UDA Breaking News...

[SIZE=7]West Pokot: Bodaboda riders stage demo over unpaid dues after escorting DP Ruto[/SIZE]

27 Jan, 2022

Hundreds of Boda Boda riders in West Pokot county on Wednesday staged a peaceful demonstration over alleged unpaid dues for escorting Deputy President William Ruto during his visit to the county.

Ruto visited the county last week on Friday 21, 2022 for his bottom-up campaigns.

The riders who expressed their disappointment have faulted the United Democratic Alliance [UDA] party leaders and aspirants for shortchanging them.

[ATTACH=full]413383[/ATTACH]
Bodaboda riders during a peaceful protest demanding their dues for escorting DP Ruto during his visit in West Pokot.

They demonstrated in Chepareria town carrying twigs and placards and threatened to move to court to seek legal redress over the matter. They are now calling on the DP to intervene in the matter or risk losing votes from the County.

Led by the West Pokot Bodaboda riders Chairperson Moses Loitasiwa, the riders claim that they are aware that DP Ruto gave out the money but they have not been paid.

Loitasiwa alleged a total of Ksh4million was given out to the four constituencies, one million to each constituency but those in Pokot South did not receive the cash.

“We welcomed the DP in every meeting he did in the four constituencies. We bodaboda riders from Chepareria don’t want to be misused by politicians. We want the DP to tell those aspirants to give us our money,” Loitasiwa stated.

Chepareria Bodaboda Deputy Chairperson Dennis Ripis explained that they had a lot of expectations that DP Ruto failed to meet.

However, UDA youth leader in the county Rajab Chombus rubbished the claims saying the group is being used by Pokot South MP David Pkosing who is in Azimio la Umoja political outfit.

“No one gave them the job to escort the DP as he flew and didn’t use the vehicle which could be escorted. No one ate their money. They are playing politics,” he claimed.

https://www.k24tv.co.ke/news/west-pokot-bodaboda-riders-stage-demo-over-unpaid-dues-after-escorting-dp-ruto-56437/?fbclid=IwAR3OFPXrVT9EmWNp0OZ7__59f3BVkqgJYpCQPFIG5zBhq64MW6VOaBjhgeA

Meanwhile…

Ruto’s home senator from Uasin Gishu, Margaret Kamar, on Thursday, January 27, officially joined Azimio la Umoja.

[ATTACH=full]413386[/ATTACH]
Uashi Gishu Senator Margaret Kamar, former Aldai MP Sally Kosgey, former Inspector General David Kimaiyo
and Gender CAS Linah Chebii Kilimo joins Raila Odinga’s Azimio La Umoja on Thursday, January 27, 2022.

The Senator led other political heavyweights from the Rift Valley region to support Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) leader Raila Odinga’s presidential bid.

Kamar’s delegation included former Cabinet Minister and powerful head of public service Sally Kosgey, former Inspector General of Police David Kimaiyo and Gender CAS Linah Chebii Kilimo in supporting Raila.

https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_inner_mobile/public/images/media/Kamar%20Margaret%20Chepkoech%20(Uasin%20Gishu).jpg?itok=Xawd7jqy
Uasin Gishu Senaor Kamar Margaret Chepkoech.

The leaders were received by Raila and accompanied by Nakuru Governor Lee Kinyanjui and former Internal Security Assistant Minister Stephen Tarus who is a vocal critic of the DP.

At the same time allies of Amani National Congress (ANC) Musalia Mudavadi who do not agree with his decision to join forces with DP Ruto were also received by Odinga at Chungwa house by Raila.

Odinga received the ANC defectors from Mudavadi’s political party majorly from Kakamega County.

[B]DP Ruto has lost key allies who are looking to make an impact in the August polls.

A silent campaign had been mounted by the former strongmen in former President Daniel Arap Moi’s government to loosen the DP hold in Rift Valley.[/B]

In October, Tarus launched scathing attacks against the Deputy President accusing him of contributing to the Rift Valley region’s woes.

