U.S.-Canada Spat Escalates

I love this president. He runs country like a business.

He has cut back on CSR through weak immigration policies to support his citizens. And naturally, as the biggest customer in the world he is shopping for cheaper deals. Same way when you buy so many things at one shop, your expect discounts or value added service. Ukifika maybe kachai etc

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

What Trump wants for US is simple, to export more than it imports from other nations. simple. Any sane leader would want that for their country.

Sasa mtu akitaka kula githeri kwa kiosk yako kwasababu uko kwake anauza samaki na wewe huli samaki kwani utalazimishwa? These trade wars are a nuisance, the concept of free trade should be entrenched so that anyone in the world can have an opportunity to trade anywhere provided the traded goods and services are up to standard.

It is possible on paper for two trade partners to be equal, but the reality is one will always have an advantage over the other. Someone must draw the short end of the stick. The balance of trade between America and most of her other trading partners is in the US’ favor, why do they get pissed when others also have favorable trade balances?

For the past 3 decades, China has been investing heavily in infrastructure, that’s why they’re doing so well. Their huge investment is paying off. While China was doing this, what was the US up to? America was neglecting her roads, and bridges, and rail network, and education system, instead investing in the military. $700 billion annual military budget is ridiculous, super ridiculous. China with a population of over 1 billion spends less than $200 billion annually on the military, and even this gets the Americans whining about China’s “worrying increase in defense spending”, as if it’s against any law for a country to increase spending on its army. The Joint Strike Fighter program will cost upwards of 1 trillion dollars over its lifetime, and those are conservative estimates. Trump even threatened to shut it down, but the military industrial complex prevailed. Imagine spending 1 trillion dollars on a jet program when the Russians and Chinese can just spend an extra 20 to 50 billion dollars on upgrading their own air defense systems to counter it? It makes no sense at all. This is the kind of stupid wastage that gives America’s rivals the opportunity to get better. The only way for America to become competitive again is to launch a major infrastructure upgrade program, like president Truman and Eisenhower did with the road system. As things stand, there’s no way America can win a trade war against China, Canada, the EU and Mexico, absolutely no way. They can always resort to good 'ol gunboat diplomacy, but that no longer cuts it against heavyweights like China.

Plus, your statement that America gets nothing from the EU, Canada and Mexico is laughable. So why not cut off all trade with them? If someone is just a pest, why engage them in the first place? Congress can just come up with a law requiring every product sold in America to be Made In America, that would easily solve the problem, wouldn’t it?

It won’t matter if Kim Jong Un is pretending to kiss ass or not. At the end of it, Trump will come out looking like a visionary leader and if he makes a deal with North Korea, he will have a high chance of getting re-elected for a 2nd term. Just like Obama killing Osama, making that deal with Kim Jong Un will be Trump’s ace.

I had to google that 1 trillion dollar jet program to believe it. My God, that’s enough to modernize all their infrastructure. That is not corruption its a scandal since its white folks

It’s not like the US consumers do Canada a favor by spending on Canadian goods and services. Ni kusaidiana. Ata hapa Kenya kuna watu hufunga safari mpaka Uganda kununua vitu. Wanaenda huko juu the Ugandans are more affordable. If you do not want Ugandan products, source them from Kenya at a higher cost. So huwezi enda kuambia Mganda vile unamsaidia na yeye pia anakusaidia kusave costs.

kuna free trade na pia kuna fair trade agreement. Keyword TRADE AGREEMENT. Mnasikilizana. RESPECT. Utauza hivi, tutauza hivi. FAIRNESS. Mkiskia mmesukumwa sana those agreements are not cast in stone. You can opt out mtu akae na vitu zake. Or renogotiate.

Kama ni free for all hivo unasema ati kila mtu ajipange, then what happens if tuseme umejenga duka ama unalipa rent nyumba tao alafu mtu siku moja anatokea hapo mbele yako ati ni hawker. Hata yeye ni free trader in a free open market. Halipi rent na anauza hio kitu unauza at half price… hapo panga na fimbo ndio itafanya kazi boss. Juu respect imeisha. China for instance doesn’t care about agreements or copyright or LAWS. Hata hawatumbui law ni word gani kwa dictionary.

Ama mtu akupate hapo unauza spare parts ama electronics huko river road. Aone you are doing well with common prices among all shops. Halafu akuje afungue duka na auze same stock at quarter price… in Nairobi you will be killed for that. For sure.

A govt. in turn should protect its people against dumping. Na ujue China have zero respect. Hata sigara ya BAT wataforge na wakuje wa dump hapo!

