Trade wars - China retaliates

Ah, I see Mr. I-must-post-the-most-replies-on-any-given-thread-and-make-sure-I-have-the-last-word is here. So I’m just going to clarify a few things then leave him to post 10 more 5000 word replies.
The Chinese have perfected the art of stealing technology. They also have a huge market, which western firms cannot just ignore. So they use this huge market as leverage. If you want to access our market, you must share your technology with us. Because these western companies are eager to get a piece of the action, they agree. Before they know it, the Chinese have combined the tech they stole earlier, plus some of what these companies willingly shared with them, plus their own R&D to come up with a more affordable, just-as-good or better product than the original western product. Huawei started by importing switches from Hong Kong and reverse engineering them, now the company is leading the world in implementing 5G technology. They started by importing Siemens trains, now Germany is importing Chinese trains.

COMAC was established in 2008, obviously the company is going to take some time to master aircraft manufacture, but I can assure you they’re going to do this very rapidly. Plus I don’t understand how America is going to gain from COMAC. If you used to supply 100% of something (whole airplanes) and now you’re supplying say 70% (as airplane parts) your market has still been eroded. The person you’re supplying with partsis not just sitting there, he’s seriously investing in R&D and growing less reliant on you with each passing day. China spent 406 billion dollars in R&D, second only to the US (496 billion). Obviously if you consider things like dollars invested per capita, America is still way ahead of China, but the US’ investment grows 4% while Chinese grows 18% annually. So again, very soon China will be number one in all aspects of scientific research, which beats the oft-repeated lie that they only steal from other countries.

Kumbe unamjua? :smiley:

Wewe Jew hater hunibamba sana sometimes. Huwa unaongea mbaya then you later on use very many words to agree with me.

Na kwani juu unajifanya hapo, kwani hizi reply zako huwa ni paragraphs ngapi? You say one thing about a talker then you turn around and do the same exact thing. Hio sio ujinga nani? Wewe ni mshenzi sana.

And about agreeing with me, look at the link you’ve posted from that Belgian website called Breugel. They have repeated word for word exactly what I said about American universities leading in research and attracting the best brains globally. What is China doing to counter that and yet even their best students end up at MIT?

China is countering the U.S. or Europe let me quote you, by buying a bunch of European trains and breaking them down to copy them to make their own trains… And you call that leading in research and development ?!

Sounds more like leading in stealing and piracy. And to make matters worse the fuckers can’t build a superior product! They still end up buying components from Germany or the U.S. to complete their products! PATHETIC!

Haya tuingie scientific research. You’ve posted links there. Hizo scientific papers unasema China is leading in publishing worldwide, 100% ni za kuiba. STOLEN RESEARCH!!

If they can steal a train or a car then they also steal the research! 100% STOLEN RESEARCH!

Just google “China Stolen Research” and you will be shocked. These guys hack companies, universities, individuals…

They’ll even pay you to steal medical research for them. Two Glaxo smithkline employees were caught recently in 2016 stealing research to sell to China. Fact.

Chinese are such intellectual property thieves hadi wanaibiana novel. Yaani mtu anaiba kitabu umeandika na anasema ni yeye ameandika, straight faced. A renowned writer doing that! Hata huko America Chinese wanajulikana sana. They are very smart, but you better invigilate that exam with cops juu wataiba hio mtihani.

They college entrance exams are renowned for thuggery. Na ati wanaiba exam ndio waende U.S. wakasome, the irony in that… https://www.reuters.com/investigates/special-report/college-cheating-iowa/

https://www.quora.com/Is-plagiarism-legal-in-China

Its a cultural thing but no matter how much you steal hata mkiiba eiffel tower ile ya France and rebuild it in China it doesn’t make you Paris… or innovative for that matter, you are just a thug. Wameiba hadi Mercedes na hawaja jaribu hata kutengeneza a better mercedes. Japan stole a few car ideas in the 1940s but they then went ahead and made their own better cars, sio kuketi na kungoja ili mwuibe tena.

Hata hii sgr yao tuliambiwa ni 4 hours to Mombasa but the thing is so fucking slow. Na ujue hata hio sgr I’m 100% sure it is fitted with majority Western technology. 100% sure of that!

sasa wacha train. The train is fine inatembea on the ground. Would you trust a purely built Chinese aircraft? I only trust that Comac plane now when I hear there is some element of Western supervision and cooperation. Kama engine yake ingekuwa ni ya China Wu yi engine manufacturing wacha hio ndege ikae kwanza.

