This is Guka - This is the Jomo You Never Talk About Because of Your Tribalism

Nothing irritates me more than reading endless diatribes against the our first president Jomo Kenyatta. Listening to people here it was as if Kenyatta was just a rapacious tribal robber baron who enriched himself and his tribespeople, the Kikuyu.

In fact, Kenyatta is probably one of the greatest Black leaders ever, which is why kids as far as Jamaica, the US, Ghana and Papua New Guinea are named after him. When Uhuru attended Mandela’s funeral, he got the loudest cheer after Mugabe because of his father, not because of himself. The other day I was thinking about it and concluded that Jomo is actually greater than the venerated Mandela, who incidentally is canonised and celebrated by the same Whites who have for centuries oppressed Blacks- because he let them keep their privileges and wealth. Today, Whites still control nearly all arable land in the land of Mandela and Nujoma.

Kenyatta was different. Though he was not perfect, he tried to redistribute land and wealth back to Africans as soon as he became president. It may come as a surprise to many but the entire Central Province was basically White Highlands, as was Nakuru and large swathes of Laikipia. Blacks were nly otenants and workers. Yet, by 1970, 90% of the land there was owned by Blacks. Ask anybody who comes from Nyandarua when they settled there - all were settled by the Kenyatta government, as were the various communities who today inhabit Nakuru (Kisiis, Luhyas, Kikuyus etc).

In 1963, an African could not own a shop in central Nairobi. By 1978, when Kenyatta died, Africans owned the majority of buildings in the Nairobi CBD.

Were there challenges during this wealth redistribution phase? You bet. Politicians and other well-connected people - including the Kenyatta family itself - took full advantage and got possession of large tracts of land and property. This is what a lot of revisionists like running with, forgetting that the circumstances have changed.

The fact is, however, compared to South Africa, Zimbabwe, Namibia and even Botswana, Kenyatta was able to hand-over both economic and political power to Africans in a fairly seamless and frictionless way. His first Cabinet reflected the whole the face of Kenya. Nascent industries which could have propelled this country into developed status were established everywhere - Kicomi, Rivatex, Miwani, Kenya National Assuarance, you name them.

And it didn’t end there.

The London School of Economics -educated Kenyatta - who wrote the seminal book Facing Mt Kenya when a majority of our fathers were still living in grass huts marrying 10 wives - was instrumental in laying the foundations of modern-day Kenya.

Eveything we are proud of today - our professional armed forces, the UN in Nairobi, the University of Nairobi, the KICC, our position as one of the world’s dominant sporting nations, the Safari Rally etc etc - was founded and promoted during the formative years Jomo was at the helm. It may surprise you to know that Kenya had a TV service in 1964, more than 10 years before South Africa and most African countries. Today, Africans from at least 45 countries are flocking to Nairobi because of the economic foundations Jomo laid. To them, our dirty capital city is like London or New York.

The other day I chuckled when I heard an old man from Buru Buru say that he won the right to buy his house through a computer lottery - in 1973. That is how advanced we were. Actually that’s why all the original residents of that estate, as well as Madaraka and Otiende which were developed during Jomo’s time reflect the face of Kenya - during Jomo’s time, everybody stood a chance to own property through a fair lottery. Another news item that grabbed my attention was the beating up of Bobi Wine by Ugandan so-called special forces. Why does that kind of nonsense not happen in Kenya?

The simple answer to the latter question is that Jomo allowed the army to become professional. It might deflate your tribal image of him, but the army commanders in all of Jomo’s years were actually non-Kikuyu. They were Kamba, which is why even as late as 1978 the Kambas made up more than 20 per cent of the army! His long-time ADC was Major Marsden Madoka, a Taita.

Let me end with this quote from the report 'A Historical Perspective to Revenue Performance in Kenya - 2010-2015" by the very respected Institute of Certified Public Accountants (ICPAK):

Kenya has had mixed economic performance since its independence in 1963. During the
first decade of independence, the performance of the Kenyan economy was impressive.
The growth of real GDP averaged 6.6% per year over the period 1964 –1973, and compared
favourably with some of the Newly Industrialized Countries (NICs) of East Asia. This remarkable
performance was attributed to consistency of economic policy, promotion of smallholder
agricultural farming, high domestic demand, and expansion of market for domestic output

within the East African region.

For those who may not understand, what the report says is that if we had continued to develop at the rate we were during Jomo’s time (and if we had controlled our population growth) we would be at the same level of Malaysia and South Korea.

You may dislike Jomo because he was from the wrong tribe, but give the devil his due. Talk to old people in your community and come back tell me what they say about the old man. Kenya worked. Look at all our neighbours and ask yourself; why have we never had a coup; why are we richer than say Tanzania which is bigger and has greater mineral wealth; why are our people among the most respected Blacks in the world?

The answer is just one word; JOMO. May he RIP.

Which is why, for me personally, Uhuru is such a let-down. Sometimes I wonder whether he is a chip off the old block.

True. Kenyatta tried his best. The only undoing in his era was grabbing large swathes of land.

Just worship your Jomo in peace. As for me and my family, we shall serve and worship the Lord alone.

The White Jesus Christ who used to fikisha threshold with @Meria Mata -glene? Knock yourself out…

You just wrote about the good things he did. Now write about the bad things he did, coz to me, he did much evil undoing every good did. Huyu muzee nawez kojolea kaburi yake saitani yeye.

Guka murefi, umekienzi kimombo lakini ikifika kuwakashifu na kuwashutumu wabeberu upo mstari wa mbele. Yeyote kwenye hiki kijiji anapoipotosha lugha unayoienzi na kuisifia hukosi kumporomoshea kejeli ukitumia maneno mazito ya ung’eng’e.
Wewe mzungu mweusi acha kupotosha wengine namna ulivyo mwafrika unayependa uafrika…wewe ni kaburu tuuuuu…MBAFFFF!!!

The problem with this post is the author. Anyone who does not agree with your view is either foolish or a monkey. You are very selective about what you chose to write about Jomo. Ironically you accuse talkers of tribalism on a post about the engineer of the vice.

Gaddamn it…where is my Kamusi?

Haya basi wacha niongee lugha ya mama. Eva Kamene? Ninenda kukinda kailetu kau kitimba. Nina mutyo ta ngite…;););););):wink:

[SIZE=1](Sori, only know dirty bits)[/SIZE]

Predictable.

Another urban legend. JM was politician like any other. How did he become a dollar millionaire in 8 years after independence? Which factories did he own?

Revisionist History…

Now tell us about the murders of Tom Mboya & the other guy who said a nation of a million beggars.

Do this boss. Hit that ignore button, ok? Nice evening.

There were political murders, yes. There were many other mistakes as well. Anybody who does not admit that would not be telling the truth.

But in a young state, those kind of errors are bound to happen.

They are justifiable/ acceptable on the basis of being a young nation? Seriously?

I thought Tom Mboya was killed by Moi’s people since he was a Kenyatta favourite. The best president we never had. And his death started the Kikuyu Luo hate even though he was Suba Bantu.

Those “errors” laid a foundation where leaders are untouchable of which we are still paying the price. Kwa ile interview ya Lee Njiru alisema he used to have grown men kneel outside his office. I guess kenyans find that admirable.

There was a rumor that when he died he had an erection and was buried with that erection but I guess that is true since he raped this country hadi kwa mkia bila lube

Kenyatta was a product of his time and we should generally compare him to his contemporaries and not to what we currently expect a good leader should be in our time. Jomo definitely has some pluses going for him but also minuses.

I always say that the first generation of post independence leaders were in most cases an extraordinary breed of people who went through alot to get to where they reached. They grew up extremely poor in most cases, faced institutionalized racism, were jailed and many tortured both physically and mentally , getting an education was a herculean task etc. Basically, these men saw fire to get to where they got and being human, such experiences will in most cases really harden a man IMHO. Practically all our post-independence who faced the above challenges became dictators… you talk of the Obotes, Mugabe’s, Mobutus, Nkrumahs, Banda’s etc.

So at the end of the day, I think we need to see Kenyatta through this lens and placed against his contemporaries, he was a much better leader than most. He definitely has faults but placed against his contemporaries who went through similar experiences, I personally think he did quite well.

I agree with the view that young nations tend to get it wrong before they get it right. It isnt justifiable, but its just an observation of the fact. Ancient states like England have had their dictator kings, civil wars etc. And also political murders happen in all states, its just that the chances of it in a young state are higher.