I love family gatherings and ceremonies… I never miss them. Of course in the family there are cousins that don’t get along, others despise each other, others fall in love with each other, others wanna scratch each other’s eyes… Aunties na kina shosh aren’t left out…Trust me I love watching all this shit There’s that favorite uncle, aunt, cuzo na hata shosh… .
There are instances when you sit down and remember unacheka tu.
So kuna one time we had rũracio things… Tuko wengi and we had sleep kwa one big hall-like room, thank God kulikuwa na mattresses… Shida ni kupangwa kama viberiti and everyone else is snoring… And you end up staying awake… Aaarrgggghhh!!
In the morning you have to do chores, you end up fighting over who gets the easy ones. There are lazy ones who won’t lift a finger, kuna Wale wapole who do everything they are told, others are just hard workers and get things done…
And showers?? It came a time hakukuwa na maji there was very little in the tank… I had to go to the bathroom and take a shower before anyone did, hehe… Shida ni I heard my cuzo asking, ‘nani ako kwa shower?’ my sister answered… I hadn’t locked the bathroom… She just had to come in to confirm… Seriously!!! She said, ‘usitumie maji mingi’ smh!
Shida is when you have to use the bathroom outside na umezoea ya ndani and walking around without a towel, chesos!! (let’s not go here)
The thing with being around family is that, day one you are happy to see each other and the last day you can’t bare the sight of each other.
I died just by reading the headline…:D:D:D:D:D:D:D I come from yuuuuuuge families so msongomano ni kawaida. There is a reason why I was dying to do my wedding far far far away and it came to pass. Sasa nangonja rurashio tukutane huko and since we have already said ‘hae ndo’ hakuna kuambiwa maneno mengi. I hear my relas kina @kasaman wamejipanga sana…kkkkkkkkkk.
I don’t want to see some of my Kazos for more than 3 hrs so nitafunga leso nisaidie wamathee jikoni. I did not even know what to say to some at Dad’s funeral.
The wazees will call you their ‘daughter’ and start demanding for cows, goats, camels etc na juu unaishi randan I suggest you carry the queen of England :D:D:D
Being a man has its advantages. If the population is large enough, you can always leave your vehicle at shagz, take a bodaboda to the nearest town and switch off your phone. The nearest bar with kungurus and people you know is your favorite place. Everyone in shagz will think that you are around while in the real sense you are 3 kilometers away sipping Ksh 160 per bottle pilsner. Buy a guy two or three beers and you will get all the news that has happened in the last 6 months since you were there. You only show up in the morning kuchinja. Its a man’s world. As long as your vehicle is there, nobody will ask questions if they can’t see you at 10:13 PM.