Speaking during Raila Odinga’s Azimio la Umoja Rift Valley tour, Tarus stated the people of Rift Valley had long been oppressed.

The former Assistant Minister, who served as Kenya’s High Commissioner to Australia between 2009 and 2012 during former President Mwai Kibaki’s government, accused DP Ruto of killing the region’s economy.

“First of all, I would like to thank the right Honorable Prime Minister for finding this rare opportunity to meet the oppressed people of Rift Valley,” he stated.

[ATTACH=full]413384[/ATTACH]
Odinga and Former Internal Security Assistant Minister, Stephen Tarus

He maintained that DP Ruto has destroyed the region’s economy by refusing to pay farmers and taking money from cereals.

“I am stating the oppressed people, without fear, without doubt, because when you kill a people’s economy, you have only one interest, to oppress them. When you refuse to pay farmers and you take all the money from cereals, you have only one objective; to kill them,” he asserted.

He further faulted the DP for selectively appointing people in government and destroying the careers of great men and women in the region.

“When you selectively appoint people in government and destroy careers of great men and women, and I have in mind people like Sally Kosgei who is supposed to be serving in government as at now,” he stated.

He termed DP Ruto’s party as one that attracts eaters expressing his confidence in Odinga’s party as one that reforms.

[MEDIA=twitter]1486696757941710850[/MEDIA]

[ATTACH=full]413419[/ATTACH]

[MEDIA=twitter]1486741090011164676[/MEDIA]

[MEDIA=twitter]1486497497476472832[/MEDIA]

Umeffi thread.

Deputy President, Willam Ruto, on Friday, January 28, unveiled Central Organization of Trade Unions (COTU) boss Francis Atwoli’s wife as a member of the United Democratic Alliance (UDA).

While addressing a crowd in Bungoma, Ruto handed the microphone to Atwoli’s second wife, Rosalinda Simiyu, and asked her to introduce herself.

However, the DP also seized the moment to also take a swipe at his perennial rival, one whom they have traded barbs in public for years.

Huyu ni bibi ya ule jamaa wa nyororo (She is the wife of that guy who loves wearing chains),” Ruto trolled Atwoli who is famous for adoring jewellery and living a lavish lifestyle.

Rosalinda Simiyu.

Rosalinda acknowledged that she is indeed Atwoli’s wife and revealed that she is supporting Ruto’s presidential bid.

“My name is Rosalinda Simiyu. My husband is known as Francis Atwoli. I am inside the hustler movement,” she remarked.

Rosalinda’s announcement caught many people’s surprise since Ruto and Atwoli do not see eye to eye.

The COTU boss has on several occasions stated that the UDA leader will not be Kenya’s 5th president and vowed to campaign against him.

On August 8, 2021, Atwoli warned Kenyans against voting for Ruto, who is seeking to succeed President Uhuru Kenyatta, claiming that the DP lacked the integrity required to lead the country and that all odds were against him.

He also asked Kenyans to support Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) leader Raila Odinga’s bid to unite the nation ahead of next year’s elections.
"I beseech Kenyans to stop gambling at political odds. Ruto won’t make it. I am not seeing how,” he stated.

Atwoli has many children and three known wives, Jenifer Atwoli, Rosalinda Simiyu, and Mary Kilobi, a KTN News anchor.

[ATTACH=full]413646[/ATTACH]

Central Organization of Trade Unions (COTU) secretary-general Francis Atwoli claimed that his estranged wife Roselinda Simiyu has always been an ally of Deputy President William Ruto.

According to a post on his Twitter account, Atwoli claimed that Roselinda formed an alliance with DP Ruto in 2007 after she was unveiled as a UDA candidate on Friday, January 28 at a rally in Bungoma County.

In a scathing attack, Atwoli stated that he did not consider Roselinda as one of his relatives although the two sired children.

"Roselinda was surrendered to William Ruto in 2007 in his Eldoret townhouse. She is no longer on the list of my relatives.

“Ruto can now add her, free of charge, to his two recently acquired bearded wives (Mudavadi and Wetangula) to have three wives from Western. Western Kenya is in Azimio,” the Cotu boss stated.

