I have come to notice one thing. In coast the most preferred van for matatus is the nissan caravan while most upcountry areas prefer toyota hiace. When it comes to motorbikes, TVS (and slightly honda) reigns in coast while in nairobi and upcountry it is the bajaj boxer.
Why is this the case?
Mombasa hakuna pesa… they take the cheap stuff
Next time ukue more careful. Hizo Nissan caravans mostly mzee were affordable and built to last.
Nissan waliongeza maji kwa tei na toyota wakaunda better cars
izo nissan za kitambo ziko sawa kwa short trips za mombasa, haziwezi masafa marefu, nazo toyota hiace haziwezani na short trips.
town zote, haijalishi ni Nairobi ama Mombasa, short trips hufanywa na nissan, long trips Toyota.
Utapata Coast mechanics wengi prefer Nissans. So they somehow influence the investors. The other thing is spare and dealership availability. Then utapata investors wengi uko Coast ni Arabs and they could have a preference for a give brand. This aside we all know tht matatu za Toyota ziko mbele in terms of durability and other factors
Wacha uwongo buana.
Hiace can do both short and long trips
Nairobi has very few Nissan PSVs. Mostly Toyota.
What about tvs and boxer. Coast people prefer tvs. Is it because tvs easily accepts generic spare parts?
I used to see lots of Nissan E24s route 118, 119, 105, 23, 30 etc… now mostly ni minibuses but back then E24Nissan was king of this route. Na E23 before it, but the E25 wjich succeeded the E24 came with the ZD30 engine which had its problems so that’s how come you don’t see Nissans in Nairobi (Replacement by Nganyas and in the routes that still have fourteen seaters the E25 was avoided so you see Toyotas now)…
Many Ubers are Nissan Note
Hapo kwa Hiace uko wrong. Hiace can actually do both short and long trips. Nissan Caravan can only do short trips. Toyota still reigns supreme. No wonder bado unaona Hiace new model bado zinareign supreme than Caravan new model.
Why are most Nissan Caravans. I haven’t seen a Toyota Hiace in the tour industry.
Nissan Caravans (NV350s) are easier to convert to that collapsible roof setup for tourists to see out of on safaris. Obviously Toyota started making safari land cruisers to counteract this.. and it worked.
uongo
Ukweli
Toyota doesn’t make safari landcruiser vehicles. People buy landcruiser pick ups and convert them.
My bad, I meant those 1970s platform Landcruisers. The only vehicles exempted from age limits in Kenya by law.. which says everything that needs to be said.