Unanunua tiles zao zinamwagika kama unga. sio bulb ,sio power plug, sio ngotha. Hadi nyama wanauza nyama fake, fcuking thieving Chinese. How do you sell fake meat to people?

niliona mnafukuzwa Guangzhou juzi pole sana. hio story nitaanduka ile thread ingine. Na ukirudi kenya sijui itaenda wapi next. From what you wrote inakaa umezurura dunia mzima.

Tl;dr. Waiting patiently for 8 more 5000 word replies :D:D:D

Ati China leads in research globally that is laughable. These guys have stolen blue prints to every bomb or bullet America makes.
The whole chinese defense system is a forgery. https://www.washingtonpost.com/world/national-security/confidential-report-lists-us-weapons-system-designs-compromised-by-chinese-cyberspies/2013/05/27/a42c3e1c-c2dd-11e2-8c3b-0b5e9247e8ca_story.html?utm_term=.5746c14db3ce

Hadi their stealth fighter is an f22 raptor replica. Technology zingine wanaiba na hata hawajui kazi yake ni gani na ati hao ndio watakuwa modern superpower… by using shortcuts to everything. They build cities modelled after western cities but no Chinese citizen can afford to live there, ati hao ndio mnaita super power?!

Nonsense.

Ukishindwa arguments hivi ndio huwa reaction yako. utoto na ushenzi.

Mr. Essay. You must be a student. Kweli rongo?

Leo huleti video mingi za ujinga? Sijui video pro holland. Ulikuwa unaweka video watu wanaongea dutch tufanye nini nayo?

And you and the jew hater like trying to verify talkers identities? stick to the fine points of the debate and stop side shows.

You guys talk about China surpassing the west… in which universe? Ndoto hio.

Angalia hio trade difference iko reffered kwa hii thread china is banning just 106 American product lines which equal 50 billion dollars whereas America has banned 1300 Chinese products to get to 50 billion dollars!

Ongeza kiasi ufikishe angalau 5,000 words. This one I’ll give you an F for failure. Chieth gweno.

[SIZE=7]@Charley Flani hii sasa ndio inaitwa essay, funda wewe. The real story of Guangzhou China. Ati Chinese shopkeeper anasema unanuka. Rudi kwenu Africa! Ati ukishika ukuta unapaka hio rangi yako nyeusi kwa wall… is this the paradise you were talking about recently?[/SIZE]

[SIZE=7]The African migrants giving up on the Chinese dream[/SIZE]
By Jenni Marsh, CNN

Updated 0633 GMT (1433 HKT)

Guangzhou, ChinaThe heart of Little Africa – or Chocolate City, as it has been dubbed by some – is not easy to locate without a tip-off.
At the foot of an unremarkable tunnel, peeling off the busy Little North Road, in Guangzhou, stands a place that just two years ago was totally unlike the rest of China.
Angolan women carried bin bags of shopping on their heads, Somali men in long robes peddled currency exchange, Uygur restaurateurs slaughtered lamb on the street, Congolese merchants ordered wholesale underwear from Chinese-run shops, Nigerian men hit the Africa Bar for a Tsingtao and plate of jollof rice.
Dengfeng – a previously quiet urban village, or chengzhongcun, in central Guangzhouhad been electrified by migration, both from internal Chinese migrants and those from Africa.
By 2012, as many as 100,000 Sub-Saharan Africans had flocked to Guangzhou, according to Professor Adams Bodomo’s book "Africans in China" – if true, it would have been the largest African expat community in Asia – all chasing the same dream of getting rich in China.
Today, that dream is fading – if not finished.
http://i2.cdn.turner.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610105106-africans-in-china---opening-of-denfeng-super-169.jpghttp://i2.cdn.turner.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610111634-africans-in-china---opening-of-denfeng-2-super-169.jpg

Over the past 18 months, although concrete numbers are hard to come by, hundreds – perhaps even thousands – of Africans are believed by locals and researchers to have exited Guangzhou.
A dollar drought in oil-dependent West African nations, coupled with China’s hostile immigration policies, widespread racism, and at-once slowing and maturing economy, means Guangzhou is losing its competitive edge.

[SIZE=5]A promised land?[/SIZE]
Guangzhou sits 120 kilometers (75 miles) north-west of Hong Kong, often laboring under a haze of [SIZE=6]stifling gray smog. ([/SIZE][SIZE=5]Ni kukula tu pollution @Charley Flani, sio? Ukirudi make sure umeangaliwa kifua.)[/SIZE]
Africans began pouring into this landscape of factories, producing everything from washing machines to fake Levi’s jeans, in the mid-1990s.
China’s economy had recently opened up and, in 2000, Beijing hosted the first Forum on China-Africa Cooperation, spearheading a campaign to court good relations with resource-rich African nations.