He went on to castigate ANC leader Musalia Mudavadi and Ford Kenya counterpart Moses Wetangula as part of the people who had betrayed him by joining forces with DP Ruto.’

[MEDIA=twitter]1486990008493957120[/MEDIA]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6AJuIDbyOSI

[MEDIA=twitter]1487055884333330435[/MEDIA]

More UDA Drama:

Nairobi Senator, Johnson Sakaja and gubernatorial aspirant Bishop Margaret Wanjiru were involved in a verbal altercation at a rally in Westlands.

The two leaders who are set to contest against each other for Nairobi Governor’s seat were embroiled in a battle to address the constituents.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IhIxfKg--5Q

Sakaja, who was reportedly tasked with introducing aspirants and elected leaders from Nairobi, asked them to speak briefly but Wanjiru prolonged her speech forcing him to interrupt her.

Wanjiru, who was irked by the decision, was captured in a heated exchange with the Senator before she disembarked from the vehicle which acted as a podium.

Residents supporting both camps jeered each other, but Sakaja acted swiftly to restore calm before the rally proceeded as planned.

Both leaders are hoping to gain the support of Mudavadi, the Amani National Congress party leader, and Deputy President William Ruto of the United Democratic Alliance (UDA).

[ATTACH=full]415778[/ATTACH]

Kihika and Ichungwa on each other’s throat over Mwizi wa Sugoi… :D:D:D

[MEDIA=twitter]1494907869858353152[/MEDIA]

[MEDIA=twitter]1495059926091190273[/MEDIA]

Okuyus should know they are guests in UDA. Lakini in Azimio huko ni home.

Anthony Kibagendi, the secretary of youth affairs in the Office of Deputy President William Ruto, has resigned from the United Democratic Alliance (UDA).
In a statement issued on Saturday, February 19, Kibagendi noted that he was yet to join another faction or associate himself with another political party. He added that he would detail his reasons for decamping from DP Ruto’s party later in another statement.
“Yes, I have resigned from UDA, I have not joined any Party or association, I will give my reasons tomorrow,” he stated.

https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_inner_mobile/public/images/media/Capture_446.JPG?itok=nJfzdORP
Anthony Kibagendi (left) alongside Deputy President William Ruto

There were reports alleging that the politician recently had an confrontation with a vocal lawmaker from Kisii on a Whatsapp group that saw the two exchange insults.

Kibagendi assumed the role in the DP’s office in August 2018 and has been at the helm for three years and seven months.

Previously, he engaged in several businesses primarily at Westwood Security Services Limited as a director of Operations for eight years.

Kibagendi’s exit from UDA came barely hours after Turkana Senator[B] Imana Malachy[/B] left the party. The Senator on Saturday, February 19, was received by Azimio movement proponents, Defence Cabinet Secretary Eugene Wamalwa and his Petroleum counterpart John Munyes in Lodwar.

Mumias East MP Benjamin Washiali, a strong ally of Ruto has also recently withdrawn from elective politics.

[SIZE=7]Rowdy Youth Corner UDA MP, Demand Handouts[/SIZE]
[li]By MUMBI MUTUKO on 25 February 2022 - 5:21 pm[/li]
https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_style_mobile/public/images/media/205467993_206555238026625_3359045828994081430_n.jpg?itok=cFRGiHMY
UDA supporters during campaigns in Kiambaa Constituency
[/ul]
A rowdy crowd cornered Emgwen Member of Parliament and Nandi senatorial aspirant Alex Kosgei during a campaign rally on Friday, February 25.

The MP’s rally in Nandi County was momentarily disrupted as the youth demanded handouts and chanted songs.

Kosgei was forced to plead with the gathering and his community to give him a chance to speak but his efforts were in vain.

He further appealed to them that he is their son and they shouldn’t chase him away from the rally.

https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_inner_mobile/public/images/media/Emgwen%20Member%20of%20Parliament%20and%20Nandi%20senatorial%20hopeful%20Alex%20Kosgei%20%201.jpg?itok=R6NkR0gN
Emgwen Member of Parliament and Nandi senatorial hopeful Alex Kosgei

"Even if I don’t have money, at the end of the day I am yours and I haven’t wronged you. I am pleading with you not to insult me.

