Uhuru has NAILED IT.

Stop consumption of crack cocaine tafathare

Totally lie upuzi

Huwezi saidia binadamu. Even during kibakis time they were saying the 6% growth was useless because “it didnt translate to more money in peoples pockets”, and that Moi was even better because he used to dish out cash to wananchi unlike kibaki who was mkono gum. Binadamu bure kabisa.

You must be a very small boy to post this nonsense. Play with your toys when men are discussing serious issues.

That is neither here nor there, many public servants were retrenched to much suffering as a condition to get any form of aid or loans

Kibaki didn’t really like poor people. That one I agree but what Kibaki did was maintain a favourable business environment & create a new wealth class. If you ask around, a lot of people who were already in business during Nyayo era omokad nicely during Kibaki’s term because their businesses grew in leaps & bound & their efforts paid off. Nyayo’s only strong point was that he didn’t burden us with debt so it was easier to rebuild. I can’t say the same for Uhuru.

The all economy is structured to favor FDI. The infrastructure is designed to attract foreign investment’s. The rest of you can go kiss the parasitic owners of capitalism. Nobody gives shyte bout you.

Foreign investment is only as good as a county’s stability. FDI can easily go away due to post election violence. That hustler-dynasty talk can bring issues down the road.

How is FDI going to be beneficial to us wananchi if we have no factories to make even the simplest trinkets unaskia zinaundwa juakali huko far east. They just opened up the countryside for colonial misadventures 2.0 where they will just bribe the big goon seated in KaNairo then strip mine your beautiful land and leave you to your misery once the land is a moonscape. Check out DRC

Fucked up

Kenya’s economic growth was literally on the run…
BACKWARDS.

Economists are actually debating whether we should continue using GDP as a measure of economic development. I attended a session where Prof Joseph Stiglitz did a presentation on that. Our lecturer, Prof Sambili, former CBK Deputy Governor actually phased it out and didn’t use it.

Coz what many don’t know is that GDP is just the overall national income/ output. Basically the total goods and services produced in an economy. Ceteris paribus, a growth in GDP would mean more money being spent on projects to spur economic development, but that is normally not the case. The money being “spent” on these white elephants could actually have ended up in politician’s pockets e.g Kimwarer and Aror etc. It could also be ending up in the pockets of some small wealthy elite thus majority of the people do not feel or benefit from the “spending”.

Thus economic growth could bypass the poorest sections of society because they don’t have the ability to take part in the “eating”. The key issue here is whether the benefits of GDP/ economic growth are equitably distributed amongst different groups of society. In the Kenyan case, it’s not. Unemployment is skyrocketing, businesses being auctioned.

And like you’ve said, the spending is even on borrowed money. The biggest spending went into SGR which is not viable to start with. It’s bringing nothing coz the proceeds go to pay the debt in the first place.

God bless you!

If Moi had the ability to borrow like UhuRuto, I don’t think his numbers would be where they were when he left

He didn’t have the ability to borrow because he ran the economy into the toilet. Kenya had a shit credit rating, we couldn’t just receive loans fwaaa from the IMF and WB. That’s why those institutions demanded that Moi initiate painful austerity measures before receiving funding. UhuRuto can borrow left right and centre because Kibaki significantly improved revenue collection and the country’s credit rating.

Can you eat GDP? Can the ordinary businessperson feel this growth?

A country should have a means to transport goods and people. Thus a country must invest in roads, railways, airports and seaports, irrespective of whether they make money or not. Just the way the govt maintains roads in your village even though you spend the whole day drinking busaa and the rural road “brings nothing”.

What are we transporting? Shouldn’t the government have produced first? I remember people used to say Nyayo had built good tarmac roads in Rift Valley for goats to sleep on. The government priorities are wrong. The focus should be on producing - create jobs, ensure the labour is utilised then transport the things they’ve produced. SGR has not created jobs, there’s no new economic activity it created.

The economy has grown, those that dont think so base it on personal experience and emotions but overall it has. Middle class is larger and the country exports more. So what is the argument, that we should not have built SGR, we should have continued suffering on Mombasa road, because it was not supposed to be expanded too. Expansion of Mombasa port, New airports, outer ring, waiyaki way, southern bypass, upper hill , western , Nakuru overpass and many other new roads, electricity supply improvement e.t.c those should not have been built? New likoni bridge,BRT, Lamu port should be shelved because it wont bring food to mama mboga. The naysayers are enjoying fruits of growth but take it for granted because its there.
Granted, Uhuru should have given more attention to small business but I think people ignore the negative effects of devolution - more taxes to small business. by counties and national govt trying to get money to send to them. Therefore we dont know how Kibaki would have handled it diffrently.

That is exactly why we are complaining. We want feel the economic growth not hear it from central bank