#thisisamerica @amused

Was thinking I should put this under entertainment but…

Donald Glover aka Childish Gambino has dropped a bombshell. 20 million views in 24hrs. It’s a music video with a lot of symbolism, metaphors. Quite hard to catch all of them. This comes on the heels of Uncle Tom controversial comments by Kanye Kardashian who once filled Glovers genius role in music and black culture. @Amused

Some references:
Jim Crow
Sambo Coon
Trayvon Martin
Charleston church shooting
Pop Culture and dance
Police Brutality
Gun laws and 2nd amendment
Sunken place
Capitalism
Etc.

One I can’t seem to figure out is the cars close to the end. Japanese cars from pre 2000 at the forefront and American cars; a GMC, Lincoln towncar and a Chrysler at the back, all white.

Enjoy the art.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VYOjWnS4cMY

I got the guns and recording everything hizo zingine nime pitwa. Quite happy my jalopy is featured here:D:D:D…

I liked one of his songs, special dedication to ktalk ladies…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UoIpx1ZxFeM

Hii inatusaidia aje?

I like Childish Gambino, but apart from gun violence, hakuna kitu nimeshikanisha hapo. Though nina imani ya kuwa in the coming week, wachanganuzi wa Twitter, IG na FB watatuchambulia vilivyo, kisha watuelezee kwa kina.

Thanks for that. There’s a lot of symbolism in there and I have to admit I’m no literary student nor artist. It’s a rather tragic portrayal of riches, culture and violence (exit/salvation?) I don’t know what to make of it.

kweli nime zeeka kama mtu anaweza kaa chini askie hio upuss ati ni wimbo … wacha niskize les wanyika polepole

his wife is white. there is no black power in white pussy

Similar to Eric wainainas kenya nchi ya kitu kidogo

Kwani alikukataa sasa unaingilia bibi yake … gay

That shit caught me off guard in the first scene. Tragic turn of events.

How is that relevant to this clip/ music?

Im not @Amused

Gambino’s wife may disagree.:smiley:

Hata mimi nimeidentify kaa jalopy kangu hapo - ya1992

Racial violence, police brutality, nra and their guns… This is America!!

Deep deep song.

“What do you think an artist is? …he is a political being, constantly aware of the heartbreaking, passionate, or delightful things that happen in the world, shaping himself completely in their image. Painting is not done to decorate apartments. It is an instrument of war.”
― Pablo Picasso