This is the Greatest Documentary Ever Made For Sure........

Take a country in the social, political, racial and economic transformation.

Randomly select about 20 children of seven years.

Follow their lives every seven years - where they are, what they are doing etc etc.

That’s exactly what a brilliant director did just before South Africa held its first democratic elections.

The kids featured were seven years old then and they were interviewed on thier dreams, daily experiences etc etc.

Seven years later, they were reinterviewed again, when they were 14. Then at 21. Then at 28.

Some prospered. Some - like the Zulu princess - died of HIV.

One went from being a shy little thing to the most dryfriable woman I’ve seen recently on telly.

The kids will be followed until they die, of course by different directors/producers, producing one of the most comprehensive chronicles of ordinary life.

The greatest doc ever made…

Which channel? Name of documentary?

There is that white girl at 7 years who said Mandela should not be set free because he is a thug and the white boy saying black people smell. Didn’t watch the follow up.

Why@Guru, been following the doc in Al Jazeera. I don’t know the cover name of the doc but you can gugu.

inaitwa 14UP South Africa. Really insightful. It’s on AJ English. It’s been running for like the last 1 1/2 months on Thursday. Sijui kama iliisha.

yeah the bi-racial boy also succumbed to HIV… huyo director alikua na foresight

Thanks. Will follow

@Guru, the guy up here has jogged my mind. The episodes are titled according to the years the interviews were done: 7UP; 14UP; 21UP and 28UP. Each takes about two hours.

@kalel, yeah, but I don’t know why the Kazulu princess hurt me the most. I liked her when at 7 she was asked: “What language do you think the whole world should speak?” and she answered without hesitating “zeZuulu!”.

Such innocence…

I remember her well answering “EseZulu”. Halafu hiyo ingine akainsist interview ifanywe na kizungu

Cooker makende wewe

is that the girl, whose father was a chief or sumthing?? all in all, its a nice piece.shows how perception changes with age

most of the black kids died of HIV and the kids from poor families didn’t do very well in life… but this is one of the best documentaries ever

@jerrydubiz, I thought the only kids to die of HIV were the Zulu princess, the coloured boy and the girl in the bundus, at least by age 21?

thanks couch i hope nita iweza kuipata kwa YouTube ni i download …

it reminds me of this documentary called

LALEE’S kin… a poignant Story of a poverty stricken grandmother in Mississippi

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hs8bZbaoIhQ

long but interesting

admin should create a section for documentaries

watched it on aljazeera on thursday i was not understanding kumbe i had missed some episodes I’ll look for it

apo ume nena kaka @admin atupe section ya documentaries …iyo doc ni noma have seen it…kwanza kuna place wakiwa watoto they are boyfriend and girlfriend wakiwa 14 hawa izo feelings

serious?! siku expect ktalker yeyote akue ameiona… admin should create a section alafu we share our ideas

Its actually being repeated. Watched it first in 2013, same channel. Very interesting and insightful.

Daktari lala

:D:D:D sawa mkubwa! :D:D