Transport Industry Extortion Cartels and Gangs

Remember a while back when wale wasee used to extort money at the Bus Termini and stages ? Kitu 2 weeks ago nliona conductor akipea some random guy pesa karibu na stage wakaongea kiasi. I thought its just the normal hustle of the day watu kulipana madeni and such. Then, juzi, nimeona the same thing ikifanyika in the same pattern at a different stage. That’s when I thought, Kumbe hawa wasee all they did was to go silent but maintain operations. Then kuna hawa wa ku-manage stage na kupanga magari. If you see them pale stage ya Westands on Waiyaki way from town, wanakuaga na fimbo kubwa kubwa saa ingine Nyahunyo. It’s obvious that it’s only less killings but the extortions got even more efficient and covert.
These are some of the things those want to invest in the matatu industry should consider.
[ATTACH=full]76555[/ATTACH]
http://www.nation.co.ke/news/-Inside-the-Sh47bn-criminal-network-that-runs-matatus/1056-3506950-q5pyp0/index.html

siwes relate

Jina yako na Avatar yako inakaa tu hiyo mungiki, so you definately relate.

Can relate

how am i supposed to relate to a public transport system…

the hoe you bang hurudi home na matatu

@gashwin, unakumbuka nikisema juzi ucheki hii mambo, kwanza pale Kamukunji rounda?

The other strategy ni ya kupea madere na conductor wa squad. Hii nimeona hata huko Kisii. Coming from Migori just after the roadblock as you approach the junction ya kuelekea Kisumu, gari huchukuliwa na crew mpya toka hapo hadi Kisii tao, dere na conductor wanashuka.

all those crews are minions working for the bigger fish. the money goes up the hierachy not around the hierachy. On the positive side, atleat there is some form of employment created, else, where would this people be, na pale ushago shamba imegawanywa to the extent that even subsistence farming is not viable. Inabidi mtu amekuja nairobi/town kutafuta

that is just leeching off other people’s investment. It’s not employment

Kumaliza cartels nikama kutoa Bingwa kwa kijiji.

Kuna wengine wakukaa ndani matatu ijae.When ready to go, four or five guys just get out. You can stay there over two hours.

Gangs on some routes — such as No. 102 to Dagoretti and Kikuyu

Coincidence? I think not.

Si ati Uhuru ama Nkaissery hawajui hii mambo inaendelea. We have the most useless president ever.

Do not be surprised to discover some of the extotionist are ex mungiki.

They are not ex Mungich. They are Mungich.

I once did the story with a lady colleague of mine but in Mombasa.
Its called KITABU. The PSVs plying one route pay up for the day, after using the route or terminus where the Idle Menacing looking goons collect the money and sign on an actual book.

Its usually very serious such that newcomers who resist could have their vehicles torched. The gangs are so organised that they have a register of all matatus that use their specific route. They kill for that money and most of them are hooligans who use it to purchase (Unga) heroine.

Mainly its done in conjunction with the local police and they are aware of it but cannot do shit to stop it, having a CUT too. Its a catch22 situation.

They are very rampant in Magongo, Kisauni, Mshomoroni, Mtwapa areas.

Some routes even issue actual daily receipts for the vehicles that have paid. If a certain psv hasn’t paid say by around eleven, ‘stage managers’ along the route are instructed to bar it from operating till they pay up.

Siet

While some of these individuals actually work for their respective Saccos, others are hired by police to collect road tolls on their behalf, wengine tu ni hustlers Wa kujaza gari…

And I thought its only mungiki that did this?:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: