Toyota Noah

Hi guys, there’s this Noah that is very clean, interior and exterior, 2010 model that i’m interested in. Problem is,(coming from the owner), it has this sound (like two metal surfaces are in contact) that is coming from the front left side of the engine, i guess its the gearbox. The noise seems to come to life when the car starts speeding. The problem began initially when the car was once towed on all four by a pick up albeit for a short distance. What would be the problem here? Could it be the gear box or something else?

Is the owner selling because of that problem? Tuanzie hapo

Ka engine kana knock

No, it has never bothered her. She has been using the car for almost a year now but driving it, it kind of annoying

How so? Nimejaribu ku-analyse the situation to know where exactly the sound is coming from

angalia bearings

Gani na sio za front wheel because that i’ve checked

It is really hard to diagnose (or diagonize…hehehe) by way of described symptoms and sounds.
Pelekea makanika afanye assessment kamili.
Saitan.

I know that almost nothing or no one can convince you otherwise once you’ve set your mind on a particular vehicle. Especially if it is bigger and relatively cheaper, and more especially if you have test driven the vehicle in question. Test driving plants and inflates the demon of greed in many. But I’ll still try to instill some sense in you, a lesson from my experience with local secondhand cars.

Never, ever, ever, ever buy a car with problems that even the owner confesses. No one wants to sell a car with visible (in your case, audible) problems. No one. Trust me. I’m pretty sure that s/he has tried to repair it but in vain. So, s/he confessed the problem to hoodwink you, and to buy & bag your trust. That vehicle will stress you so much, in fact it will stress you so much that you’ll always want to vomit and diarrhea whenever you see a Noah on the roads.

pastor murefi huwezi ombea tu gari na ipone?

Ala, hata wewe makanika murefi huna idea ama Kifikifi tu ndio you understand well Meffi? I test drove it with some other dude who was of the idea that perhaps whoever towed the car might have done with without disengaging the gear (putting on neutral) thus it might be the gear box thats headed to city mortuary.

Why was it towed? Did they try to tow it in gear? At Park position or neutral?

Unress iwekerewo mukonooo.
Salimia Ruffneck.

Bikes are my forte ukweli.

@emali , am not sure since i wasnt there at that time, second, refer to the last reply i did for Introfart :cool:

If its clanking when car bounces then thats easy, but if its a continuous grinding sound thats probably a gearbox problem. if you want to risk it just check the cost of gear box and buy it minus that cost or at least minus 3/4 of the cost. It could be something as small as a worn CV joint though. Have you checked if it was ever hit from the front? gearboxes develop those sounds after being hit. I understand that second hand cars with everything working are hard to find. cars with undamaged body are almost impossible to find and most people sell because the body damages are not properly repairable in kenya and they want something nice looking.

:D:Dajisalimie

@Rene Descartes it’s continuous grinding sound. So, hypothetically speaking, is it always possible to replace a gearbox and restore or fix the problem to 100% No.2, is there anyone who knows the cost of a Noah gearbox? I’ve tried asking some mech and they tell me “kuja na gari”. Mbona Makanika wanakuwanga na hii upus?

You see, “mechanics” in kenya dont know anything about parts. in fact they dont know about car models at all. they usually carry samples to the shop. use this site to identify your particular part number for japanese cars https://jp-carparts.com Make sure the engine is running properly. gearbox is always replaceable 100 percent. its a compeletely separate module. the problem is the cost because some are cheap but others are expensive. newer CVT gearboxes are expensive. for example the old 1AZ FSE has a cheap gearbox but newer models have one going for 120-200K.

Boss, an automatic car should never be towed even in neutral. Automatic gearboxes are not like manuals ati unaweka “free” and your good to go.

If you have an automatic na unakwama, get a break down that lifts the wheels that run the car. By this I mean if its a front wheel drive, lift it at the front. If its a rear wheel drive, lift it at the rear. Kama ni 4wheel, you are out of luck na lazima uweke juu ya zile canter za kubeba gari.

What you can do is go where the gearboxes can be bought 2nd hand kama baricho road or daressalaam road. Check the price of that gearbox. If you think its worth purchasing the car and replacing the gearbox, then go for it. Am not sure the price for a noah gearbox but gearboxes generally cost in the 15 to 30 k range deepending on the car.