In my desire to heed the “Safaricon ni ya mpesa pekee” clarion call, I recently got a Telkom line. Everything was good…until I decided to open a new gmail account. You know how after filling in your details, you’re asked to verify your phone number either via text or phone call? I used my Telkom number. I pressed the “verify” button while picking up my phone and drawing the pattern, coz I expected the text to arrive immediately. 5 minutes later, bado. I attempted again, wapi. I then opted for the call, thinking that this time it would happen immediately, waaaapi? I then used my Safaricom line, and what do you know? Everything went according to script.
Those evil fuckers at Safaricom think of everything. I used to think those verification codes arrived so fast because Google is awesome, kumbe the phone operator also plays a role in how fast you receive it? Sometimes I’m glad they’re the dominant telco in our country, other times not so much. Such mundane stuff also reminds me that Safaricom is not necessarily market leader because they’re that good, but because their competitors are useless pieces of steaming meffi.
End of mini-rant.
I have had the same verification problem but on an Airtel line.
damuko
March 6, 2018, 5:12pm
I have also had the same verification problem but on a Safaricom line
Bozo
March 6, 2018, 5:54pm
[COLOR=rgb(44, 130, 201)]TELKOM [COLOR=rgb(41, 105, 176)]KIBOKO CHANGU…
system
March 6, 2018, 6:00pm
mimi najua telkom mambo yote,with kshs250 i get 2 gb of data…what else does an introvert need kama sio cheap net
system
March 6, 2018, 6:09pm
In my desire to heed the “Safaricon ni ya mpesa pekee” clarion call, I recently got a Telkom line. Everything was good…until I decided to open a new gmail account. You know how after filling in your details, you’re asked to verify your phone number either via text or phone call? I used my Telkom number. I pressed the “verify” button while picking up my phone and drawing the pattern, coz I expected the text to arrive immediately. 5 minutes later, bado. I attempted again, wapi. I then opted for the call, thinking that this time it would happen immediately, waaaapi? I then used my Safaricom line, and what do you know? Everything went according to script.
Those evil fuckers at Safaricom think of everything. I used to think those verification codes arrived so fast because Google is awesome, kumbe the phone operator also plays a role in how fast you receive it? Sometimes I’m glad they’re the dominant telco in our country, other times not so much. Such mundane stuff also reminds me that Safaricom is not necessarily market leader because they’re that good, but because their competitors are useless pieces of steaming meffi.
End of mini-rant.
My exact experience with Airtel !!
roch
March 6, 2018, 6:26pm
I had the same experience with yu sometimes back
system
March 6, 2018, 6:30pm
I am using Airtel 4G with free 2GB data scheduled to run till next week. Can’t relate.
Wait until u get Faiba 8GB for 350 things will never be the same again
with 250 naeza eka 1gb daily for 5 days
system
March 7, 2018, 9:39am
End of mini-rant.
Getting an Uber,skype,telegram confirm is much faster than getting it from Telkom.Mark you their confirmation comes from outside KE operators
Naona tu wasee wa #resist
veved
March 9, 2018, 7:59am
End of mini-rant.
This affects even Safaricom at times. Kuna time I waited for that confirmation sms mpaka nikachoka. Nowadays I have those backup codes kwa laptop as option B in case I may encounter the same problem in future
sisi watu wa ssh keys tukae wepi??