That would be far more advantageous for the debt-laden government in the long run than a public-private partnership (PPP), which would mean Bechtel raises the cash itself through financial markets, the company says.
But a Kenyan minister said the preferred approach is still PPP, which would keep the capital cost of the game-changing expressway off its books.
Coming to light this week, the difference of opinion puts a question mark over the historic scheme, which sees a four-lane expressway paved between the east African country’s two main cities: its main port of Mombasa and its interior capital, Nairobi.
Why would the govt borrow to build a parallel highway to the one already existing and a functional SGR??? There other regions that require infrastructure more urgently!!! or use the money to upgrade the existing highway
Actually hii project ni upus. Kama hawana pesa wakae huko…
unfortunately for Betchel,that road is a nice to have not a must have,they either take the deal or take a hike. With SGR and Lapsset the govt cannot afford to take on a new project, if they are unable, we will revisit that project in 2020.
It’s a bad deal and its time to run away from it. What Betchel are saying without actually saying it, is that they do not see the financial viability of the project which makes it a tough sell.
Why is it that Kenyans cannot do such projects on their own, and I don’t mean private contractors but the state itself? We have had several projects done by foreigners, but what “special” knowledge or insight have we learned and transferred to our own?
Tunaiba, tunainflate, alafu tunawacha half way and demand full pay.
remember the DP’s official residence scandal? or Kirinyaga construction? such things and the likes.
Sometimes last year, right in this group, some talkers openly talked about the negative side of this company and the projects done in those countries. The company is not as clean as per see. The talkers said that we should be cautious of this company.
the reason tulienda kwa mushaina ni sababu mzungu alikuwa kama dame maringo mjinga; mnakubaliana mtakunyua kahawa date ikifika anakwambia uvae savco jeans …ati hawezi tembea na mtu hana savco…wiki mzima unasaka pesa zinatosha za savco unamwambia haya basi…anakwangalia juu chini anasema njumu yako haileti unafaa kuvaa timberland…wiki zingine mbili…finally over coffee unamwalika keja anakuuliza unajifunikiaga blanketi au duvet…unajitahidi finally munafika keja…sanctions ni mingi kila mahali ya kukalia bed, kutoa viatu, jeans, chupi …kila stage!
Mushaina anakwambia najua kile unataka stop beating around the bush…
That is why such functions/projects should revert to NYS or the military. That’s not to say that theft or corruption won’t occur somewhere in the process, but as disciplined groups they have the incentive to get things done and with the right people at the helm it can happen. Private politically connected contractors are mostly just a conduit for public funds to be pilfered in the guise of projects.
I hope GoK fails to get funding for that collosal waste of taxpayers money. Currently we have a road and railway line and regular air route from NRB to Pwani. Why do we need a brand new road for?
if the govt gives in to these bitches demand then i will have lost all respect and hope for this govt. Its as simple as that, if thats the trend this guys will auction our souls innsue time nkt!! @spear tafadhali, juu ww uko ndaani ya serikal pls advice them against this, if its not PPP wacha ikae