“I know there are people who have money and I am telling you I am home. I am humbly asking you to please exercise peace and love among others. Let us not fight or quarrel because of politics. Even if I don’t get votes I will still be a son of this community,” Kosgei stated.

He reiterated that he was on a mission to listen to the county residents and encourage people to foster peace ahead of the August 9 polls.

Notably, his supporters who were among the crowd cheered him on to counter the rowdy youth.

Last week, Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung’wah was caught in a crossfire after he was heckled for trying to attack Lari MP Jonah Mburu in Kiambu County.
Ichung’wah digressed to talk about MP Mburu in an apparent attempt to disparage him for supporting Azimio la Umoja.

In September 2021, Presidential hopeful Jimi Wanjigi’s convoy was pelted with stones in Migori County. A few months later, Deputy President William Ruto’s convoy was also stoned in Kisumu County.

The National Police Service (NPS), the National Cohesion and Integration Commission (NCIC) have constantly urged politicians to exercise restraint and avoid making remarks bordering on hate speech and incitement.

Politicians have also spoken out against their colleagues and reiterated the need to preach peace in the 2022 succession race.

https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_inner_mobile/public/images/media/Wanjigi%20stones.JPG?itok=Whi9v_Xy
Jimi Wanjigi evading stones pelted at his motorcade

The ODM politician, who is challenging Raila Odinga for the party presidential ticket, was forced to cut short his speech and speed out of Migori town on day two of his Nyanza tour. His meeting was aborted after a section of delegates accused him of disrespecting the party leader, Raila Odinga. Addressing residents while in his motorcade, Wanjigi was met with jeers and heckling from a rowdy group that started hurling stones at him.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vbHzACK-UcY:3

Meanwhile, Ruto’s rally in Kitui County was marred with drama after a woman publicly lectured the DP over a failed cash promise.

While addressing the rally, the woman who identified herself as a grassroots leader, stated that various business groups in the area did not receive money that was promised at an earlier event. She added that they would not listen to Ruto unless the pledge was fulfilled.
"I want to address two issues. One is about the money that was promised to the Saccos in Zombe which was not delivered.
“Our women also went to Zombe and they did not get a share of the money. I want to tell you to give out that money to our leaders right now,” she stated.

[ATTACH=full]421256[/ATTACH]
In an unusual move, the grassroots leader further campaigned for Former Prime Minister Raila Odinga’s Azimio La Umoja declaring her support for Ruto’s rival.
“We want that money here so that the groups can receive their share before you address your issues. Finally, I want to say that I am in Azimio.” she declared.

However, her sentiments did not sit well with some of the people at the rally as a section of the Kenya Kwanza supporters attempted to bar her from addressing the congregants.

Afterward, Ruto took over the microphone assuring the woman that he would look into the issues she had raised.

He directed the affected groups to meet with their area leaders to discuss the issues.
“I want to thank you for welcoming us here. We love you so much. It is okay for the lady to raise her issues and we shall look into them and rectify them where possible. I am here. Is there any other problem?..I hope we are in agreement. The groups should also meet with their leaders to sort out the grievances,” he stated.

At a rally in Vihiga County on February 6, the DP revealed that he stopped making donations to groups and churches as the law prevents politicians from engaging in Harambees months before elections.

The days when Sugoi Thief was still warming hearts…:D:D:D BUT: Does he practice what he preaches…? :rolleyes:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=08htLqgoCU8:74

[ATTACH=full]421502[/ATTACH]
He was given 450k by UDA to mobilise people for William Ruto’s rally.
He disappeared with the money but he was tracked down and now his badly mutilated body has been discovered.
Pliz Don’t joke with UDA’s money. You may pay with your life. Just be careful.

