VAT Inconsistency - Seller Did not declare VAT

For the first time, I have received a VAT inconsistency notice that some of my suppliers did not declare the sales for the VAT invoices I claimed… Who has encountered such a problem before and how is it resolved? The notice from KRA is indicating that the only option I have is to remove the invoices… So, I lose the claims I made? Or how did you resolve such an issue without losing the input VAT? My guess is that the suppliers lumped up all their sales and did not disaggregate by buyer KRA PIN… Since I have always been buying from them and have never had such an issue before…

Kuna mzee flani aliniambia wakati nilikuwa nafatilia ETR ndipo nilipe ushuru for my then briefcase company “kijana hio kitu unafatilia itakupa shida mingi, kama ningekuwa wewe ningewachana nayo” true to his word… hio kitu ilifanya KRA wani winde kama myama porini.
Nika jifanya mjanja…kuwahepa… mwishowe they did their magik and i took myself to their office.
Just get the serivices of a certified tax accountant who will do the filling on your behalf… usijaribu kujifanyia hizo filling kijana. Utajua hujui.

No. I am not green at all… I also have an auditor but there is no audit work here… I have been doing the filing myself for more than 15 years and only ask the auditor to do the annual audits… This one is most likely as a result of my suppliers not indicating my company’s PIN line by line but lumped up everything under “sales made to buyers not registered for VAT” or not declaring the sale in totality or unlikely incorrect invoice number or date of purchase. This is a system generated notification done by the VAA module of i-Tax. I paid the suppliers either by cheque, Bank Transfer or M-Pesa, so I do have the payment details and also the actual ETR receipts from the suppliers… And I am not ready to lose the claimed values…

Ignore. Its not your fault.

I know but KRA is a dictatorship and if you ignore, you suffer! They will automatically drop the claims and create a debt in i-Tax… to have it waived is crazy!

Just contact KRA using ITax feedback system or call centre , explain and attach the affected invoices (make sure they are genuine).
Make follow up and make sure the matter is settled otherwise it will kwamisha you in future…

Asante sana! I will do that on Monday… They are certainly genuine and have always traded with the suppliers for many years and had no problems in the past. I think what KRA has done is to enforce the disaggregated PINs to force the sellers to now input the buyer PIN one by one… instead of lumping it up!

Can’t you contact your supplier to not aggregate?

No. Since it is for September, they have already aggregated… I am looking at the solution to resolve this… It appears that I will have to communicate as advised above with the ETR receipts for each claim via i-Tax and then follow up.

I get these inconsistency mara mingi,but as long as ive declared everything on my side, hao wengine i dont care

Have they ever dropped the inputs that they questioned? I thought that after 30 days, they will drop the inputs that I declared that were not EXPLICTLY declared by the supplier…

KRA watakuambia contact the supplier to ensure they amended their returns.
VAT inconsistency ni ukoloni kwa the customer… It’s your burden to follow up with the supplier,… If they have aggregated, ask them to amended their return…
You should also check kama umetumia correct invoice details eg date and Tim’s ETR control invoice no

KRA is certainly a dicatorship and they seem to only want to make the process of running businesses as hard as possible… Like now, they are insisting that for TIMS compliant ETRs, you cannot just punch in the total of the invoice into the ETR per customer but do it item by item which will waste so much time considering that you had already done that on a manual invoice form elsewhere… You can imagine punching in 50 small items per customer for the ETR and the data entry mistakes you risk making! Again, they have insisted that if you want to use an automated accounting system like Quickbooks, you have to use class C ETR and not the manual one… and that is much more costly!

Mutu ya nil can’t relate. KRA ghasia wakwende na huko. Wakileta upuzi am going to farming. Cash on delivery. Tuone hao Siamese thieves wataiba nini.

It is not possible to avoid them entirely unless you wish to remain a peasant…

Siku hizi na hold precious metal. Fiat currency is slavery. Inflation ina umiza watu ya fiat.

What will you do with the precious metal? Barter trade? As long as you convert it to money at some point mtapatana tu?

You hold precious metal to safeguard your hard earned cash. The government is notorious through printing money. Hence reducing your purchasing power. In 2013 a gram of gold was going from 3500-4000. Saa hii a gram is 6000. Ukitry to compare your money in 2013 to 2022. You purchasing power was eroded. I would advice you hold your wealth in assets. Shares Kwa company which you can sell later.

Why not keep it in form of land?

Pia land ni safe haven. But gold you can liquidate it faster compared to land.