Zero respect for copyright. The Chinese monster was built through utter desrespect. Wanaforge kila kitu. Sio vijiko, sio kiatu, sio simu… how do you operate in such an environment?

They have taken over smartphones by force. A whole industry. You kill talent. You kill ingenuity.Things like art suffer as well, music. If America didn’t protect its internal film industry hio ingekufa zamani due to piracy. Lazima kuwe na respect bana. Otherwise it’s all chaos like you see in Kenya. Hata hujui sukari gani ni poison ama ni gani mzuri.

The Joint Strike Fighter program will cost upwards of 1 trillion dollars………………………… To fight Who!..mere mortal men?

That is enough money to transform nations of mankind, it really cannot be for a Joint Strike Fighter program – but rather an interstellar transporter; a flying vimanas of the Sanskrit epics.

[CENTER] Ye Shall Know the Truth, [/CENTER]

[CENTER]And the Truth Shall Set Ye Free;

[ATTACH=full]175225[/ATTACH][/CENTER]

@Adombole hivo unasema ndio policy China wali adopt. Free trade without fairness. Saa hii hata hakuna mtu amewaambia waanze kugeuka wamejiumiza wenyewe. They have learnt the hard way why you need rules. When you have unfair practices, you breed chaos. Chinese govt. lost control of the factories. Ile pollution iligonga China wacha tuu… saa hii ndio wanaona madhara. No one is forcing them wanajionea wenyewe. Sio maji, sio hewa, sio chakula.

And its not worth it. The BBC did a documentary on cancer and the Chinese factory worker and it was shocking. And the worst part is, the absolute most painful part is despite all that growth, only a small percentage benefit. Saa hii wameanza kureform. Increase in salaries. better working conditions. taking care of the environment. RESPECTING LAWS!! America and Britain also passed through that route in the 19th century before they learnt the importance of respect and fairness. China wakaamua to reinvent the wheel.

There’s no grand strategy. No space program.

It’s pure wastage and probably theft. You remember Donald Rumsfeld saying 2.3 Trillion dollars is missing from the Pentagon?

Stop giving these imbeciles too much credit.

You have gone overboard with your understanding of free trade, infringement of copyrights, trademarks and intellectual property rights is outright theft, that’s why I talked of standards. If the US cannot produce quality cars for their citizens but Germany can, what is the big deal, let the Germans sell their cars in US probably Germans will be into American burgers and so they should let the Americans sell their burgers too. The problem with the US they abandoned manufacturing and went into a spree of acquiring patents that they cannot monetize, they can’t blame their trading partners who have prudently acquired patents that have proved to be sound economic investments.

Ctrl C Ctrl V from Reddit

[MEDIA=reddit]worldnews/comments/8q8edw/comment/e0hkz5h[/MEDIA]

Whether or not he realizes it (and I don’t think he personally does) his base is okay with this. A huge part of Trumps support is the promise that US manufacturing will be a larger part of the US economy again. That is to say, there are voters, of sound mind, who genuinely believe the strike on the US economy by slashing 20% of our service industry is a justifiable growing pain so that we can replace it with manufacturing. The actual attainability of this is… laughable, as the processes of economics are what organically led to our service economy, but to towns/cities that use to be defined by the manufacturing sector (before it slowly got phased out) it’s a promise of “hope.”
For a lot of rural (not even rural, just small city) America the manufacturing economy was 1 to 1 correlated with US prosperity. The fact that that prosperity was incidental to this fact will forever be lost to them. Like a warrior painting a lion on his shield to harness the strength of a lion, these voters want to arbitrarily turn the factories back on to summon an economy that capitalism has forgotten.
These people haven’t forgotten that the US is mostly a service based economy, they are the consequence of it. They are the demographic that has been made irrelevant. They saw all the money they use to generate concentrate into cities, they saw their youth atrophy and the main street shrink more and more. It was a slow process. Most of them worked their whole life and didn’t realize what had/was happening until they reached retirement and actually pulled away from work to see the consequences of their labor.
For many, it literally felt like they retired to a different country. Day laborers began filling their towns while the native population continues to shrink. Call it bigotry (not saying its not) but I can sympathize with individuals who “woke up one day” and realized more Spanish speakers were coming into their town than there were “real American’s.” The millionaires/billionaires that made the news were no longer captains of industry but turtleneck wearing vegans who made devices they could barely afford, and all they can think is wait a minute, I thought I was middle class, where did my spending power go? All the while cities are growing and concentration more wealth (never mind the growing wealth gap and it’s actual effect on this) and the visible trappings of prosperity are found in those “liberal” cities while another store closes on main street and your own son moves 5 states away because the town doesn’t have manufacturing jobs anymore.
This is where the hate comes from. This is the jealousy, the racism, the confusion etc… This is how the “liberal” became a boogieman and how “liberal tears” became a calling card. These people don’t care if the US economy is a service economy, and the don’t care if the US economy tanks in the process (not that they think it will). To Trump’s base the only thing that matters is taking the economy “back” from the “liberals” that stole it from them. They are entitled children whose cookie fell on the floor when they weren’t looking and in their tantrum mean to throw the other kids cookies on the floor under the promise that their mom will bake cookies for them. Only mom doesn’t bake cookies anymore, and she’s not going to. Mom’s working because the real estate market is crap and people don’t tip as much at the restaurant. The cookie economy is prefabbed Oreo’s, and until they’re willing to stop being babies and grow up with the economy they aren’t going to get a homemade cookie for a long time.

