There is something I have noted of late. Every car’s body shape is being altered to look like a certain Toyota model. Even the Subaru’s and Suzukis with unique body shapes are being modelled to look like Toyotas. Why is this happening?
FYI,toyota is a shareholder in most of these vehicle manufacturers
Been happening for a while now, vw passat and Skoda, all Japanese cars more or less look the same in their respective categories
So that’s the reason?
VW ni ya Germany
Toyota owns Lexus, Daihatsu,Hino and Ranz with shares in Subaru(16%), Isuzu(6%), Mazda(5%)
VW owns skoda.
VW owns Audi, Bentley, Bugatti, Lamborghini, Porsche, SEAT,MAN,scania.I just wanted to brag that i know something about VW.Ni hayo tu.
They own shares in the respective companies … pale kwa board room lazima they push their agenda
i wasn’t bragging, i was just replying to a specific post about vw passat and skoda, that’s why i only mentioned skoda
because they may be competitors etc. honda remains unique though.
Toyota cars are simpler since 2008, most of them having the cheaper and lighter CVT trans, simpler body panels, cheaper interior, more basic looks, more use of traditional bulbs that had been phased out in place of expensive LED tail lights, shapeless bumpers, outdated reflector headlamps. etc toyota also loves drum brakes even for cars marketed as premium such as the premio. They sacrifice braking ability for simplicity of parking brake. Its a bout lower cost of production, simplest and most basic, which translates to lower cost maintenance and increased reliability. throw in a bulletproof engine performing at the top of its class(this is where they shine) and the legendary toyota reliability is accomplished. I mean there are less things to break. You pay more for very little but the thing doesnt need a car enthusiast to keep. grandma can maintain it and even forget oil changes no problem. Have a mechanic work on it every month for non-serious issues like bumpers falling off, broken suspension, worn bearings, vibrations, worn bushes, dull headlamps, broken cv joints, ball joints etc. rarely will motor or transmission fail without serious abuse. all these repairs are cheap and easy for a peasant. You cant compare this everyday repair with a mercedes C class asking for 150k for a repair/service after four years of flawless service from a person whose bank account never goes beyond 120k.
other manufacturers are trying to keep up with this.
Kuna kitu inaitwa platform sharing, where you will find say a suzuki and a toyota sharing a floor plan, transmission, suspension etc. With only minor differences in body design.
I did not say you are bragging.I am saying i am the one who is bragging.
mpaka walipoanza kutengeneza mercedes zinakaa kama toyota. kitambo a merc looked like a merc. Siku hizi…nkt
True. I liked those hard corners the Benzes had
upto 2009/10, was the last of the golden years of cars. after that emissions sijui carbon environment rubbish and LAZINESS caused much of the automation we see in cars.
toyota remains one of the best manufactureers for cars that dont break down and i think as upepo said, the platform sharing thing is taking shape. porsche and audi worked on the new audi rs5 engine. they ditched the 4.2v8 for a 2.9v6 TT because of “emissions” …
I hope they add another reliable make or model after the Cayenne.