Uefa president

Aleksander Ceferin has been elected as the new president of Uefa, European football’s governing body.

Ceferin, head of the Football Association of Slovenia, polled 42 votes at Uefa’s congress in Athens, 29 more than Dutchman Michael van Praag.Ceferin will take on the remainder of Platini’s term of office, until 2019.