Tipping Culture

When was the last time you tipped for a service rendered? How do you calculate the amount to tip?

Si it depends on the service, how much trouble that person went into, the timekeeping, the politeness even when under pressure, going all out?

I am not going to tip for shoddy service delivered by a grumpy person.

Now please explain what you just wrote in Osungu.dll for the goodness of all ktalkers

I only tip when I feel the service was top notch and a little extra from the server. The last time ilikuwa particular restaurant apo Garden City nakuambia hiyo waiter ilini treat vizuri sana as if mimi ni NYS birrionaire. Tulitoka huko my mbich akisema dude had a man crush on me. Meffi yeye(the bitch). I tipped him KSH 50.

I mostly tip in bars and for only two reasons.
1.The girls keep me company when I don’t feel like being around noisy drunkards and watch over my drinks when I go to empty my bladder.
2.At times they come in handy when a change of menu is required at short notice.

Reading & Comprehension is not everybody’s forte. You are excused.

Na unajichocha ati tip ya jefi ata haitoshi fare , mwanaume ni kuitisha number

That’s what I felt was appropriate and could afford.

Some of the people I tip:
Bouncer who lets you into the club even after last call.
The watchman who opens the gate for you at odd hours.
The househelp especially if she cooks fantastic food.

The most I have ever given as a tip is 3000 in drinks to the bouncer and 1000 to the househelp.

My Kinyozi, I tip him every time after a shave.

Kwa car wash lazima nitip ka 50b0b atleast mara tatu kwa wiki.

finje tena inaitwa “jefi”,Hii noti itolewe in circulation.Ata church siku hizi wanasema mungu asipewe mafinje ni kama wanasaidia mtu kutafuta

Ulikuwa umeloot wapi.Unafaa urudi hapo uulize huyo bouncer alitumia hiyo doo aje,uje utuambie

I can’t remember coz we are highly taxed si sirikali,kanjo,matatu,choo,si tu slay kwin. Am willing but am overstretched kimfuko

People working in the service industry waje watueleze how tipping can elevate somebody financially.

I always tip except when the service is very poor combined with a bill that generates no change. I don’t accept change less than 200 except in a supermarket which I hardly visit anyway.

Ksh 50 is very little.

It’s a ferking tip not a wage.Bill was around 1K.i could have just gone out without any negative social effect. I am actually against the tipping culture. I only do it when I feel the service was well beyond standard.

I always tip even if service was just average , I feel it’s polite to tip. The tip depends on cost of what I’ve spent, or the kind of lose change left after payment .
However if you provide the service with the expectations of a tip , it spoils the whole feeling and I end up not giving anything. Some waiters will give back change in a way that they want you to tip , those I despise , I collect every single coin plus receipt and leave them dry.

How much do you tip and to whom?

The greatest beneficiary of my tips is a cab driver hapo Ruaka. He picks me up all hours and take me places and goes back on standby hapo at the taxi place waiting for my call and he is free to beba wengine. The other drivers sometimes tell him…‘mani kotangimuhe squad imwe umuthee’…followed by whoever is a mboch where I am staying for washing my clothes, shoes, and ironing my cloths(hiyo is a luxury not be taken lightly).
Lastly anyone that delivers any other service with a clean heart and a smile. This really annoys my Mum and Sista. Wooishe:mad::mad:…ati simply because they are paying them I should not be generous.