By 2014, trade flows between Africa and China had exceeded U.S. trade with the continent by more than $120 billion, and more than 1 million Chinese had uprooted to the African continent.
As Chinatowns emerged in Lagos and Conakry, more Africans started thinking about China.
The type of Africans who migrated to China, however, were different to those moving West, Roberto Castillo, a lecturer in African Studies at Hong Kong University, tells CNN.
“Those people [going to Europe] are usually disenfranchised, with no opportunities, looking to settle,” he says. “Africans in China are much more entrepreneurial. Many of them have the financial capability to move around and explore new places.”
Indeed, 40% of African migrants surveyed for “Africans in China” had received at least tertiary education. Some held a PhD.
As Somali trader Ali Mohamed Ali, a university graduate in insurance working in logistics in Guangzhou, says: “My five brothers and sisters all went to Europe: they ended up as cab drivers or security guards.”
Heading East, he says, there was opportunity for something greater.
Madina Diallo says that in 2002 he would export 250 containers a year, containing everything from mattresses to pop corn machines. By selling these goods in his native, Guinea, he could make up to $1,500 on each container, or $375,000 a year – a genuine fortune in a nation where the gross national income per capita is $470.
Other entrepreneurial Africans set up cargo shipping firms operating out of the the Port of Guangzhou.
Fake goods were also a cash cow.
Moustapha Dieng, a former airplane engineer in the Senegalese air force, says that in the early 2000s, Africans were “still importing original Nike and Adidas from the United States”.
http://i2.cdn.turner.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610112448-africans-in-china---2-super-169.jpghttp://i2.cdn.turner.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610112623-africans-in-china-2-super-169.jpg

The transformation of Denfeng in Little Africa

“When we started buying fake goods from China, we could sell them in Senegal for the same price [as the real American goods]. Nobody knew about China and its fakes. Our profit was more than 100%.”
Guangzhou became a promised land, and more Africans arrived.

[SIZE=5]The Little Diplomats[/SIZE]
Felly Mwamba is one of Guangzhou’s “little diplomats”.
Each African country has an “ambassador” in the Chinese city – voted for by expatriates from that nation – who liaises with the Chinese police, arbitrates internal disputes, and organizes community events.
https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610095605-africans-in-guangzhou-china-felly-mwamba-congolese-medium-plus-169.jpg

Felly Mwamba, head of the Congolese community in Guangzhou

The ambassador also keeps track of the population of his community; migrants usually informally register with their community leader upon arrival in Guangzhou, for support.
Mwamba says that in 2006 there were 1,200 Congolese in Little Africa. Today he believes that figure has plummeted to 500.
“Ambassadors” for Guinea and Senegal report similar drops.
Emmanuel Ojukwu, the self-proclaimed Head of Africans in China, and the ambassador of the Nigerian community – one of the largest African groups in Guangzhou – is despondently spread out on a sofa inside a clothing warehouse, where the halls are eerily devoid of customers.
“So many people went home at Christmas and did not return,” he says.
https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610104656-emmanuel-ojukwu-medium-plus-169.jpg

Emmanuel Ojukwu, head of Africans in China

The true scale of the African population in Guangzhou is hard to ascertain due to the itinerant nature of many traders – some enter and exit the city multiple times per year – and the thousands who overstay their visas.
Castillo believes the Chinese government itself has no accurate idea of the African population’s size, although at the height of the Ebola crisis in late 2014, it said just 16,000 Africans called the city home.
The streets of Little Africa certainly seem quieter than when I first visited 2 years ago.
“There is, indeed, an apparent lessening number of Africans in the city,” says Gordon Mathews, a professor of anthropology at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, who has studied globalization in Guangzhou.

[SIZE=5]China losing competitive edge[/SIZE]
One reason the Chinese dream is today failing Africans is the maturing Chinese economy.
Firstly, as China’s profile rose globally, African consumers realized they were buying bootleg not bona fide goods, and naturally wanted to pay less, says Dieng.
[ATTACH=full]166836[/ATTACH]

Photos: Little Africa before “beautification” in 2014
Little Africa before beautification – The entrance to Dengfeng, in Little Africa, in 2014.

