UN Jobs

I’ve done 37 applications on inspira …zero interviews.

So late last month, i did an application to one of the UN agencies where hence the deadline was 3rd february. Last weekend i learnt that they had already interviewed and selected their future employee.

Note, thats less than a month since the deadline. Too fast, so uncharacteristic for UN

Been told that UN is very tribal nikadinda, Leo hii nakubali kinywa wazi. Hii kitu imeniuma tangu weekend hata hakuna job ingine nimeapply. Little wonder that some agencies are dominated by one tribe.

I even apply for the least of jobs in my profession butttt …Zeeeeeeeeeeero interviews

Cursed be the United Nations, and all its offsprings, its agencies and anyone else on it.

Usiwalaani, ukipata shukuru ukikosa yakubali matokeo…

Before a position is announced …offcourse some pple in the UN have recommendations be it friends/relatives .So the Hiring manager is presented with weak CVs n a strong CV for the person(s) to b connected.Eventually they get the job, however sme positions are pure on merit ama unaangukia…like Field Assistant positions, ukiingia huko then unajisort.

@Purr_27 what’s the lowest pay btw?

My favorite is to apply for these junior positions irrespective of the salo …sijaitwa interview. Yaani nmeamini UN ni chafu mbaya. I talked to a buddy who applied for a bigger position in the agency with the same deadline date akanishow hata the area boss was sayin the place has been taken over by a certain tribe anafeel ni ka ako pekee yake.

Nway, God knows best, his decisions; supreme

It seems you are the type that waits to apply on the last day of the deadline… most organizations begin shortlisting as soon as they start receiving applications and complete the shortlists way before the deadline.

In addition most guys just submit drab CVs and expect the recruiters will mine for information… Boss a single advert could draw north of 400 applications, so your CV must stand out. Talk of achievements & accomplishments and not roles & duties. These days people even engage experts to write their CVs

Pia hii ufala ya kuPDF CV… most HR departments use HR programs to rip/capture the information that stands out from your CV and when you PDF its harder to lift the information

However you can never rule out favouritism in all forms of recruitment.

Ni hayo tu

That salo ni ya UNVs (United Nations Volunteers)

In my knowledge, you can be a UNV for a maximum of four years then they leave u. Its contractual

Am not sure…never worked there tried enough times to get in through friends n relas. Bt sme positions can be from 60k net with benefits going upwards.

Sme pal I know started at T.I nw at UNSomalia gets 800k net, graduated in 2012 hapo.

I never known its wrong to send in PDF …i like doing so ndio HR wa huko asiedit my CV asetti mtu wake

kumbe i was wrong

Yes wanted the volunteer position, lakini was told lazima niwe 25 although a had a Godfather then.Try Gtz, NRC, FAO,UNHCR ni mob

On point. By the way for most jobs there is always a candidate pre-selected. Interviews are just for formalities.

You are right…sme P1 forms have to be in pdf format
.No?

Hio nayo ni uongo…UONGO!

nime.smyl tu

niko na list nime.paste on my comp CPU ya orgz to look out for …na zote umemention ziko hapo.

Plus, nmeget hizi sites kuwa poa:
[ol]
[li]interagency working group[/li][li]reliefweb[/li][li]unjobs list[/li][/ol]

You have a point there…I keep telling people the same thing. Most have just that one CV that they keep on sending without changing anything…and they wonder why the never get called for any interview

Actually you are right…always send a CV in PDF…otherwise it can get hijacked just like you have said…achana na vile watu wanasema

No, it can really be true

I used to work with a UN guy, mtu kawaida tu …m.humble then after contract yake kuisha naskia the guy was bagging 350K

mtu kawaida, project ndogo

Inspira does not request for a P1 form …some agencies dont also ask for it. Or i should include it irrespective?

:D:D:D:D:D… I also used to PDF all my applications, however I was advised against it by a HR expert. In most o these publicly advertised positions the applications are very many and some are utterly hopeless as anybody can apply, to get to the serious applications they use HR programs to capture key words like Experience, achievements, graduation, skills, university and so I heard that MS word is easier to capture from than PDF.

However for proposals and tenders I always PDF. Huwezi aachia wakenya proposal bwana!

Haiya mr know it all…kwani 8,000 USD ni ngapi. This guy is actually younger than me…pple are very humble utashangaa…