Growing up in the misty green rolling hills of Kijabe, one of the intractable problems we could not solve was cats going blind. Not only ours - the entire village’s.
Imagine that - hundreds and hundreds of blind cats roaming everywhere knocking onto stuff. It was comical were it not so sad.
Yaani one minute you have a nice cuddly cat the following day the darn thing can’t see!
It wasn’t until we took one to the vet that we knew the cause of the blindness.
Those days, Kijabe had millions of chameleons everywhere. Apparently after cats ate them the skin pigment that makes chameleons change colours would lodge in the lens of the cats’ eyes making them blind!
1720 mulikuwa na vets ama charlatans , jinga muzeee . na kwani hizo pigments paka ilikuwa inakula pigment inaenda kwa macho badala ya kwa tumbo ? so nikikula chamelone fry na ugali mbili na skuma ntakuwa blind ?
I’m sorry but a vet somewhere is still laughing at you. Chameleons cannot make anything go blind, much less eating them. Like any other animal, when cats eat, food goes to the stomach. The worst that can happen is bombastic mharo…
@Kaffir is much closer to the truth. Sudden onset blindness in cats is caused by hypertension.