For your information, Telkom is now under the control of Hellios group. They have a better turnaround plan than their predecessors. Just watch the space.
Head office maybe in the UK but it’s owned by Nigerians.
It’s all well and good if they’re rising out of the gutter. I’m just worried that them selling there infrastructure to the Americans will be potentially more risky than the reward.
Yeah, let them grow subscribers numbers organically by offering better and reliable services at a fair price. Let them concentrate on their own game first, break even then start trying to rival safcom. Hii kitu you come in and expect to taken on safaricom in one or two years leads to terrible strategy and when it fails you start asking GoK to shutdown Safaricom.
For a quid quo pro. What we’ll be inviting is total access to our communication systems to the Americans and the NSA and CIA. They could easily get a upper hand when it comes to negotiating deals etc.
Is this the Hellio’s some one has pointed out is a Nigeria outfit. OK
There was a time when a gang of Nigerian’s had set shop at the Kenya Post and telecommunication, having mysterious acquired the keys and could access letters and packages especially those arriving with valuables. They were able to pick and selected all items of value. When the huge losses were investigated, it was discovered a group of Nigerian had full access to high secured areas and neither were they employees or with valid resident permits. The house they were residing in was found to contain thousands upon thousands of letters and packages, having picked out a fortune of valuables, for God only know how many years.
As you can expect they ALL escaped without a trace, disappearing into destinations unknown. I just wonder what stops any one reappearing in a different guise to acquire an institute plundered with the very resources. Blind fools get conned over and over.
Quite unrelated events. For your information, there is no single Nigerian seconded from Helios to manage Telkom. Not a single one. They picked a French CEO and the rest of the top management are Kenyans. The only West African who comes close to being Nigerian is Kris Senanu. His parents were Ghanian and he has lived in Kenya since the early 90’s.
This is the same company that had invested in Equity some years back. In fact, the company was the largest single shareholder of Equity bank. They had a stake of about 25%, which they sold for around 52B. Did that make Equity Nigerian? Please read your history about this company and its activities.
After Helios liquidated their shares, they then invested in Orange Kenya and immediately rebranded the company Telkom Kenya. I believe it is the profits that they got from Equity that they are re-investing in Telkom.
Helios is a private equity group and their activities are known. Google should be your friend from this point onwards.
The falsehoods posted here…
At no point did Vodafone Kenya EVER have a majority stake in Safaricom.Safaricom started as a department of KPTC ,then the Government sold 40% to Vodafone around 1999-2000
Safaricom was 60% owned by the Government of Kenya(through Telkom Kenya until France Telkom came into the mix and then directly afterwards) and 40% owned by Vodafone Kenya.
During the IPO in 2008.The Government reduced its stake to 35% while Vodafone Kenya maintained its 40% stake.
Safaricom has used Vodafone branding in the past(if you look at the first Safaricom logo it has the inverted vodafone comma above the i) but that does not mean that Vodafone has ever had a majority shareholding.Ever.