Tomato farming-Bad timing

I was contemplating to venture into tomato farming at least to escape the matrix and try to make a fortune. Tomato farming is one of the lucrative farming that people have enjoyed good returns. Tomato is one of the most used fruit hence its demand. Rain seems to have led to good harvest which has affected its prices, passing by the market you will find women smiling to people so that you can buy the tomatoes.

Any elder who have invested in farming?

The guys who have perfected timing ya onions and tomato make a killing. 2 months ago a kg of onions was going for 250. Right now Naivas ni 49 shs a kg after everyone rushed to plant, sasa kuna over supply

Make sure you have constant supply of water from planting to harvest. Any dry period utalia Kwa choo

Tafuta 5 acres, then buy two lorries with cooking capabilities (refrigerator equipment). You harvest and put in the there bole bole.

But how long can you preserve ripe tomatoes?

You harvest when not ripe.

My advice, however, is to try potato farming. I’ve never met a broke potato farmer. 150-200 bags an acre on average. With 2 acres and smart farming, you’re set for ~800k every 3 months or so. I’ve seen true potato millionaires. Pesa taslimu. Farming is where it’s at. I don’t know why people put up with 50k in a cubicle where you work everyday from 9-5 in Nairobi traffic. It’s insane to even think about that kind of life.

For your information, big man, they are still profitable despite the apparent glut. An acre will fruit about 26 tons of either kitunguu or tomato. Even if you sell at 30 Shillings per kg, the acre will give you around 800K against around 450K costs. I think hata a profit of 250K is quite decent after a wait of not more than 4 months, isn’t it?

What ails wannabe farmers who are there just for the thrill of the bob is their ill advised highly unrealistic expectations and impatience. It’s too bad that farming in Kenya attracts more of gamblers than more of farmers.

Farming ya :corn: ilinichoma.

I had to deal with many odds

True

Always plant when the market is flooded kama saa hii is the best time to plant. By the time they mature watu walipanda when the market was tight and prices are high will have sold their stock and given up. Your crop will mature when there is a shortage

Isn’t always straightforward. You will still deal with challenges.

A friend planted maize during such time. Ati mapema ndio apate pesa ya green maize.

The guy had to deal with birds, monkey, and thieves. Since he was the only one with maize at that period, birds, thieves, monkeys concentrated on his farm.

Last I saw, he had bought polythene bags and wrapped each cob with polythene to thwart birds

I bought 3 at 10 bob.

Big ones. Ukitaka poa plant them kukiwa na kiangazi utakula poa.

You need to have a green house for that especially for onions. Onions are most expensive when it’s been raining for awhile.

Heri hio capital nimalizie calabash

There’s no perfect timing now, watu wame erevuka kwa wingi and do the same, so the best approach now is staggered farming, such that at each stage there’s produce to sell, when its high and when its low.

This is true

Hehe aje leta hekaya tuskie

Saa potatoes ndio hot cake. The entire crop for april season failed terribly due to heavy rainfall. This shortfall will bite farmers for the next two seasons, normalcy excpected expected from next year September. If you are lucky enough enough to get the seeds then give it try.

This is the best approach there is a guy I know he harvests every 45 days a new set of crop tomatoes he has supply all year round in times of shortage he kills it and when there is a glut you still recoup your capital