Useless degrees- they are also complaining in the UK

[SIZE=6]A first class delusion: It’s every parent’s dream to send their child to university… but too many students, poor teaching, huge debts and the prospect they’ll earn LESS than non-graduates has made it a nightmare[/SIZE]

By DAVID CRAIG and HUGH OPENSHAW FOR THE DAILY MAIL

PUBLISHED: 23:08 BST, 3 August 2018 | UPDATED: 08:24 BST, 4 August 2018

Britain’s university system, once the envy of the world, has become a monster. Bloated, self-serving and impossibly expensive to run, it is causing untold misery to millions of students who sign up for a lifetime of debt, only to be sold a sub-standard and frequently useless education.

To say so out loud invites condemnation all round — from the establishment that preaches there can never be ‘too much education’, from the hundreds of thousands employed on the university gravy train and from the millions of students who have got themselves deep into debt for the sake of a degree.

But it must be said. And something has to be done to address this self- perpetuating insanity.

The figures are eye-watering. Over the past 30 years, our higher education (H.E.) network has tripled in size. In the late Eighties, around 770,000 people — just 15 per cent of school leavers — attended a university or polytechnic. Now there are more than 2.3 million H.E. students. That’s almost half of all school leavers.

Many of them arrived with a distinct lack of accurate information on the long-term benefits and drawbacks of a degree.

They’ve been told that the ‘graduate premium’ — the extra money a degree student can expect to earn over a lifetime — is £100,000. But that’s vague to the point of being downright dishonest.

What’s the point of having a degree if every other person has one, too? When the cost of a degree can be up to £60,000, can it ever make financial sense — especially when the great majority of students (nine out of ten, on some courses) will be unable to find a job that requires a university education?

Changes have to be made, and now. Unless university places are restricted, our great institutions will be reduced to nurseries for over-qualified baristas, gym trainers and call centre workers.

We can’t wait for the academics to come to their senses and start turning away undergraduates — their jobs depend on filling those places.

[B]The fact is that many graduates now see minimal or even negative returns from their degrees.

Figures from the Office of National Statistics revealed recently that a third of graduates from some of the most popular degree courses in the country — including agriculture, psychology, English and creative design — are likely to be earning substantially less than the national average salary.[/B]

Graduates with useless degrees are so numerous that one in ten childminders has a university education. So does one in six call centre staff, and one in four air cabin crew and theme park attendants.

This can create bigger problems than mere frustration and bitterness. A former intensive care nurse, Rona Johnson, told the Mail in 2009: ‘Many graduate nurses feel they are too superior to clean floors and change beds.
The cost of all these useless degrees is almost beyond calculating. Each year students borrow over £12 billion. The total debt owed by UK graduates and undergrads is thought to be £100 billion.

As a result, an entire generation will spend the first 30 years of their lives struggling with debts they cannot repay. The average debt of a British graduate is £50,000, the highest in the developed world.

Above all, Britain has to shake off the delusion that half our school leavers are better off going to university. It’s a monstrous con.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-6025073/Too-students-huge-debts-prospect-earning-life-graduates-Britain.html

Paying for university education is increasingly becoming like gambling. It’s like giving Ronald Karauri all your pay cheque via Sportspesa hoping to get back millions.

True. Spoken so wisely.

How many people have benefited from university degrees?

Our education system is a fraud. How can you say a person is failure when he failed an exam. Does it mean for those years he was going to school meant nothing.
Education is supposed to add knowledge which we will use in our day to day.

To be honest, i didn’t know the CEO of sportspesa wad Ronald Karauri… Thanks

Life can be brutal without a college education or some kind of technical training.

It’s easier for those taking Diploma in Technical education to be employed or be self employed !

Kama masomo majuu iko na shida hivi; hii yetu sijui tuseme nini…Bora Uhai

Education system is way of limiting the number of those that access particular positions in society and its institutions, which is of course necessary. The course of education is naturally spread along all your youth so that when it assigns you a place in society, there is no time for you to retry or rethink the system to discover the smoke and mirrors. So you stick to the level assigned. if you leave schooling system early, say at O level(form 4) the education system takes care to lable you a failure and use the institutions of government to insist that you are one by giving you access only to what those who went to higher education would call trash.
If by any chance you leave the education system at some point early or having not met requirements, then defeat the mechanisms put there to sit on you, and become more successful than the academically successful like, say, Sonko, muthamaki, sultan etc, the society naturally puts a reign on you by putting the more educated and everyone else at your service so it becomes your interest that the education system continues to produce more educated conditioned people at all levels rather than people like you. imagine you playing checkers and the natural mechanism of society playing chess. that is what it is.
-Realities of the world/universe are really cruel and unimaginably evil.
-debt is a method of forcing you to work and pay tax rather than work your way out of the labour system. For there has to be more labourers than masters.
-being a labourer is straightforward, has incentives, and is socially acceptable, but aspiring to be a master is shunned and rejected even by your own parents.