https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610123017-africans-in-china-then-gallery-7-super-169.jpg

https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610124629-africans-in-china-then-gallery-12-small-11.jpg
https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610114114-africans-in-china-then-gallery-3-small-11.jpg
https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610122229-africans-in-china-then-gallery-6-small-11.jpg

https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610114716-africans-in-china-then-gallery-5-small-11.jpg
https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610114437-africans-in-china-then-gallery-4-small-11.jpg

https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610113951-africans-in-china-gallery---then-2-small-11.jpg
https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610113159-africans-in-china-then-gallery-1-small-11.jpg
https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610123539-africans-in-china-then-gallery-9-small-11.jpg

Furthermore, under mounting international pressure, the Chinese authorities have vowed to protect the intellectual property rights of global brands, imposing tougher penalties on trademark infringement.
Dieng pulls up an SMS on his phone: “Adidas. Nike. Unilever. From 2016, no longer copy these logos.”
It was sent by the owner of a factory on the outskirts of Guangzhou last week.
“We’ve also noticed the factory price is higher than before,” adds Dieng. “This is because of exchange rates, and the rise of workers’ wages in China.”
Hourly manufacturing wages in China have risen by 12% a year on average since 2001, while the strengthening yuan has seen profit margins slashed.
China’s competitive edge is fading. “I’ve heard good things about Vietnam,” says Dieng, stirring his coffee, “or maybe Bangladesh.” [SIZE=6](@Charley Flani utaenda Bangladesh next?!)[/SIZE]

[SIZE=5]‘Culture, lifestyle, hygiene’[/SIZE]
As China becomes less profitable, many Africans feel the downsides of living there more acutely.
A 2008 Wikileaks cable reported that the local Chinese authorities had long been “extremely concerned” about the “visible” African population in Guangzhou.
“Many Chinese residents do not want to live in ‘Africa Town’ due to ‘differences’ ranging from culture to lifestyle to hygiene,” an American diplomat wrote to Washington, citing research commissioned by the local authorities.

[SIZE=7]Dieng tells CNN that locals hold their noses when riding the shared lift in their residential high rise, while a Chinese landlady complained to NetEase, a Chinese news portal, that her African tenant’s black skin color came off on the “snow white walls” – echoing a recent racist TV advert that suggested African blackness can be washed off.[/SIZE]
[INDENT][SIZE=7]I don’t like African people. I just do the business with them.[/SIZE]
[SIZE=7]Tina Chan, shoe manufacturer[/SIZE][/INDENT]
Tina Chan owns a shoe factory outside Guangzhou producing diamante-loaded high-heels, which she sells from her stall at the Yingfu clothing warehouse, in Sanyuanli – the Nigerian area of Little Africa.
In a low whisper, as potential Nigerian customers walk past, she confesses: “But I don’t like African people. I just do the business with them.”
Matthews says: "The Chinese would prefer Africans to come in for two to three weeks, buy goods and go home. [SIZE=5]China is for Chinese."[/SIZE]
For Dieng, living in Guangzhou, while his wife and three children reside in Senegal, is lonely.
“I think if after 12 years, you cannot make any real Chinese friends in China, it is a big problem.”

[SIZE=5]Feelings about foreigners[/SIZE]
In 2013, China updated its legislation governing foreigners – the Exit-Entry Administration Law – for the first time since 1986.
Africans who had lived in Guangzhou for years, paid taxes there, fed Chinese-run factories and warehouses with business, and perhaps even married a Chinese national, hoped the reforms would offer them a path to genuine residency.
“It was very disappointing,” says Castillo. “Very vague, and very similar to the 1986 law. The message was: you’re foreigners, it’s not going to be easy.” The only clear changes were harsher penalties for those who overstay visas and work illegally.

Photos: Little Africa in Guangzhou after “beautification”
Little Africa after beautification – Streets that were once bustling with trade, market stalls and African migrants are now eerily quiet.

https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610125310-africans-in-china-now-gallery-1-super-169.jpg

Very bare streets that were once occupied by African traders and migrants…

https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610125646-africans-in-china-now-gallery-3-small-11.jpg
https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/160610125826-africans-in-china-now-gallery-5-small-11.jpg

The vagueness of the legislature, Castillo says, means visa policies are interpreted in wildly different ways between provinces – jurisdictions with a higher foreign population, such as Guangzhou, tend to issue shorter visas. Many Africans report registering their visas in nearby Foshan, where the authorities they say are more lenient.
Diallo has a permanent residence visa which, somewhat paradoxically, must be reapplied for every year.
“We work, we pay tax, have a 1-year permanent residence visa, but we have no resident’s card,” he says.
“At immigration, I come through the same line as a tourist.”

