Trophy hunter poses with 'Valentine's gift' - the heart of giraffe she just shot

Merelize Van Der Merwe boasted how her ‘wonderful’ husband spent £1,500 on a hunt at a game park over the Valentine’s weekend - where she shot a giraffe
[ATTACH=full]350937[/ATTACH]

Merelize Van Der Merwe, 32, boasts of how her “wonderful” husband spent £1,500 to make her five-year dream come true at a game park last Sunday. The sick photo she proudly posted on her Facebook page has caused outrage among animal rights campaigners. But the defiant mum astonishingly insists killing the ageing bull giraffe helps SAVE threatened species in South Africa – a claim dismissed by conservationists. Van Der Merwe, who started hunting at five and has killed up to 500 animals including lions, leopards and elephants, says she posted the snap to taunt the animal rights lobby.
[ATTACH=full]350938[/ATTACH]
“I have no respect for them – I call them the mafia,” she said before excitedly telling all about her dream day. The couple had been planning a Valentine’s trip to the resort of Sun City when a pal called her to say a kill she coveted had been spotted in a game park. “I’d waited years for my own perfect bull – the older a bull gets the darker he gets,” she said. “I love the skin and the fact it’s such an iconic animal for Africa. “Our plans changed quickly. My wonderful husband Gerhardt knew this was my dream. I was like a child for two weeks, counting the days. Afterwards I was flooded with emotions.”
[ATTACH=full]350939[/ATTACH]
She plans to use her 17-year-old victim’s skin as a rug – and posted her pic with the comment: “Ever wondered how big a giraffe’s heart is? I’m over the moon with my Valentines present!!!” Van Der Merwe – who runs a citrus farm in South Africa’s northern Limpopo province– claimed her kill “created work for 11 people that day” and “a lot of meat for the locals”. She claimed the death of the old bull would mean “a new bull can take over and provide new strong genetics for the herd”.
She added: “If hunting is banned, animals will become worthless and will disappear. Hunting has helped bring back a lot of species from the brink of extinction. The only people protecting these animals are trophy hunters.”

Ngoja Mjaluo @Tom Bayeye aamke,aone hii story. Aanze kulia, “But why do they blame China?”

Na saa hizo @Tom Bayeye anapatiana lecture zake, anakula a wild fish species from Lake Victoria.:rolleyes:

Or wild quail meat juu wajaluo wanapenda quail meat sana.

A naija fellow or a Liberian has just shot a few rare monkeys just now. Hio ndio itakuwa lunch. They call it bush meat. But you will never see that in the fake news media society.

We used to eat and enjoy these animals before the white man came and instructed us to only eat cow, sheep, goat, chicken, duck, turkey, and pig… Basically white men animals. They then went ahead to hive off our savannahs, called them conservancies and parks where they can quietly enjoy what they had been missing all along

There is no one stopping you from getting a licence to rear wild deer or ostriches or crocodiles in fact I don’t know why Kenyans don’t engage in such a lucrative game meat industry.

No one is also stopping you @poyoloko from starting a zoo to make money. Animal zoos are also very lucrative but highly expensive to maintain.

Enyewe Wanakenya hufikiria in one wavelength only : real estate, poultry and milk production.

"white man came and instructed us to only eat cow, sheep, goat, chicken, duck, turkey, and pig… Basically white men animals. " so its the white men who instructed you to eat pig too, even though when Jesus said:

"Hakika ni kuwa Agano la Kale katika Biblia imekataza ulaji wa nguruwe na akafanywa kuwa ni haramu: “Nguruwe msimle; ana kwato zilizogawanyika lakini hacheui; kwenu ni najisi. Kwa sababu wanyama hao ni najisi msile nyama yao wala msiguse mizoga yao” (Walawi 11: 7 – 8).

Agizo hilo limerudiwa katika Kumbukumbu la Shari’ah 14: 7 – 8 na pia Isaya 66: 17. Na katika Agano Jipya, Yesu naye amesema kuwa hakuja kutangua shari’ah na mafundisho ya manabii bali kukamilisha (Mathayo 5: 17). Kwa ibara hiyo ni kuwa Yesu pia aliharamisha ulaji wa nguruwe.

Jaribu kuuwa wild horse moja huko Arizona uone

So they can kill our wildies for fun but you cant kill their wild horses ? that’s a joke.
they make fun of african countries being poor and they come to kill the wildies, and unfortunately, mambo ya kujitakia in our countries.

If you have money like Mutula Kilonzo you can buy 50 acres of land somewhere and start your own animal park. But even Mutula admitted that keeping wild animals is darn expensive. You have to commercialize it to make any sense.

You can charge Kenyans to come see the animals for a fee or occasionally allow game hunter like the lady above to come do her thing. These are industries that Kenyans have refused to exploit.

yeah them politicians who have a vast size/s of land, si wafungue tu hizo local zoo whereas locals can come and enjoy themselves, zoos, theme parks etc, bali ni kupiga domo tu

It’s a temporary ban. Zikiongezeka the state will probably allow culling.

Meanwhile there are so many other options available to the American hunting community : wild hogs, iguanas, rabbits, pythons, giant marsh rats, alligators, sharks, blue fin etc etc etc.

Na hizo zote ni food! Americans even eat rattle snakes.

Ask your friend @Bottoms he said that he owns a rifle and is a redneck hunter and fisherman. Catch, clean, cook.

I’m telling you if Kenya had a capable president who understands the value of tourism, poverty would become a thing of the past.

For instance Kenya has some of the most stunning deserts and sand dunes on earth. Those are just millions of dollars waiting to be exploited. Desert safaris. But you have to first educate the citizenry on how to be tourism entrepreneurs. And the govt has to make that industry accessible to ordinary wananchi.

For instance Nairobi national park can feed a good chunk of Kibera if commercialised wisely. You can enlarge the park and add more animals, have hotels, game drives, gambling e.g like sun city south africa.

And Kenya had something you can’t find anywhere else on earth, the most famous and most important and most dangerous car rally on the planet, the SAFARI rally. Racing cars through real national parks.

Kenya lost even that. The safari rally could’ve been far bigger than Formula1 if we had the right kind of leadership.

Subaru, Nissan, Toyota, Audi, Lancia etc used to bring the very best rally drivers on the planet to Nairobi each group with 5 to 10 cars. Young Kenyans used to get fantastic jobs …

Killing is one thing. Displaying is another. These animals are killed because they are in excess in a certain area. If left wild, they will destroy the food chain. So breeders are allowed to control their population. The problem is this displaying. It should be banned.

plenty of opportunities to bring in income and help the common mwananchi but they tend to look at their pockets 1st before mwananchi

thats not a reason even if there populations has risen, you can distribute them animals around zoo’s or parks around the country, even relocating the animals to other countries who wish they have these nature on hand but they dont.

Getting that license is hell. Remember Canivore (Tamarind) used to sell game meat. Even they lost it. Hapo Seattle they allow hunters to kill 1 moose. Ukipitisha Moja, ni jela. Kenya you try that, jamaa anaangusha kumi, with no consequence.

Hio kijiji ingine iko aje? ilikufa? Na kumbuka venye mlikuwa mmengoja Nyamgondho au @T.Vercetti ajoin ndio mtuonyeshe how you are in control. Stupid village - hata sina account huko. Naona siku hizi umekunja mkia.

That lady is in South Africa. They have more controls than Kenya can dream of. Moving those large animals is very costly. Na how many will you move. You have them in the thousands.

Do you know what some entrepreneural colonialists wanted to do? They wanted to merge the whole of East Africa from Sudan Somalia Ethiopia Kenya Tz Uganda… into one tourism hotspot. Imagine if you were to link all that tourism to each other?

Imagine an open peaceful beachfront running from Sudan, Eritrea to Djibouti, Somalia, Kenya to TZ?

Imagine all the hotels, snockeling, surfing… that is how much we waste with endless conflicts. And Somalia for instance has some very pristine beaches.

Kojoa uende church