Uhuru Presurizing TObiko to Prosecute the Auditor General

Director of Public Prosecutions Keriako Tobiko has blown the whistle against attempts to unduly influence his decision on whether to prosecute Auditor General Edward Ouko.

Mr Tobiko yesterday revealed to The Standard on Saturday “sinister and mischievous” attempts to coerce him to make a decision on prosecuting the AG over alleged Sh100 million worth of procurement irregularities.

The DPP now says he cannot appreciate the “sudden urgency” of the matter given that it had been investigated for three years. He said the magnitude of the investigations would require more thorough approach.

The Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) handed over two box-files to his office on January 3 for him to make the ultimate decision.

On Thursday, and before he could make the decision, Martin Nkari, an activist with the International Policy Group, filed a petition in Parliament to take up the issue claiming the DPP “had failed to givesatisfactory response” on the matter.

“I find it rather strange that an extreme wave of urgency has been imposed on this matter when the same was not there since 2014 when it was taken up by investigators,” noted Tobiko.

He said his three deputies have been scouring through the evidence to enable him make an informed decision.

“I find it rather contradictory that people would want the DPP to simply gloss over the investigations on a matter of such a magnitude in temporal scope as well as expansiveness of the investigations,” he bemoaned.

By the time the petition was lodged in Parliament, the DPP says he was about to make a decision. But he reiterated that he would not allow himself to be intimidated.

Unseen hand

The DPP further stated that the insinuation created in the petition that he was “sitting on the file” was most unfortunate and misinformed.

He said he was not interested in the reasons why people want him to get over the matter. “I am not interested in those games. What matters to me is that I have a constitutional duty to perform and I will do just that,” he said.

And as Tobiko was reading the riot act to those hankering for his decision, Ouko on the other hand claimed of “unseen hand” which has been firing on all cylinders to intimidate him for delivering his mandate.

He claimed the unseen hand (implicitly Government) was using “unorthodox means, including the EACC” to bully him to slow down on his work.

Ouko said the same audit vault software for which EACC recommended that he be prosecuted had produced immense results for the Kenya National Audit Office which he leads.

He specifically credited the system with netting more controversial and dubious NYS payments which they had been unable to figure out.

The Standard on Saturday has also established that upcoming audit reports in a decisive election year are at the centre of the renewed pressure against the Auditor.

When we put this to the Auditor General, he feigned ignorance: “My guess is as good as yours. The point is, the things I am being accused of are purely administrative matters and I have nothing to do with them.”

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/mobile/article/2001228181/i-m-under-pressure-to-prosecute-auditor-general-says-keriako-tobiko

Hizo box walipeleka kabla Wabukhala aingie . hizi cartel zitapeleka wabukala home

Alafu kabura na waiguru wanaendelea kucat walk huku nje…

I feel sorry for Ouko, It was Steven Kinuthia, the deputy AG who was responsible for that particular procurement ireegularity but as usual Ouko will take the ultimate blame, as should all chief executive officers when their juniors err.

standard nowdays imekua fit kufunga nyama tu

Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Keriako Tobiko has cleared Auditor General Edward Ouko and recommended prosecution of deputy auditor Stephen Kinuthia over fraud and corruption.

The EACC had recommended abuse of office charges against the Auditor General for engaging in irregular procurement of audit vault software without prior planning.

The anti-graft agency had also recommended abuse of office charges against Deputy Auditor General (corporate services) Stephen Kinuthia due to willful failure to comply with the law relating to procurement, acquisition of proceeds of crime and dealing with suspect property.

Kinuthia is also facing corruption charges for corruptly giving a benefit of Sh500, 000 to Charles Gichobi (sales executive of Oracle) and acquisition of proceeds of crime (Sh27 million).

The EACC investigations were triggered by a letter from PS National Treasury dated 8th April 2014 forwarding anonymous complaints raising several allegations against the office of the Auditor General

Hii kitu hunikula sana

How dare he expose waste and theft ! Lock that criminal up.

I don’t like that Tombwako fucker…all this investigations into akina waiguru and he is still yet to do anything note worthy. AG ouko is another softie looking kind of person but never let looks fool you. These institutions have failed us.

Ouko has consistently performed his job. When he has caught the politicians with their hands in the cookie jar, they never have a logical defense. Usually they claim I was not consulted … blah blah blah. And he has very limited resources. How he does it is amazing. I put him same league as Matiangi, Opus Dei etc. In Kenya, the hunter always becomes the hunted.

Baado mangiti, waiguru, and wamagunia/kafura are still roaming free .it really bothers logic reasoning people

I agree. The floflem is you try Waiguru you are opening a can of worms. He will become the hunted.

Hapa the Judiciary is squarely to blame, these cases should be concluded in 6 moths, last week the CJ released a report which reveals the biggest bulk of cases in court are petty offenses, the important cases get adjourned until we forget about them.

The weakest link though is the DCI, those shoddy investigations they do are intentionally bungled and we will never solve important cases if the DCI is completely purged and the top hierarchy.is replaced with patriotic dedicated Kenyans like Ouko. Dont expect that anytime soon, the political class would like the status quo to remain unchanged.

Tibiko should do the necessary and stop running his mouth, every case of corruption should concluded within the shortest time possible

All this is true but question is, why would that hidden hand push for the prosecution of the auditor general but not push for the prosecution of Kabura and her associates despite Kabura admitting on national television that she took part in plunder?

There

There is no hidden hand. We all know who it is. All this jargon " orders from above", “hidden agenda”, "superior ",etc ect must go

Kabura and Gethi have already been charged, how dont you know that?? They have been using all manner of tricks to keep the case going in circles just like the Akashas and in this case we cannot extradite them to a Judiciary that is willing to get the job done, blame Mutunga and Maraga.

funny, i don’t remember ouko fingering the NYS scam…