Threat to close Dadaab was just a PR gimmick

I said it, many others said it. The Jubilee government was never serious about closing the refugee camp. It was an attention seeking move and juvenile attempt at getting money from EU and the US. A big surprise for a government that said it would never work with the west.

Interior Minister Joseph Nkaissery on 21 August announced the government would hold back its decision to close the camp until peace in Somalia is restored, and that, while the refugee verification exercise was complete, the repatriation process would take longer given the security situation in neighbouring Somalia.

Non-governmental organisations (NGOs) have welcomed Kenya’s decision to reverse its position to close the Dadaab refugee camp this year and send back Somali refugees until Somalia stabilises. For more than 20 years, Kenya has been home to generations of Somalis who have fled their war-torn country, and the Dadaab camp is largely populated by Somali refugees – out of 343,043 refugees currently living in Dadaab camp, 326,611 are Somalis.

http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/ngos-welcome-kenyas-decision-keep-dadaab-refugee-camp-open-1577383

http://www.kismaayo24.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/KENYA-_US.jpg

Mbeca imemwagwo… Thats all they wanted.

kwani hawa majamaa hu invest how much in our gdp/economy ndio wa deserve ku influence decisions hapa nchini

John Kerry pledged 17 billion Kenya money. I wondered why the money is being given to the government of Kenya and not UNHCR which runs the camps. Pesa ya campaign ilikuwa inatafutwa, pesa ya campaign imepatikana. John Kerry also pledged another $25m to [SIZE=6]“support”[/SIZE]our 2017 elections.

shit is rife…and the cycle continues

Until somali stabilises, it may take years. Hahaha kweli everything has a price

Enyewe, kuna mchezo, na kuna game kali. Hiyo ni kfunga mtu 10-0.

@spear kuna mtu anaongea mbaya juu ya chama kubwa, jubilee:D

Wachana na hii porojo, this is the official position and it doesn’t have any self commentary.

http://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/us-to-provide-kshs-19bn-for-dadaab-closure-and-electoral-reforms.29573/

So far in a few months 24,000 refugees have been returned to Somali.

UNHCR says 24,000 refugees have voluntarily left Dadaab camp for Somalia | Nation

eehh, hapo walisema lini?

THROWBACK TO MAY THIS YEAR
Interior Cabinet Secretary Joseph Nkaissery says the decision to close Dadaab refugee camp [SIZE=6]w[/SIZE][SIZE=6]ill [/SIZE][SIZE=5]not change [/SIZE]because it has become a hosting ground for Al Shabaab terrorists.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kgGCJGgxUzk

Maybe they have confirmed the terrorists left with the 24,000 repatriated thus far.

I guess that is the only explanation

Classic case where you if you don’t read the newspaper you are un-informed, you read, you get mis-informed. Hapa nani anasema ukweli btw ibtimes na business daily.

@Bingwa Scrotum

Clue, check the dates? In the house, who makes the rules, the Man of the house or the watchman. All pun intended.

Refugees ain’t going nowhere.

That’s the subtle message!

The money from USA will be used for “VOLUNTARY” return of refugees to Somalia!!

So, it looks like we might have to take a loan from China for repatriation of refugees and closing if Dadaab…

Ama what do you guys think is happening?

Let the Ndrama continue…

Wueh! Na si hawa watu wanacheza kubwa :eek:, …yaani, Daadab imekua poster ya kutafta funds kama Kibra for the NGOs?!! All at the peril of the pawns