[SIZE=5]The beautification of Little Africa[/SIZE]
Little Africa in Guangzhou straddles a 7km stretch from the Nigerian annex of Guangyuan Xi Road, in Sanyuan Li, in the north of the city to Xiaobei, home to Dengfeng urban village: the heartbeat of this community.
In 2014, the government embarked on the “beautification” of Dengfeng, disrupting life for many residents.
This year-long upgrade tore down signage celebrating foreign trade, banned street markets that had been the area’s lifeblood, widened and resurfaced roads and introduced a heavy police presence.
Earlier this year the Southern Metropolis Daily reported, “Dengfeng village, after a year-long beautification, has turned into an attractive spot for worldwide travelers. Dengfeng used to be a ‘dirty, messy and bad’ area in Guangzhou.”
Although the “beautification” fell in line with a wider policy of upgrading, or demolishing, urban villages in Guangzhou, the huge police presence thrust into this small strip is unprecedented in the rest of the city.
A Foreign Affairs Service Center, manned by eight police at a time, looms at one entrance, multiple police stands are dotted throughout the 300-meter thoroughfare, while a “Multifunction Service Center” has opened in the heart of Dengfeng, also manned by police.
The Guangdong authorities did not reply to CNN’s requests for comment on the “beautification” process.
Diallo says police check Africans’ passports from dawn 'til dusk, at their homes, hotel rooms and on the streets, a story corroborated by Matthews.
“Look around the world,” says Mwamba,“you will see Chinatowns, even in Africa. But here they don’t want foreigners to be together here, to do things the way the Chinese do them overseas.”
Since the renovations, the majority of Africans have left this part of Little Africa, either moving to other areas of the city or out of China for good, leaving the once vibrant streets bare.

[SIZE=5]Trouble at home[/SIZE]
In the banks of Nigeria, Angola, Ethiopia and Mozambique, one essential thing has been lacking for some months.
The dollar.
As global oil prices plummet, bringing down that of other commodities with it, governments in these nations are restricting access to the greenback to safeguard dwindling reserves.
For Africans, who can’t trade in their local currencies in Guangzhou, the consequences are stark.
https://cdn.cnn.com/cnnnext/dam/assets/150714113259-nigeria-president-muhammadu-buhari-medium-plus-169.jpg

Nigerian president Muhammadu Buhari has secured a currency swap deal with China.
Diallo says: “In Angola, if you go to the market the exchange rate for the dollar is over 500% higher than at the bank. But if you transfer money from China to the bank, it can take six months to withdraw your dollars.”
Ojukwu lays it out simply. “We use the dollar to buy things in China. But there are no dollars. It is a very big problem.”
To offset the currency slump, Nigerian president Muhammadu Buhari negotiated a currency swap deal with Xi Jingping in Beijing this year, which will allow Nigerians to send the yuan back to Nigerian banks.
Ojukwu and others are eagerly awaiting the deal to take effect.
Mwamba says: “I have a shop in Angola, with my brother, selling car accessories that we buy in Guangzhou. No one in Angola now can afford to run their cars.”
To make matters worse, Mwamba reports that astute Chinese vendors are cutting out the middle man by traveling to African nations themselves, to sell the goods produced at their Guangdong factories, sometimes for half the price.

[SIZE=5]Time to go?[/SIZE]
In Mwamba’s office, on the 17th floor of a rundown tower block, the twilight sun is exposing dust on a framed photograph behind his desk of the suited “ambassador” posing before the Guangzhou skyline.
After 13 years in China, he is ready to go home. This is not a retreat – more a decision to use his know-how where it’s needed most.
“Everyone wants to go back to their own African country and start something,” he says. "We’ve learned here about small factories, trade.
[SIZE=7]“We should return home and apply that knowledge.”[/SIZE]

Additional reporting by CNN’s Beijing intern Sean Zhong.

Meanwhile, as CNN interns do guesswork on why Africans are leaving Guangzhou, the racist, Apartheid, neo-Nazi state of Israel is very publicly sending Africans to concentration camps and forcibly deporting them.
https://images.haarets.co.il/image/fetch/w_2038,h_1179,x_83,y_198,c_crop,g_north_west/w_609,h_343,q_auto,c_fill,f_auto/fl_any_format.preserve_transparency.progressive:none/https://www.haaretz.com/polopoly_fs/1.5663067.1515414935!/image/1018316866.jpg
https://i0.wp.com/newobserveronline.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/Israeli-attack.jpg?resize=580%2C717
https://shareverythingworld.files.wordpress.com/2015/05/10947272_10152958180653673_8337875676887945275_n.jpg?w=1024&h=569
http://www.sahranews.com/imagesnews/1517404935.jpg
https://saboteur365.files.wordpress.com/2015/10/bbc-merkel-nazi-salute.jpg