[ATTACH=full]421928[/ATTACH]

[SIZE=7]Court dismisses Waititu’s petition against his removal as governor[/SIZE]
Monday, February 28, 2022

Former Kiambu governor Ferdinand Waititu has lost a bid to have the High Court reverse his impeachment, a move that could test the politician’s ambitions to run for Nairobi governor in August.

Justices George Dulu, Grace Nzioka and Wilfrida Okwany on Thursday unanimously ruled that the Kiambu County Assembly and the Senate followed due procedure in approving Mr Waititu’s impeachment.

[ATTACH=full]421964[/ATTACH]

Mr Waititu had claimed that after the Kiambu County Assembly proposed that he be removed from office, the Senate deliberated the motion outside the seven-day window stated in the Constitution.

He also accused the county assembly of failing to submit its impeachment decision within the two-day window stated in the Constitution.
The Kiambu County Assembly rendered its decision on December 19, 2019 and passed it on to the Senate on December 23, 2019.
[SIZE=6]Final determination[/SIZE]
Under Kenyan law, the Senate had seven days to reach a final determination after hearing from all parties.
Mr Waititu’s impeachment was deliberated on between January 28 and 29, 2020, which was nearly a month after the Kiambu County Assembly’s decision.
Justices Dulu, Nzioka and Okwany have now ruled that computation of the timelines was not set in black and white as weekends and times that the legislating houses were on recess should have been exempted from the count.
The judges ruled that December 19, 2019, when the impeachment was proposed by the county assembly, is exempted from the two-day count as it was a Friday, and the next two days were also out of the count.
This means that the County Assembly had until December 23, 2019 to forward its impeachment proposal to the Senate.
The Senate on its part was allowed to skip its recess period in the seven-day deadline.

[SIZE=6]Special sittings[/SIZE]
As the Senate was on recess starting December 6, 2019 to February 10, 2020, Mr Waititu’s impeachment proposal was deliberated on during special sittings.
“In our view, the period of the recess is exempt from computation of time. We therefore find that from the uncontested chronology of events before the Senate from December 23, 2019 when it received the Kiambu County Assembly’s resolution on impeachment to January 29, 2020 when it voted to impeach Mr Waititu, the time taken to deal with the matter was necessary and reasonable in the circumstances and within the set timelines,” the judges ruled.
Mr Waititu filed the High Court petition alongside Kiambu Township MCA Antony Ikonya Mwaniki.
[SIZE=6]No public participation[/SIZE]
The former governor argued that aside from the alleged timeline hitch, he was denied a chance to be heard before the county assembly, and that there was no public participation on his removal from office.
He added that there was no quorum in the county assembly. Under the Constitution, the first step for removal of a governor from office is a two-third vote in the county assembly.
Mr Waititu claimed that only 57 MCAs consented to his removal, yet a two-thirds vote would require 62 legislators.
But the county assembly insisted that 64 MCAs voted for Mr Waititu’s removal.
Justices Dulu, Nzioka and Okwany held that Mr Waititu did not prove the allegation that there was no quorum.
“We have considered the arguments on the issue of quorum and find that there is no dispute that the requisite quorum to pass a valid resolution on a special motion by the assembly is two-thirds of its membership. The bone of contention is whether the 62 number threshold was met. We find that the burden of proving that the number threshold was not met rested on the petitioners going by the adage “he who alleges must prove”, the judges said.

Following Mr Waititu’s removal, his deputy James Nyoro was sworn into office.
[SIZE=6]Integrity[/SIZE]
The High Court decision could dent Mr Waititu’s plans to run for the Nairobi gubernatorial seat in the August General Election.
Legal and governance experts have warned that Mr Waititu’s impeachment run him afoul of Chapter Six of the Constitution, which requires public officers to be of high integrity, but the politician has insisted that he will be on the ballot.
Despite being declared unfit to hold public office by the High Court in 2014, Mr Waititu successfully contested for a vacancy in the National Assembly following the death of former Kabete MP George Muchai.
He served as Kiambu governor between August 2017 and January 2020.

[email protected]

[MEDIA=twitter]1496922169271472155[/MEDIA]