@nimechoka, after reading your post eti things may not be as bad as they are made to be for Kenya, I thought I should give you a few facts about this country which we are daily told is doomed, needs a revolution, will not survive etc etc etc ad nauseum. I hadn’t realised that the propaganda was getting evn to open-minded guys like you.
Well, our worst economic times were during the Moi error. Mind you, not all of them. But from 1992 things went south pretty much.
What you won’t hear any of the negativos saying is that Kenya’s economy has pretty much been growing STRONGLY for at least 45 of the 55 years we have been independent. When Tz was experimenting with socialism and failing, when Idi Amin Dada was committing genocide, when Burundi and Rwanda were burning from ethnic conflict, whe Frelimo and Renamo were fighting in Mozambique, when South Sudan was enaged in an endless civil war, Kenya was quietly but rapidly developing.
End result?
THE ECONOMIES OF TANZANIA + UGANDA + BURUNDI + RWANDA + MOZAMBIQUE + MALAWI + SOUTH SUDAN = $120 BILLION DOLLARS
KENYA? $100 BILLION DOLLARS, and growing at 6.3%.
We may be a shithole, but one of the best shitholes in the world. Especially when you take into account the combined populations of the 7 countries quoted…
Things are not as bad as they are made to look. But we need to fix issues of corruption, wastage and equity gap for the situation to look better. I was in Nairobi the other day and I noted that traders are still packing Range Rovers and Harriers outside their shops in River Road. Na watu hao watakulilisha vile biashara imeharibika!
I agree with you muzee. What has helped kenya the most is peace and starting off on the right capitalist path since independence. All other countries around us (except Tz but they followed the communist path which was a well intentioned but a big mistake) have had serious political/military uphevals which led to economic disaster and chaos. Lets hope going forward things remain that way.
Hehe, btw I like that growth of 6.3%. Yani every year we are adding the equivalent of Malawi’s entire economy.
He he he he! Sasa utaskia GDP does not represent development eti twende HDI. When Kenya was adding 100,000 private motor vehicles to its roads in 2014, Tz was adding just about 10,000 - Tanzania Registered Motor Vehicles, 2005 – 2022 | CEIC Data . But utaskia vile sasa wako mbele na Magufool…
My issue with the regime you’re trying very hard to cleanse is poor leadership. Today the standard put the national debt at 0.5 trillion with nothing to write home about. The increasing taxation rates in the country are slowly but surely pushing investors away. Unemployment is soaring and more businesses are being pushed out of the market. Let me inform you that Kenya used to be the regional headquarter for most multinational corporations after the collapse of Nigeria but poor governance is undoing us in a major way. We are backtracking on the economic gains realized from Kibaki adminstration (East Africa’s best president ever) and here you are seeking validation from nondescript statistics founded on anchorship analogies. Maybe the economy may be doing good but on a declining rate, how long before things get gloomy? We may be ahead of TZ economic wise but under Gathecas poor leadership they will soon catch up and supercede us.
We have spent a lot on our infrastructure upgrade in the last 6 years under Jubilee government. Those were the planting, nurturing and maintaining the plants to maturity. The harvest season is about to hit our economy starting from this year and going forward.
Let me use two examples. When former President Kibaki started building Kisumu roads soon after PEV 2007, most of inner circle people thought he was mad. Look at how they have transformed that city. They are feeling the fruits in their local economy. In 2007-9 Klist was full of insults thrown on Kibaki way. The same people swear now he us the best President ever. President Uhuru is getting SGR to Kisumu, building a $140 million new Kisumu port to revive cargo and cruise ship transport in the lake. No need to guess he is smthe next greatest President ever. Isiolo - Moyale road. People were asking why build such a great and expensive road through a low income backward region. A year after completion Kenya and Ethiopia trade is now $170 million annually. It overtook Rwanda in one year despite the Ethiopia road up to Moyale remains uncompleted. Its projected it will rival Kenya/Tz trade in the short term.
The infrastructure dividend is here, we are starting to eat its first fruits.
Unajaribu kusema nini wewe? Deni ni 0.5trillion pekee? Yaani imeisha?
Halafu how comes this vehicle has an engine knock and the wheels are coming off(according to you) yet it’s accelerating and widening the gap on those chasing it?
very true. i know people who were doing very well in counterfeit printers, cartridges etc. but siku hizi ni kubaya unless you branch and do something else…
:p:D:D:D:D i remember i pointed out the same thing. For the longest time, Pres Kibaki was the worst thing that had ever happened to this country. Hadi wa leo when I see people praising Mzee Kibaki nacheka.