@kyuktothecore wewe jew hater wacha pang’ang’a na propaganda and Google what the term ‘ADDITIONAL REPORTING’ means. While you are at it bring some more recent articles that one you’ve posted there is from 2012.
Ideally in your situation a Chinese or Russian paper would do. Nilikuambia hii mambo ya kuquote Jewish owned media or western media uwache. You are just contradicting yourself more. Bring an article from that website you like: Global research or that Russian newspaper you read a lot the Sputnik Daily or is it the Sputnik digest?! Ama Pravda. Ama hata rt news.

Our all knowing friend is now acting like the racist, apartheid, neo-nazi jewish state of Israel has not been illegally detaining and deporting tens of thousands of Africans. It’s all Russian/Chinese propaganda :D:D:D:D
Acha nikalale sasa. I’ve contributed more than enough in this here thread, this is my last comment. So Mr. Red1scarlet the floor is yours. Post 8 of your best 5000 word replies so I can like them one by one when I login in the morning.

About the plane, uliza Siemens, Kawasaki and bombardier vile kulienda na HSR. That’s why trump is fighting the Chinese forcing companies to collaborate and share tech. GE may have a very profitable decade, but after that the Chinese will make that plane themselves

Imagine ata ze Germans wamekubali China imewalemea kwa technology.
Ni kubaya.

[SIZE=6]Hii wizi ya China wacha tuone kule itawafikisha. It will be interesting to see how the Chinese react when their technology is in turn stolen. Will they be angry, will they run to court, will they bomb people… or will they just seat there and take it like everybody else.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=7]Did China steal Japan’s high-speed train?[/SIZE]

https://imagesvc.timeincapp.com/v3/mm/image?url=https%3A%2F%2Ffortunedotcom.files.wordpress.com%2F2013%2F04%2F130412130042-shinkansen-620xa.jpg&w=800&q=85

By MICHAEL FITZPATRICK
April 15, 2013
FORTUNE — One China defender recently claimed his countryman’s [SIZE=6]“bandit innovators” [/SIZE]could be good for the world. That was small consolation for the Japanese, who say that China pirated their world-famous bullet train technology.
“Don’t worry too much about Chinese companies imitating you, they are creating value for you down the road,” said Li Daokui, a leading Chinese economist at the Institute for New Economic Thinking’s conference. Such “bandit innovators,” he expanded, would eventually grow the market, leading to benefits for everybody.
Kawasaki Heavy Industries (KHI), maker of Japan’s legendary Shinkansen bullet trains, bitterly disagrees. After signing technology transfers with CSR Sifang, the builder of China’s impressive, new high-speed rail, KHI says it deeply regrets its now-dissolved partnership. It planned to sue its previously junior partner for patent infringement, but it backed down recently.

MORE: 7 new pieces of hardcore military hardware

Risk analyst Michal Meidan of Eurasia Group believes KHI is wise to drop the IP suit and stay out of China. “Every firm working in the high-tech space in China [SIZE=5]should be aware of the risks related to weak IP protection in the country [/SIZE]but often has few choices but to go into these agreements if it wants to gain market share there,” she says. “The intense competition prompts companies to make concessions on technology transfers, as the Chinese are very good at playing off the competition.”
What could drive the normally unlitigious Japanese into such a frenzy? Not only did China copy their technology, say the Japanese, after patenting remarkably similar high-speed-rail (HSR) tech, CSR now wants to sell it to the rest of the world — as Chinese made. Both Japanese and European rail firms now find themselves frozen out and competing with their former Chinese collaborators for new contracts, inside and outside China.
With a diminishing domestic market, Japan’s train industry is hoping to pick up orders abroad for its HSR. Before China stepped in, undercutting Japanese offers by about half, Japan looked very attractive to foreign buyers with its record for fast, reliable train systems.
With more than 300 million annual riders, Japan’s Shinkansen — 50 years old next year — trains carry more passengers than those of any other HSR system. It has suffered no fatal accidents. The U.K. was impressed enough to complete a 540 billion yen deal with Hitachi, which also builds Shinkansen, to supply bullet trains by 2016.

