University of Nairobi tough academic rules for postgraduates

From the standard of | Wednesday, Mar 22nd 2017 at 15:49

In summary:
-there will be no PhD by research only; every PhD programme must introduce course work.
-masters students must publish at least one article in a refereed journal before they are allowed to graduate.
-PhD students are required to publish at least two articles in refereed journals before they are allowed to graduate

Universities brace for key changes as CUE chiefs’ tenure end

The new guidelines issued by the Graduate School take effect immediately. The Board of Post Graduate Studies was recently converted into Graduate School and Prof Lydia Njenga appointed the director.

The Standard has learnt that Prof Njenga, has firmly instructed that only students whose research proposals have passed the critical test will be allowed to proceed to the field.

Communication from School of Journalism Post Graduate Committee chairman Dr. Samuel Siringi summons all graduate students cohorts to an urgent meeting today.

“Please attend an emergency meeting on Thursday to familiarize with the rules. You must attend regardless of the progress of your research work,” reads the communication seen by The Standard.

Under the new requirements, PhD holders will only supervise up to a maximum of five students. And for doctorate programmes, supervisors will only be allowed to oversee research work of a maximum of three students.

The Graduate School director has also instructed that starting 2016/2017academic year; every PhD programme must introduce course work for those that did not have.

This means that there will be no PhD by research. The new requirements are in line with the Commission for University Education standards and guidelines (2014).

ALSO READ: Universities brace for key changes as CUE chiefs’ tenure end

It also comes days after Prof Njenga communicated the CUE directive that each masters students must publish at least one article in a refereed journal before they are allowed to graduate. PhD students are required to publish at least two articles before they are allowed to graduate.

Speaking during the launch of Nairobi Innovation Week, Vice Chancellor Peter Mbithi said the university is committed to providing quality education.

“In order to remain relevant and successful, the university’s strategy has to be tailored to respond to the challenges emanating from this environment,” said Mbithi.

KU will reap the benefits.

KU has similar guidelines you have to publish before graduation. KEMU too

Kazi ni kufungua a journal and pay referees, then utakuwa una charge to publish papers

Unfortunately some universities like UoN dictate where you can publish.

Problem is the mafackin supervisors who are never present & don’t bother to pick up calls. Kuna mmoja ananisumbua nikipata bunduki ntampiga risasi kwa kneecaps na matacore.

Masters phd… Mpaka saa ngapi… Hii degree yangu ina gather dust kwa drawer…man unasoma hio yote and then u die…

In KU, a supervisor is given 14 days to respond. I finished my masters thesis proposal in 3 months and I was dealing with two supervisors.

:eek:

In our undergrad huku the thesis took a whole academic year (8 months minimum) same for masters with weekly seminars…wtf.

Lucky you. Am dealing with a guy who can go MIA for 8 weeks. The worst part is that he’s ‘untouchable’ and said to be the incoming deputy director/dean. He doesn’t pick calls, he doesn’t reply mails and he doesn’t come to his office.

JKUAT je ?

Wewe @culture @Jirani @Chloe na @jaymoh belong in the same class of intellectual dwarfs steer clear of the thread

Masomo ni tamu msee. Wewe ulikimbilia whatever your parents ama guardians pointed you to.

:cool::cool:

This is new @ UoN? Hasn’t this been the norm in JKUAT since time immemorial?

Same as the rest. You have to publish your Masters research before graduation.

Na Watu wa MKU watafanyaje? free style and the market still accommodate them

Endeni Gretsa ama Kiriri university

Endeleeni na PHD zenu pole pole saa zile maboy wanahack systems na kugrab mashamba:D:D:D.
Siwezi rudi kufanya hizo hata kidogo instead what i did was to specialize in a certain area which involves a lot of trips abroad.
My two cents.

do they dictate where you can or where you cannot publish because there are some thirdrate journals with no credibility at all. anyway this has been the norm in Egerton too so it seems that the UON is just playing catchup. JKUAT issues dont even mention