Uber Eats driver cries after getting 84p tip asking 'how am I supposed to survive?'

A man has gone viral on social media after sharing a heartbreaking video about the reality of working as a food delivery driver after being tipped just 84p by a customer.
An Uber Eats worker has urged people to tip delivery drivers more if they can afford to after driving for an hour, only to receive a $1.19 (84p) from a customer.
In a powerful video shared to TikTok, Smithson Michael who posts under the name @deliveryguy100, cried as he explained his experience of working for food delivery companies in the US such as Uber Eats and DoorDash. Sitting in his car, he wipes a tear away as he talks to the camera, saying: "I wish people knew what it was like to deliver Uber Eats, Postmates, DoorDash, all these companies. "I just spent an hour driving around for $1.19 tip. I mean would it hurt y’all to tip us, throw us five dollars?
[ATTACH=full]368655[/ATTACH]
"I got a $1.19 tip and $2 from the app. What’s that? That’s not even enough to cover gas. "How am I supposed to live like that? “Homeless? I’m there. This and I’m sitting here and it’s gone, four months behind. There’s no way I could pay for that.” He continues: "Everything fell apart on me and I haven’t been able to sustain myself, provide for myself and these are essential services. “I just wish people knew what it was like. I wish they understood what it was like to drive for these services.”
The clip has since been viewed more than one million times on the video-sharing platform, garnering over 209,000 likes and 12,000 comments. Many people sympathised, with one replying: “I scream at people who order food through DoorDash and such DAILY but do not tip!! It is super weird and insulting.”

Take it up with Uber

It’s upto uber to pay their guys properly. Depending on tips is akin to depending on begging

yeah thats what i thought, if he gets his monthly paycheck, why cry over tips, if its little or more. i bet he wont cry if he gets a juicy tip. but binadamu sio kamili, lazima malalamishi !

Why can’t he start selling drugs like other Niggas?

unanivunja mbavuu mzeeee :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Or change jobs?

yeah hapo umesema mheshimiwa, but those jobs that he might do, maybe they arent that plenty, BUT your point is good, aende tafuta job extra au huko si ziko ma part time jobs kibao, he can survive on that, BUT…

Get a real job son. Kuna kazi nyingi sana kule US sijui analia nini huyu. Kazi za uber hufanywa as a side hustle

Shenji :D:D:D

Yer wicked!

Its funny kwa Biden they feel entitled to tips they will ask and even try to shame you for not tipping

Typical mindset of the modern woke generation. Crying for sympathy. Mimi sinanga time ya kuomba mtu kitu. If life gets to an unbearable point najitoa tu roho safi. Id rather die ONCE like a coward than live EVERYDAY being one.

thats the spirit ! mambo za kubembeleza achia mapros walalamishii.

In the US service industry workers garnish their wages with tips because they don’t get paid well. So tipping is expected after every service. It’s considered rude if you don’t do it. Even if the service was nothing special. I always found it quite dumb to push an employer’s shortcomings onto the consumer but when in Rome…

Yea, quite annoying that people have to subsidise stingy employers.
Another annoying quirk about the USA, what’s so hard about adding the VAT to a price so the customer knows exactly what they will pay at the counter?

The income potential and work flexibility associated with driving for ride-sharing platforms like Uber or Lyft can vary significantly depending on various factors such as location, market demand, time commitment, and individual circumstances. While some drivers do indeed make decent to nice incomes, and there may be a few who earn six figures, it’s important to have a realistic understanding of the challenges and considerations involved. I myself am working as a delivery driver and this is less risky than for example an ordinary Uber driver who picks up random people from the street. And yes, the income is pretty good but trust you don’t have time for tv for sure, because you come home to rest and sleep. However, our director is interested in the retention strategy and tries to make everything so his employers, as well as clients, are satisfied. So it really depends on the company.