MORE: 8 PCs that want to bring sexy back

The Motherland of train travel is not alone. Everyone is shopping around for high-speed solutions including the U.S., as the $180 billion global rail industry continues to boom.
Outside of Britain, Japan could easily find itself edged out by the Chinese competition. This makes KHI’s Harada Takuma, who worked on the Chinese collaboration, very angry. Under the licensing agreements with KHI, China’s use of the expertise and blueprints to develop high-speed railway cars was to be limited to domestic application, he explains. “We didn’t think it was not risky. But we took on the project because terms and conditions under the tech transfer should have been binding. We had a legal agreement; we felt safe.”
The Chinese authorities, for their part, see no problem. As Beijing busies itself filing for HSR patents abroad, it claims China developed her own HSR based on Japanese and German technologies which it claims were merely “digested.” When it was suggested that China trains were mere knockoffs at a press conference in China recently, the Ministry of Railways spokesman asserted that China’s HSR was far superior to Japan’s Shinkansen, and that the two “cannot be mentioned in the same breath.”
Others, such as a few Chinese engineers, have admitted no real innovation. That they were “just standing on the shoulders of giants” as one rail technician put it. Wherever the truth lies exactly, KHI’s train technology transfer saga is unlikely to be over soon.

[SIZE=6]Hehe 10 years after the Chinese stole the Japanese bullet train blueprint and developed their own HSR trains, in 2017 hata wao wanaibiwa. And they are not too happy about being on the receiving end. In 2013 you say stealing is good for the world, in 2017 you change tune after mmeibiwa…
This is an article from a Chinese daily:[/SIZE]

[SIZE=6]China’s high speed rail tech copied by foreign countries: experts[/SIZE]
(People’s Daily Online) 17:35, August 16, 2017
http://en.people.cn/NMediaFile/2017/0816/FOREIGN201708161737000581882167618.jpeg
(Photo/People’s Daily)
After China’s leading high speed rail became a major driving force for the country’s economy, some countries have started copying and replicating China’s technologies, bringing severe losses to the country, said experts with a branch of Shanghai People’s Procuratorate in an article published on the website of Procuratorial Daily on Aug. 16.
The rapid development of China’s high speed rail comes with the problem of IP protection. Ineffective protection of the core technologies will directly cause a negative impact on the sustainable development of the industry.
According to the article, it took China[SIZE=5] years[/SIZE] to fully grasp the core technologies of high speed rail with limited resources [SIZE=5](hehe hebu skia maongo)[/SIZE].
However, China has fallen into a “patent trap” set by some countries, since it had a poor record of IP protection.
Under the framework of the Belt and Road Initiative, China has been exporting its high speed rail technology. However, some countries are copying China’s technology through public documents and replicating it on their own land.
Some countries have even applied for the patents before China, in both their homelands and some foreign countries, causing great losses for Chinese high speed rail enterprises.
The article said the situation can be attributed to three main reasons: poor performance in patent registration and protection; lack of protection of business secrets; and ineffective preliminary work of intellectual property protection.
Currently, the exportation of China’s high speed rail technology has triggered IP protection issues, and it is urgent for related departments to offer support in this regard.
The experts suggest that comprehensive measures should be taken to cope with technical barriers of developed countries and copying by developing countries. China should accelerate related legal processes and conduct better patent examinations. In addition, enterprises should take steps to protect their own IP rights overseas.

[SIZE=6]@kyuktothecore @Charley Flani @shocks stealing and underhand tactics will only hurt China in the long run. And they won’t go very far simply because the country’s they steal from are waiting to avenge through similar underhand business tactics as seen in the article above. So how do you become a super power in such an environment where you don’t want to follow the laid down laws? Mnaiba tunawaibia… mnaelekea wapi?![/SIZE]
[SIZE=6]
Ati you don’t want to pay the Japanese na mmeiba bullet train yao live. Well, this is what happens when you steal technology from others and in your hurry to steal you don’t really get to know how to operate that technology expertly. This is the train China stole from Japan:[/SIZE]

[SIZE=6] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wenzhou_train_collision [/SIZE]

[SIZE=7]Wenzhou train collision[/SIZE]
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Wenzhou train collisionhttps://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/0/0d/Wenzhou_PDL_wreck_at_night.jpg

An image of the wreck; after the collision, four cars of the rear train fell off the Ou River bridge, slamming into the ground more than 20 m (66 ft) below
Date Saturday, 23 July 2011Time 20:34 CST (UTC+08:00)Location Lucheng District, Wenzhou, Zhejiang
[CENTER]

[/CENTER]

