This might be an affordable , off the shelf solution for KAF …
[ATTACH=full]395017[/ATTACH]
This might be an affordable , off the shelf solution for KAF …
[ATTACH=full]395017[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]395018[/ATTACH]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TYkSMQOcNGg
The Kenyan F5E fighter jet is equipped with two 20mm single-barrel automatic Pontiac M39A2 cannons which have a firing rate of 1500 rpm , four AIM-9 Sidewinder air-to-air missiles and two AGM-65 Mavericks air-to-surface missiles.
It also has mounted rockets on its hard-points besides being armed with unguided iron bombs.
The manoeuvrability of the aircraft is high since it climbs at a speed of 175 meters per second and has a maximum speed of 1700 kilometres per hour.
you should bring your top 10 jets or other military tools … for comparison reasons…
Hii ni day fighter, usiku it can even be outclassed by mq9 reaper drones that are owned by mpaka drug lords of mexico
Hizi ancient tech ziwe trainers watafute gripen ama f15 eagle that can scout kapedo at night and drop hellfires, mavericks and brimstones on those rustlers’ positions
Za 254 zinaenda @ mach 1.3, na f22 iko 2.3? Besides, watu wanatumia kitu ya top speed mach 3 or more.
Utilizing only F4 Phantom and A4 Skyhawks the IAF demolished 4 entire Arab Air Forces in 1 day in the 1967 Six Day War …
( …six days … :D:D…)
Utilizing only Folland Gnats ( Ajeet ) and Mig 21s , the Indian Air Force demolished the Pakistan Air Force more advanced American F86 Sabre Jets at the famous Battle of Boyra in 1971…
(** … google it for more information … **)
It is one thing to have sophisticated , high tech aircraft , but quite another when it comes to deployment and getting results …
Gen: Muamar Gaddafi of Libya had Mig 29s and Mig 31s …
But in the famous air battle over the Gulf of Sidra in 1981 , the much slower US Navy F14 Tomcats won the engagement and splashed 2 Libyan SU22 Fitter jets …
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W-cWL7YdyqM
Some food for thought … :D:D
First ,…
It seems you ignored the first clip I posted , or chose to just ignore the information therein …
Second , …
The MQ9 Grim Reaper Attack Drone is a propeller driven 450 kph platform and hardly comparable to an F5 Tiger II jet …
And as far as I know , …
No Drug Lord anywhere owns one … :D:D
FYI …
Upgraded F5 E/F Tigers are currently in use in US Navy “Aggressor” training squadrons and are very capable equipment …
“TRAINING”
That drone is the simplest of attack craft. With hellfires that you can’t fire and forget, ni ukae umemulika target na laser , the most basic of missiles. MQ9 will serve kenyans better than this jet you arr saying to refit. Hizo sidewinder za hii tiger labda upate phantoms na very early MiGs which no country’s air force flies. It is outdated in ordnance capacity, range, avionics, why even bother refitting them
Just get new jets and use these super agile tigers for recon and training as long as they stay airworthy
Agreed , if all you are going after is Al Shabaab , but beyond that …???
And what of Air Defense , Patrol , Interdiction …???
If instead we obtain 3 squadrons (36 Frames ) of this very simple and capable technology under the Military Assistance Program ( MAP ) , we kill 2 birds with one stone …
Offence / Defense and Training … :D:D
Just FYI …
The following are unit aquisition costs of modern fighters -
F18 Super Hornet - USD: 55 - 60 million.
F16 Falcon C/D - USD: 35 million.
SAAB JAS 39 Gripen - USD: 30 millions.
Then add Spares , training and operational expenses …
We may end up buying only 2 airframes …:D:D
75yr old tech :meffi:
Does KAF have the wherewithal to procure , maintain , afford , sustain a 5th-6th GEN fighter plane …???
Answer honestly and give examples … :D:D
Gripen was an over kill … But hey you can dream.
…
Lakini they can get bootlick uncle sam awa upgradie zile f16 wanauzia American citizens.
They can get some modernized fighting falcons at a fair price. Add that its the most used fighter jet, spares shouldn’t sumbua KAF sana.
You wonder why , when US retired the Oliver Perry Hazard class frigates, why Kenya Navy didn’t procure a few. Turkey got its very cheaply. Kenyan sailors wangepata experience na AEGIS BMD, maybe saii ata kungekuwa na aegis ashore along Kenyan coast.
Wangekuwa na sm-2 na sm-3 missiles in store to augment the airforce to make anyone think twice about attaking Kenya by air.
Saii ata wakapewa intel there is a missile cruising for Nairobi hizo f5 labda ziipige picha tu. Kenya 1 to beg CNO Gilday arushe sm2 moja from one of their destroyers in djibouti to intercept, we are a joke ndo maana wasomali wana flex na sisi.
The SAAB Gripen is a far cheaper and better choice than the F16 …period.
And if your concern is about numbers that have been deployed , then the Mig 21 is your plane … but in actual combat , inferior to the F5E Tiger II …
( Proof: the Ethiopia / Somali Ogaden War ).
The Somali National Army ( SNA ) is a joke …they can’t even handle Al Shabaab without help…
In contrast , during Operation Linda Inchi , KDF took just 3 weeks to sweep to Kismayo…and there was not a single Air or Naval challenge of any kind …
AU / EU and US politics got in the way to prevent total victory by KDF ( a story for another day…).
Why not?
Hey, if Kenya went out of it’s way and procured a mtumba from Bangladesh of all the places at the same time accommodating belly hanging thugs citing a mirako bebi in a d☆ck shake that never benefitted anybody and would rather pretend the nurse drain never happened amid a pandemic, what does this say about out priorities?
I would take a second hand F-16 but rather the cheaper maintenance Svensk Gripen anyday over a d☆ck shake of some sorts.
Gripen is too expensive For Kenya to afford to buy and maintain. Numbers Not necessarily combat, but f16 is the mostly used fighter jet in the world currently. So operating costs should be low …
I was also talking about hii mitumba , not new jets.
[ATTACH=full]395248[/ATTACH]
These are block 20 f16 A/B. Buy then get LM upgrade them to F16V kama zile za Taiwan with modern electrics. Get cheap jets as kenyan pilots get used to them
Speaking of Bangladesh , they made a deal with the devil himself and got a few YAK 130
from Putin for a pound of their flesh … :D:D
[ATTACH=full]395271[/ATTACH]
On the SAAB Gripen , we fully agree …
South Africa made the same choice … :D:D
[ATTACH=full]395272[/ATTACH]
They should just fit it with guided missiles. Lakini missile moja ni 100-200 million kenya chirrings. Or they could develop their own missiles.
There’s no law preventing us from developing some of these things. Sio lazima kununua kila kitu.
The emphasis is credible but affordable defense …
Keep in mind that good refurbished aircraft fill an important military gap that drones and missiles cannot fulfill …
IAI ( Israel Aircraft Industries ) run a successful refit and upgrade facility for airframes , avionics and weapon systems.
[ATTACH=full]397112[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]397115[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]397116[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]397117[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]397118[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]397125[/ATTACH]