This is Guka - Boys, Did You Know This?

The Woman has become the sole focus of everything from education to health campaigns. So, while October is supposed to be cancer awareness month all you’ll hear is about breast and cervical cancer.

Boys, don’t despair. Lets look after each other’s back and we will be alright.

Le me start by giving you some info that could help.

One of the commonest cancers in men is cancer of the oesophagus (food pipe). It is second after prostate. To help you avoid or reduce the risk of contracting this cancer:

• Avoid hot tea and other caffenaited bevs. Take moderately warm tea.
  • Get any heart-burn treated.
  • Eat a lot of vegetables and fruits.
  • If you experience any difficulty in swallowing see a doc ASAP.
  • Reduce incidence/intake of alcohol, especially hard alcohol.
    *Totally eliminate smoking.

This is not comprehensive, but at least its a conversation starter!

At least I rarely take tea. But on the fruits part I need to up my game, I am very suspicious of cooked vegetables since vitamins do not withstand a lot of heat. Most people overcook them meaning the nutrient content gets lost.

Cheers

great sound advice but hapa itabidi uhubiri sana

How has the physical change been ulipochange diet tangu siku za Klist?

still good as roughage/source of fibre

You made me remember to take my medical test. I have always been procrastinating about it. Just kicking that can down the road! Talkers, what are the standard tests kwa over 40? I prefer a package deal where I can go and be done in a morning. Cost is not an issue, my health comes first.

I became lean, kuchoka ovyo ovyo iliisha. Had I continued on that path Kitambi ningekua nayo by now

This is guka blah blah siwezi soma upusssssssssssssssssssy

You are correct on that last bit.

I had this problem of sitting and eating fruits. I would only eat those ones I like kama passions/pineapples and avoid others like pawpaw/melon. I then discovered you could blend them into some yummy juice/uji. I even throw in some veggies!

Reading is a personal decision. Besides it’s dudes talking. Enda osha kamisi na hukoo

Then few males would be surviving in Limuru, Kijabe, Kinangop and Molo/Elburgon.
Hot tea is a must in those areas even to those hooked on alcoholic beverages.
By the way, having being raised up in kijabe si umekunywa chai mingi moto sana?

In my case I hate citrus fruits. Kwanza machungwa. Avocado is what has given me a healthy dose of fruits. Will try your trick

My personal view is that 40 is pretty young for a man for most elective medical tests (prostate, colon cancer etc) UNLESS there is a compelling reason for such as family history. However, simple tests such as blood sugar, cholesterol and BP are advisable. The good thing is that you can do most on the go, even in chemists in town.

I agree with you but remember many other factors add up. Unapata hot tea, genetics na lifestyle add up. But it is best to cut away factors that you can.

Funny you should say this but anecdotal evidence is that oesophageal cancer is pretty high in that area. Some crazy doc I know was even attributing it to the dark volcanic soils of the area, lakini without any research siwezi jua. As for me, I have spent most of my years OUT of Kijabe…

Kumbe watu wa Kijabe tuko wengi

Gay undertones.

As a legendary lister once said, kuna parts kadhaa hauna…