I see Rumsfeld and I remember “There are known Unknowns and Unknown unknowns” when he was asked about how sure they where that Iraq had weapons of mass destruction, whatever that means.

Sadly, it was true that alikua hajui hajui and more than 100,000 people died because of unknown unknowns that never existed

I don’t know if anyone here has been to the American “heartland” places like Detroit, Ohio, West Virginia, Indiana, etc

They are decimated, no jobs and plagued by suicides and opioid abuse. The jobs went a long time ago and they ain’t coming back. The labour costs are too high and the skills set is not there any more.

Blame it on Bill Clinton, NAFTA and the greed of American corporates. I remember Ross Perot warning them that this would happen but they thought they were cleverer than the entire world.

They thought they were exporting their pollution and “dirty” jobs to China but the Chinkus outmanouvered them and now control America’s economy by the balls. How many people does Facebook, Twitter and Instagram employ? 2.7 million people. The rest? America sold themselves and have no one to blame.

Trump is doing too little, too late.

Sema kuji kaanga na mafuta yako mwenyewe.

hehe lakini wewe hu exagerate sometimes. The situation is not all that bad. If it was that bad then why are all those Chinese boys and girls fighting to get an opportunity to go work and live in the U.S. same as everyone else on planet earth?

Ni kubaya lakini sio hivyo una describe. I have three young relatives there. One just completed campus in that same Ohio you are talking about from a very good renowned varsity in Ohio na amepata consultancy job with a good salary.

Mwingine Texas hivo hivo. Mwingine L.A. na ameitiwa interview ingine New York na Washington… and I’m talking big jobs here. Big firms. Na wananiambia job ziko na ni mingi but many people don’t want to study. Laziness in many cases. Some youths don’t want that rural life they want to live in the expensive coastal metropolises. Ukiangalia zile nyumba hao watoto wananunua na ati wanaanza maisha, in China you’d have to own your own factory to live in such a house. Mwingine no relation in his mid to late 30s has a penthouse in Miami and drives a ferrari. Mkenya wa kawaida, job ya kawaida U.S. Just an ordinary looking fellow if you saw him on the street.

you say there are no jobs in the U.S. that lady whats her name, the one who ran away during the recent Kenyan elections. Ati anauliwa. Si amesomea U.S. and works at the U.N.and her salary is not too shabby. And she’s not old either. It would be hard to pay her that salary she has now in many countries on the planet. And hers is not even one of the top employers in the U.S. Akiingia private sector hata sijui atakuwa analipwa nini.

Na ni wengi wamejaa huko hata wamezeekea huko. na hawaringi. Some come here try their hand in politics, wanashindwa wanarudi huko. Family ya Uhuru wengi sana wamejaa U.S.

You just need to follow one linkedin account and you’ll see several of them na hizo mamacho zao kubwa. They live and work there. young fellows.

True. The demise of Inner America is relative until you start looking at the rest of the world.
Jamaa has to understand the current status is bad compared to their past.

ukweli. unajua hata hao ma nigger mimi sometimes huwa siwahurumii. Because they are born surrounded by so much opportunity than the rest of the world but they choose not to utilise those opportunities. And you really can’t compare those opportunities to Kibera or Mathare or even a slum in China.

And there are very many successful black American families, very many, but the media will never show those guys,that story doesn’t make money.

They dwell on these unfortunate few in the inner cities. Unaambiwa usome, eff school. I wanna play basketball. I wanna slang rocks and make a million bucks. School is for losers. Na scholarship zina kuslap everywhere you turn. Sio jeshi, sio naacp. Obama could’ve ended up dead on the streets but alijikokota without a father na akasoma in some very illustrious schools.