Tomorrow is Dedan Kimathi Birthday 31st October

Today I heard a guy kwa radio naratting the whole MauMau & Dedan Kimathi story (from the unsung heros’ of the MauMau perspective) - they even had some of his grandkids in studio
How he got to be called Field Marshall.
The struggle for freedom. How MauMau was organised
How life was before colonisation…
What happened after.
Story za the last Kings of Kenyan nations like Waiyaki wa Hinga.
How the resistance started
How the Brits took Africans to fight Hitler.
Ati Hitler saw the Black man and ran for his life, never to be seen again
Ati there was a time Russia sent weapons to aid the struggle only that the consignment to be intercepted at Mombasa by the British
Hii history tulifunzwa shule is pure scripted BS.
Anyway… Tomorrow there’s a celebration of Dedan Kimathi’s Birthday in Nyeri.

Most profound thing I learned was that all along Kenyatta era and Moi era the MauMau was still outlawed. It is Kibaki who lifted the ban in 2003.
The narrator went on to expound about the struggle they had to go through just to erect that Dedan Kimathi statue on Kimathi street. Walikuwa wanachapwa na makarau, kurushwa ndani etc (ilibidi wamefind a way wakakalisha Kibaki chini and when he heardr their story, lifted the MauMau ban and even accepted to launch the statue himself)
Then there were people like Harry Thuku, Achieng Aneko, Kungu Karumba - real stand up guys…
Enyewe after all this mashujaa chieth, I’ve come to learn that real heroes are rarely celebrated…
So kesho please remember one of the realeast revolutionary heroes we’ve ever had in Africa

Is dedan kimati on wikipedia…

maswali mengine haki!

its an honor
if you know you know

Shukran brother.
Lest we forget…

Hii history tulifunzwa shule is pure scripted BS.

I would disagree with that part, history is always biased to the one who is telling it. Like a father might tel the kids how he was impressive in wowing their mother and the mother might tell the kids separately that she just felt sorry and pity for their father thats why she accepted him, and at the end of the day both sides are right.

Lakini I agree with the part where those who fought for freedom, at least the armed struggle were given a raw deal, but then the crazy thing is that majority of those who were oppressed were ok with their oppressors they even have no issue singing praises to the sons of their so called oppressors - a funny world it is.

10 Mau mau generals… Everybody ought to read that book

hawa watu hata 2060 bado utawapata tu wakilia for haki zao as Mau Mau yet we all know how Kenya gained independence and it was not through their effort

How old would kimathi be today?

quite unfortunate he was shot by two kikuyu guardsmen prior to capture,ata sio beberu!

Tuko nyuma ya msito D.kimathi

you know, according to history these so called heros/mau mau killed more kenyans than white men, infact they did nothing to secure kenya’s freedom… so cunt relate

T

They did alot…even though more beberus died in road accidents than were killed by MAU MAU, they lived in fear…the good times were over, the average Kenyan became rebellious and the beberus started moving abroad…of course this was only thanks to central kenya, not being tribal, most other parts of kenya were ok to be bullied about…

One of the things i admired about him is his dedication to the cause, he was infuriated by Gen. China when he was arrested and chose to work with the brits instead of refusing to cooperate and dying.

He backed up his words with his refusal to cooperate with the brits and was hanged for it. A real stand-up guy.

According to Wikipedia he was born in 1920.fanya hesabu

They had a hand in it…

kenya did not gain independence, it was granted… there is a difference, the only thing mau maus did was get tortured and murdered

They rebelled against the white man…that was the trigger

After Independence the people who rewarded were the homeguards (Michuki et al ) who never fought for independence while the real freedom fighters went drying.

I agree with you to some extent, the Gikuyu, Meru and Embu fought the colonialist due to taxation, land and other reasons, but although some of us resisted the white man, he wasn’t interested in our land where we reared goats and grew sorghum and millet, our conflict with them is where we stole livestock from their ranches, and by the way they came with shiny eyed labourers to work in their farms.