On 23 July 2011, two high-speed trains travelling on the Yongtaiwen railway line collided on a viaduct in the suburbs of Wenzhou, Zhejiang province, China. The two trains derailed each other, and four cars fell off the viaduct.[3] 40 people were killed,[2] at least 192 were injured, 12 of which were severe injuries.[4] Officials responded to the accident by hastily concluding rescue operations and ordering the burial of the derailed cars. These actions elicited strong criticism from Chinese media and online communities. In response, the government issued directives to restrict media coverage, which was met with limited compliance, even on state-owned networks.
The collision was the first fatal crash involving high-speed rail (HSR) in China, and is the third-deadliest HSR accident in history, after the 1998 Eschede train disaster in Germany and 2013 Santiago de Compostela rail disaster in Spain. High speed was not a factor in the accident, however, since neither train was moving faster than 99 km/h (62 mph), a moderate speed for a passenger train.
The accident, the first of its kind, had a profound impact on the development of high-speed rail in China. Public confidence in high-speed rail eroded, resulting in fewer passengers using the service. Construction of high-speed rail lines in China was temporarily suspended as the accident was under investigation. Speeds on other major high-speed rail lines in China were reduced. China’s reputation in high-speed railway technology was scrutinized internationally.
In response to the accident, Railways minister Sheng Guangzu announced a comprehensive two-month railway safety review. The official investigation completed in December 2011 blamed faulty signal systems which failed to warn the second train of the stationary first train on the same track, as well as a series of management failures on the part of railway officials in carrying out due procedure.

[SIZE=6]THEY COULDN’T EVEN TELL WHAT CAUSED THE ACCIDENT, wizi ya ujinga:[/SIZE]

As of 31 July 2011, Chinese authorities had failed to provide any logical explanation of why the safeguards built into the CTCS-2 signal technology had failed to work in the Wenzhou collision. Various announcements indicated both defects in equipment (lightning strikes had disabled devices) and defects in operating procedures (staff operated signals in “manual mode”). Chinese official announcements were both [SIZE=5]confused and confusing.[/SIZE] An Lusheng, the chief of the Shanghai Railway Bureau, was quoted as saying that a device had [SIZE=5]“failed to turn from green to red.” [/SIZE]But CTCS-2 equipped trains do not rely on drivers observing green or red wayside signals, the driver has a computer-controlled monitor in front of him. Early announcements spoke of Train D3115 being stopped by a lightning strike, but that would not cause the accident. The second train D301 should not have been allowed to run into it. Whether Train D3115 was stopped by lightning or for any other reason is irrelevant.

The fuzzy and confused official announcements up to 31 July gave increasing hints that a [SIZE=5]lightning strike [/SIZE]caused some wayside-mounted piece of signal equipment to malfunction (the official investigation report in December 2011 identified a trackside LKD2-T1 signal assembly which malfunctioned after being struck by lightning, causing a false indication in the control center that a section of track was unoccupied). If the equipment was not fail-safe, an incorrect response by staff could then cause an accident. Significantly, on 28 July 2011, An Lusheng “faulted the quality of equipment, personnel and on-site controls. He described safeguards as ‘still quite weak’.”[9]

On 4 August 2011 a high-ranking work safety official [SIZE=5]ruled out[/SIZE] the possibility of natural disaster having caused the train crash. “Now I can say for sure that this is not a natural disaster,” Huang Yi, the spokesman and a leading official with the State Administration of Work Safety, said during an on-line chat hosted by people.com.cn, the online arm of People’s Daily. He added that the railway authorities had also pointed out loopholes and deficiencies in safety management, which had emerged in the accident.[12]

The official investigation, completed in December 2011, blamed faulty signal systems which had failed to warn the second train of the stationary first train on the same track, as well as a series of management failures on the part of railway officials in carrying out due procedure.

[SIZE=7]AND THESE ARE THE TRAINS THEY STOLE THEIR IDEAS FROM:[/SIZE]

Rolling stock[edit]
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/9/92/CRH2-139E.jpg/220px-CRH2-139E.jpg
CRH2-139E, the trainset that was destroyed in the accident. This picture was captured in February 2011, five months before the accident.
The two trains involved were based on technology from Bombardier and Kawasaki.[13] Train CRH1-046B is a variant of the Swedish Bombardier Regina, while the second train CRH2-139E is a derivative of the Japanese E2 Series Shinkansen ‘bullet train.’[7] Kawasaki and other companies in Japan are currently challenging China’s high-speed rail project for patent license violations. The Chinese maker has been attempting to patent the same technology and alleged improvements.[14] The trains were of the “D train” class and thus in the first generation of China’s express trains, not the faster “G train” class, which travel at 300 km/h (186 mph).[6]

You don’t become a super power by following “laid down laws” which were written by guys the very guys who don’t want you to be a super power