacha tu

Sasa hata wewe unakuja kushine yours eyes here badala ya kushughulikia Anko. Haya basi, wacha nim-inbox nikukamulie…serre!

@mabenda4, problem is in this Internet age (mobile banking, Mpesa, etc etc), it’s very easy to get extra money. Last Friday I tried that (going to the bar with just 3K) and ended up getting another 5K from a friend via mpesa as a soft loan…that’s when I realised I have a problem. Nakopa pesa ya kukunyua ta imagini…siyo ya kujenga pigsties huko Dago…kukunyua!

@bjurmann: I think am gonna try your trick - go cold turkey for two months (Ngai, nipe nguvu!) and see what happens.

By the way, I was watching a doc on Al Jazeera called Heroine USA yesterday and it got me worried that I am sleep walking into addiction, hence today’s concern. White kids from rich families are the new addicts, not blacks…addiction is classless.

pole sana,

ulikamua?

your friend owns a brothel…lucky you anyway I want to also open a brothel huku nyahururu… any pointers

Used to be in same situation, pale Rabi Ngara started in 92 when th bar owner agreed to buy a greatwall TV, world cup was the in thing, imagine for a whole decade drawning in the beer world. But hit the rock bottom. Now I just buy for my buddies and just leave them enjoy …I’m sure Guka you will one day drink moderately

Kwanza hama from your current estate.
Then change your friends.
In your new environment, go hard on yourself and try to get a new hobby.
Its all in the mind Guka…Its all in the mind. If you decide that you wont take another White Cupfrom today henceforth, you can.