He he he he! Hiyo tu ndiyo unapenda?
Kuna kitu inaitwa podcasts where you download and listen to only what you approve. BBC tulikosana wakati walianza ku_promote gayshit.
Hio tune ni iconic. It has been around tangu jadi.
You will think that you have stopped listening to the BBC but the alternatives will disappoint you so much that you will drag yourself back. It’s just a matter of time
Mimi nilianza kuiskiza siku za tindo mhando na Ziana Seth until now.
good shiet mzee
Journalism; the west wrote the stylebook. But our local journalists do not have to slant international stories coz they have no sinister agenda.
We need a State Department of Propaganda.
Great writing mzee. May be that is why BBC was kicked out of Rwanda…
It’s very interesting that we as Africans can be so naive as to entrust foreigners to tell our story, then keep crying foul that there is bias. It’s time that we finally man up and tell our story the way we want.
This is a well written piece but i beg to differ a little. I started listening to BBC in 1993 while in std 3 or 4 and this has not changed for the last 25+ years. BBC lets us know what the local meadia is hidding from us. As a child i vividly remember about the Rwanda genicide, Liberia Charles Taylor and the blood diamonds, The Congo clashes and many more. This is coursey of BBC. in addition their weekdays outlook programme is quite informative and insightful. It lets you travel the world. In a summary i find their news quite objective as compared to the local channels.
I could not agree more. But this is non-issue for the rural folks.
The whole of this week i had dedicated to pay a visit to Kitale, Kapenguria and Lodwar towns.
These guys are enjoying life oblivious to your “BBC and some raparians demolitions” rants.
No traffic jams, Kienyenjis kwa wingi, cost of life-bear minimum - ukiwa na 100/= you cant sleep hungry.
Why don’t we have proper platforms to tell our stories? Who pays for BBC, Africans? NO! I believe BBC should pander to the Eurocentric audience as much as it wants. Kazi yetu ni kusupport Maina Kageni na nudist Eric Omondi then play victim when a western based media group doesn’t tell our stories properly. How are they supposed to know? BRITISH BROADCASTING CORPORATION.
My penis is big.
Compare the iq of quatar with iq of any black african country
If Jubilee was not full of unimaginative ugali-brain dunderheads they would have long realized the importance of KBC. The answer is staring them right in their fat ugly faces. They could be using the state media house as a tool of social engineering, giving much needed direction to the nation’s culture while showcasing positive govt and private individual achievements like BBC and its subsidiary stations.
But no! stupid govt mofos just let KBC continue to go criminally underfunded and remain mediocre while KTN, NTV Citizen continue to monopolize dispersal of information and entertainment, wakina Aga Khan & SK Macharia with their silly pseudo-journalist staff.
Both International and local media focus on reporting the bizarre and ugly that makes us look as terrible as possible. The disgusting mindset of the staff that work out our stations are no different from racist international media houses. Its why I stopped watching local news, I have barely been keeping up with what’s been going on in this shithole Banana Republic.
If we could only rebuild KBC :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
You’re obviously extremly young or ignorant about the history of KBC and how it was de-funded.
KBC was set up in the mode of BBC in terms of funding using radio and TV permits but since it had been abused by the Moi regime, the likes of anyang nyongo and other NGO types foolishly passed a law banning radio and TV permits, KBC lost a huge revenue stream and today we’re stuck with the maina kagenis of this world instead of intelligent mass media.:mad:
Okay then this is what Jubilee lawmakers should be focused on reversing.
We need to do something about Maina Kageni and his ilk.
Its about time we start looking for contacts of good hitmen. Ktalkers watachanga pesa for the fee.
People will push back if you introduce such a direct tax, ifiche somewhere kama kwa airtime ama import duty za TV, radio, mobile phones and computers.
I like the way NPR is set up in the states, has very good programmes, and it has little government funding
ati tulipie license ya TV? la hasha… hapana… hatugwes… tumekataa…