Turkana Oil....Cartels

I refuse to buy the big lie being peddled by Mzungu economic gangsters that we cannot refine our Oil in Kenya.
Refining Crude Oil is as simple as these Nigerian Rebels prove. Wazungu make simple things look complex so that we continue being exploited. Right from our Coffee, Tea and Fruits, we sell cheap, and import expensive. Changes take place if we emancipate ourselves from Mental Slavery.
(Copied from Mukuru by Gordon Opiyo)
Moses Michira of the Standard has done a good job today. Unlike other Journalists who go to functions to take Selfies and greet politicians, he has started asking hard questions. Number One:- he has uncovered what we were all suspecting… The ownership of the Company Transporting the Crude Oil is a top secret. The Company is registered in the highly Secretive Guernsey Channel Islands. That is the choice of the super corrupt and super tax evaders. Slowly slowly, Wiki leaks will reveal the real owner.
[ATTACH=full]174517[/ATTACH]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4e3_bkKwgQY

you and that mzungu calling that distillate pure diesel…au wacha tu…

So you are suggesting we give the chang’aa distillers of Mathare valley the work of refining our crude?

let’s ignore the refining first and focus on this offshore company transporting the fuel

I agree with you, refining of petroleum products isn’t rocket science.

it may not be but the fractional distillation involved requires some precision in order to ensure the purity of the various products. in the crude refining such as that in the video all the other products such petrol that condense at temperatures lower than diesel are lost…

[ATTACH=full]174551[/ATTACH]

It is not rocket science but in Industrial operations, when refining huge quantities, it becomes extremely challenging. A combination of technique, personnel and equipment. I can tell you for sure costs posted earlier are a true reflection of the refining costs- or building a refinery.

If G.o.K wanted to build a refinery in Turkana, by now plans will be underway. It’s only that we as Kenyans don’t like getting dirty and opt for the easiest way out.
I always wonder, why in .ke we have so many PhD’s, Masters degree and other educated guys, but when it comes to solving problems, we perform dismally ? We proudly hide under the skirt of why reinvent the wheel.

There was a functional refinery in mombasa, there can be one in turkana

Unless mnataka tu kujiona na oil refinery ndio mfurahi…kama wadanganyika…
[ATTACH=full]174555[/ATTACH]

Would it make economic sense to build a refinery in Turkana. Most exporters of crude have their refineries at the exit usually the coast.

Why are we seeking to export while the domestic consumption has not been taken care of?Jenga hiyo refinary na tujiuzie mafuta and will create physical jobs besides 9billion zinapotea kwa mifuko ya watu na haisaidii mwananchi

@Meria Mata uli pewa tender ya ku transport mafuta? Niko na swali , how come hizo tanker ni tudogo hivyo…ama ndio laps na tankers zikue mingi
[ATTACH=full]174581[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]174582[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]174583[/ATTACH]

@Meria mbona wasi tumie hizii kubwa?
[ATTACH=full]174588[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]174587[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]174586[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]174585[/ATTACH]

Clearly you are all uneducated in the area of oil.
Under current market dynamics,it is unprofitable to build a refinery that processes less than 250,000 barrels a day.
That is why our 70,000 barrel a day refinery(although by 2013,it was processing only 32,000 barrels a day) shut down when it was changed from a toll refiney(which guaranteed it a market.Under the,toll refinery rules,all retailers had to buy half of their products from the refinery) to a merchant refinery where KPRL had to compete with the likes of the Jamjalangar refinery which processes more than a million barrels a day
Currently we consume around 83-87,000 barrels a day so unless we ramp up consumption,a refinery for now is unviable.
Before some of you point out that Uganda will build a 20,000 barrel refinery,in order to keep it profitable,Ugandans will not see a reduction in oil prices from where they are or they will have to compromise on quality like Algeria has.
Those showing Nigerian makeshift refineries.
SMH.
You clearly have never worked in oil.
One of my specialities is,additives.
Your ordinary pretrol has
Detergent.That is why when you shake it it foams.Pure petrol has no foam.it cleans your engines.
Metal deactivators that reduce pollution
Corrosion inhibitors that prevent rust in your engine.
When we had Regular,some antifreeze would be added for fuel used in places like Limuru and Timboroa
Octane enhancers to raise Octane levels that enhances how Petrol burns.
Proprietary additives like Excellium(Total) ,V-Power and FuelSave(Shell).
Now, do these refiners,pray tell, add these,additives???
Also do you know that refineries are usually designed to produce product according to the needs of a nation(Ours was not however.From the archives at my government days,KPRL used to produce a lot of black product(fuel oil bitumen)as opposed to white product(petrol diesel kerosene).This explains why it worked at half capacity. In Pakistan there are refineries that produce 40% of their product as LPG.
Do these changaa refiners fine tune their processes like,that???Where did they get the rhodium catalysts to do so???
SMH!!!
Please leave the refining process to us.
I wish we had a refinery(I got an A in that unit when I did the diploma in Petroleum Management at PIEA.I was a pro in that area) but I recognize that we are too small an economy to have one.
And yes,the fact that we consume over sh 320 billion of product a year,that is $3.1 billion.
Pocket change in the oil and gas industry.

Hizo wanabeba nazo ni specialized for flatbed rail wagons, so transfer to SGR is easy.
Lakini ile kazi tunafanya transporting the crude by road ni kaa kujaza maji kwa drum na bottle top. It may take a Yr to fill a tanker

Do you all think the devil wants you to free yourself from his grip? No. His job is to keep you tied up so that he can coerce you to do anything he wants you to do. And every time you start thinking of moving away and freeing yourself from him he starts whispering doubts or sends one of his angels to throw doubt and all kinds of obstacles in your way.
I say build that refinery in Turkana even if it’s the stoneage kind. Everybody started there. The first one will not be perfect but it will improve in time.
And if Tullow Oil protests then we can point them to JKIA and bid them goodbye

Ignorance tupu

and is it hard to set up a refinery with that kind of precision here?

my thinking (using rudimentary economics is that there may not be a high enough demand for refined products to enable the refining unit have economies of scale and therefore operate efficiently. in any case, most countries have their own refineries and they want their oil crude so they even channel the other by-products to industry and road construction. …and it has been said uganda is building its own refinery so it would make sense we sell our crude and import refined products from our neighbour:D

makes sense