So the cost of inputs was raised to punish kalejingas? And you actually had the temerity to post this rubbish and you dare me to point out your stupidity? Maajabu.
Hii kitu iko several levels above your understanding. Maize is Kenya’s staple food. A normal government is expected to give incentives to farmers in the growing areas to guarantee surplus production. One of the ways to do this is subsidizing inputs. Munya and Mlevi1 were blinded by hate and left farmers to their own devices. Karma naye halali. Unga shot up to 250 bob and contributed massively in ferking him and his project proper. Boy, wasn’t that sweet! Najua hapo ndio inakuuma zaidi @Straw man
I know JSKS will not let the price of a bag of maize be below 5,500/- to please his kinsmen and make them recoup their money. However, unga will drop too. Something every baboon cow doesn’t want to happen. Bado kuna kilio mbele my zebu friend
It was STUPID to remove subsidy without a clear PLAN in mind for both the SHORT TERM and the long term.
Now people are forced to stay hungry as a result of diminished buying power.
The Shilling pia inapigwa ma-uppercut na Greenback hata nikifikiria mafuta yatarajiwa kuongezeka bei nachoka tayari.
I disagree. Mlevi1 gave a subsidy 2 weeks to 9th August, and even then unga largely remained over 200 bob per 2kgs. The height of incompetence! Even Munya admitted millers were pocketing subsidy funds without lowering the price of the final product as was the intention. It was extremely stupid not to employ CSs with foresight and who would’ve ensured Mlevi1 had an easy time during campaigns. You could see punda Munya looking as bamboozled at the high price of unga as mwananchi wa kawaida.
The subsidy was there to cushion the mwananchi, I know of several supermarkets that offered at the said price but limited the amount that an individual could buy.
If the issue is millers, why can’t Nabii engage them to find a solution? Ignoring millers(and industrialists at large) when making policies will undo him and only hurt the citizens more.
What do you propose that he can do? Wait out for rains as people hunger?
Up there I’ve given a strategy that will be adopted 97%. Subsidy will be a bit complex. Serikali italalia grenade. Good grain pricing by NCPB (Both maize and wheat). Millers will buy from NCPB at subsidized price, which in turn will lead to low pricing at consumer level. That is guaranteed because millers will not come up with ukora as they did with mlevi1. JSKS is hands on. Win-win for everyone.
Hii kitu imeuma sana zebu za baboon akina @Straw man
I’m afraid that Nabii is going through a very long route in arriving at solutions. Most of the country is still waiting for rains, we are staring at a shortfall of a couple of million bags in maize(in optimum case) even with the intervention of fertilizer.
We should be prioritizing irrigation. The money to be used for CASs and Hustler fund can be done away with and start from there. PPP is also good.
I just pity the mwananchi that can’t afford basic needs as a result of government ineptitude.
Unless the cartels are dealt with at every stage of food production and distribution, the kilio will still be there even if deputy jesus goes to Canaan and returns to Sukoi.