To be paid for by who?

Yaani this ng’ombe thinks I’ll pay for @FieldMarshal CouchP to continue living yet most of us are struggling to get by? Someone’s been passing the weed to someone.
[ATTACH=full]99558[/ATTACH]

This shamba man has been going around giving false promises kenya mzima , hata leo ame fukuzwa western coz ya hizi ma shenanigans zake…

Hii ni kama kuita kuku na mtama, kut kut kut

-Baba, some years back

Unless you have been living in a hole you should know that senior citizens receive a monthly stipend…they just increased the age bracket…

Mumias to be precise which is considered tumbilis stronghold in Western.

Huko mumias pia hatakikani

One thing you should know is that old age poverty a serious thing. Lots of old wazees are being abandoned by their children in ushago. Include their stories of land fragmentation and inheritance shidas.

Since they cannot join the work force due to no skills and illiteracy, a stipend is a step in the right direction since most of them do not have pensions. In some areas of the country most of these old people are taking care of their children’s children due to the HIV surge that has decimated villages of their youth. I could go on and on…

12 Likes

Its already there but only the few connected in the villages benefit from it

it is always about you? do you forget these now helpless senior citizens, some living with the burden of emergent lifestyle diseases, are the ones that gave their all to bring their country to where it is?

And where is the country? Corrupt leadership, ignorant masses, unpaid or underpaid workers, serious unemployment and with all the roads and rails we could ever want. My words were chosen for humor but the implication is that we just can’t afford it, we just can’t. I’m made to understand that something similar already happens but I don’t know the criteria. We simply can’t do anymore for anyone for free as things stand. A country should be able to take care of it’s senior citizens. Let our inability to do so be the lesson our corrupt generation learns from our fathers and grandparents.

I’m actually aware. I recall My former colleague’s grandparent was stuck because her fingerprints couldn’t be read or something but I haven’t seen the system myself personally. My point is, regardless of what amenities we want to provide, we can’t do so because the country is broke and many of those people’s children may even be unemployed. Expanding the bracket brings more people in and that is a whole lot of money that we don’t have.

They should also get free access to medical care in any public hospital, alot of our old folks live very miserable lives sijui watoto wao huwa wapi wazazi wakiumia.

Nani ana ile quote ys Malema akishindwa how two parents were able to take care of eight children but the eight children can manage to take care of two parents?

It’s possible some of those old people are neglected but in many cases their kids are actually struggling to make ends meet and already have large families. Such measures are simply disease management and ignore the main issues. Those old people’s kids are currently unemployed or underemployed and thus will, in a few decades, require the same services which means the country has growing expenses even as the economy goes to kaka. There is a price for free and we can’t afford it at this time.

Sport pesa imeharibu vijana hawatumi pesa mashinani like they used to do. Gambling nation

We don’t need to be all emotional and end up blind to realities. Those rooting for this programs might need to educate themselves on how social programs are financed. To say the least, we cannot affort them. What we can is pretend that we can afford them for political expediency and great cost to more useful programs.

so what do you suggest we do? pretend the problems do not exist? or we start with what we can do now as we craft a method of financing social security in future? with our youth spending all their disposable income on the betting craze and weekend drinking binges do you see the time bomb ticking where we will have an even bigger social security problem in a generation?

Hatuelewani bro. What am on to is the futility of the whole thing and that is why I mentioned something to do with affordability. You will realize that virtually all countries with social programs either have natural resources that are exploited for the benefit of all or the citizenry is fully employed hence can support higher taxes. Kenya is yet to achieve either.

Another point to take note of. The current levels of unemployment will Eventually result in more people attaining old age without a pension. How then do you propose a social safety net in old age instead of say expanding opportunities for job creation? Hio pesa mbona isiwekwe kwa research in agriculture now that we are in agreement that it is the backbone of our economy or iwe a revolving fund for entrepreneurs with proper structures.

what we afforded last financial year was 17 billion and has been increased to 22 billion the coming financial year which will enable some people to be brought on board. in the meantime we should be thinking about bringing the young people to be saving some of what they are spending on gambling now in a social security scheme that assures them of a pension when they can no longer work - on the lines of the expanded voluntary NHIF scheme that sees contributors assured of inpatient care when they need it. in the meantime we cannot wish away the problems the aged are going through so we support them with what we can afford. one of the problems kenya faces is that we have a lot of earned people eager to criticise programs without offering solutions/alternatives.